We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience”
Review of Back to Basics

Back to Basics
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Back to Basics is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #133 of 395 Restaurants in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Reviewed June 11, 2018

We greeted the staff inside then we seat outside, nobody came to take our order for more than 20 minutes. We ordered Antipasto Italiano: terrible, dry, no salt, pepper, no olive oil on the table, dry vegetables, tasteless cold cuts and old and hard bread. Pizza was just accetable, not properly rised. Not a good image for Italy

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank boston g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 89 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2017 via mobile

We visited the Christmas markets in Haarlem and actually ended up coming to Back to Basics for the 3 nights we stayed in Haarlem -food was great- antipasto platter with focaccia fab and wood fired pizzas vv tasty. lovely atmosphere - great food - well priced - highly recommend !!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank BJSDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017

For my birthday there were nine people who sat at our table. What struck me was the name of the restaurant, but then I saw the book from Jamie Oliver,that explains. Although, my advise is to give the restaurant a real Italian name, like Campania. Anyhow, the atmosphere was southern Italy, were you wait for a while and enjoy the company, only the good weather wasn't. I ordered a cannelloni with tartufo, very tasteful. I saw people enjoying the different pizzas as well. So the food was excellent, really good. Of course there are some things that were less good, like the Deliveroo waiting outside. It is a fact of life that people order from their chair at home and want their food witihn fifteen minutes. That explains why we had to wait longer for our food. And the waiter wasn't adequate all the time, but besides this i can recommend it. What was best is easy to answer, because they had excellent wine from Campania and that was the best wine since months! Good choice from the owner to get that instead the usual suspect of wines.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank WillemVelserbroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017 via mobile

Sat down at 6:30 and order 10 minutes later and pizza arrived about 8:15, they took take out and delivery orders before our table and all the tables around us. Pizza was average at best, avoid!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank 923paulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

Fantastic wood-fired pizzas and a great vegetarian antipasto platter. We ate here on two separate occasions and were not disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back to Basics also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Back to Basics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing