We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect pizza to end a great weekend in Haarlem ”
Review of Back to Basics

Back to Basics
Reserve with
Back to Basics is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #130 of 398 Restaurants in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

Located just outside the central square to the west of the old town near where we were staying, it's a small authentic cosy restaurant with a large pizza oven on display and relaxed ambience. 8 of us ate at a really large comfy table to the rear. The pizzas were terrific with an extensive range. Would recommend this place if you fancy a perfect pizza.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jimbochard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 94 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2018

We made a reservation one Saturday night via this website which currently provides a 20% saving on food and drinks! A small and intimate establishment, there are a number of tables for between 2-10 people, where in total the restaurant can seat around 50 people. In centre stage you can see the clay oven and watch the cook hard at it spinning the dough. This seems a family run place with all hands on deck, which gives a nice vibe. We chose Napoletana and the truffle pizza, Tartufo. I requested capers on the Napoletana and the were added at no extra cost.The quality of the pizza bases was high, but you have to appreciate the Italian style, not a doughy thick american type pizza base. The taste and aromas were very good, and with a few drinks each it came to arounf 35 euro. Would recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Pizza, made in wood fired oven was really good; made vegan for one of us. And for GF me, the very yummy parmigiana di melanzane, a baked dish of eggplant, tomato and mozzarella. House wine tasty and affordable. Service and atmosphere lively and charming. Perfect tiny espresso rounded out this lovely meal. Nice find.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kiah-N-68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

After reading other reviews and people rating the pizza as the best authentic pizza they had eaten we decided to try this restaurant. The waitress took a long time to get to us and was totally confused about what was available. After reading the menu we ordered gin and tonic which was on the menu to be told they don’t have gin. That’s OK so we had Coke light. It was served like warm. We ordered a pizza and an eggplant parmigiana. The pizza base was burnt and the eggplant apart from being burnt had a small melted mass of cheese in the middle of the dish which was basically over cooked eggplant swimming in tomato sauce. I was extremely disappointed after reading other reviews stating the pizza was great. I can’t recommend this restaurant based on my experience. Furthermore if you go to this restaurant on a warm day or night make sure you sit outside as inside is very hot.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank lonsic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

By chance, walking on the street, we found this small italian restaurant. The curiosity triggered by its name, not usual for an italian pizzeria ... however later on we understood the reason for naming it like that. Everything is home made prepared. Mr. Franco makes its pizza dough with a balanced mix of components that translates in a soft and light pizza cooked in an oven with oak wood. As starters try the terrina with scamorza and speak. We also tasted the delicious rigatoni prepared by chef Domenico: cooked “al dente” with mint, pistachio and Auricchio provolone. From Domenico also the home made fresh Tiramisu, delicious too. A true italian corner in Haarlem, simple but in which you can taste flavors from the past. Bravi.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Gennaro58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back to Basics also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Back to Basics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing