We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stempels Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Haarlem
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Amadeus(Haarlem)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Raecks(Haarlem)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
64
50
16
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
50
16
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble windowsstayed here for nightsgreat hotelpowerful showersuperior roombavo churchlarge roomtop floorseparate showerexcellent locationperfect place to stayper nightstreet noisebreadcentral locationtrain stationprinting
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 140 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We chose Stempels based on tripadvisor reviews and are very glad we did. Our junior suite overlooking the church was quiet, clean and comfortable, and although there was only one dormer window, the room was well-lit. (We did wish they offered free wifi instead of having a desptop in the room.) The building is charming and has historical character. Unlike some other reviewers, we found the staff to be very friendly and professional (helping us over the phone as we struggled to navigate into the city center, promptly providing extra towels, serving trays of tea and hot chocolate during the big storm that hit while we were there, and offering friendly and prompt assistance when we accidentally locked ourselves out of our room safe.) We also really enjoyed the hearty and well-varied breakfast. We were so glad we chose to stay in Haarlem, which is charming and makes a great base for easy day trips to Amsterdam. It was especially convenient to be able to leave our car in the parking garage located very near Stempels and rely on local trains to explore the area. Stempels' location and ambiance is charming and convenient -- we'd stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was my first visit to Haarlem and a friend who now lives here recommended Stempels.
Glad he did: I arrived late so restaurant was shut (no noise - may be a problem ?) so went straight to the room after some friendly check-in banter during which I found out about the past of the building as a banknote press site.
The door to the room is odd in that it was part-glass but a curtain gave privacy. The room was midsize, very clean and with a large queen bed. Furnishings all modern with a PC in your room for you to use (also free wi-fi - well done). Bathroom was spacious and clean with a powerful shower. everything worked. Towels more 3* than 4* but OK.
All in all a good choice also given location behind the main church just off the central square.
Breakfast perhaps not great but adequate - usual buffet system.
Will return esp at €100ish rate.
ps - Really liked Haarlem...worth spending a day there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gastronauta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

What a difference 15 minutes outside Amsterdam can make!
We stayed at Stempels for 4 nights to attend a friends wedding. We were greeted upon check in with a warm, friendly and pleasant welcome.
Our room was (No 20) was bright, spacious and the bed is so comfortable that it was a shame getting up in the morning. Our (huge) windows faced onto a street with a café and other hotel, but even with the deliveries and general hustle and bustle you could hear very little in the room (no sleepless nights had!)
There is lots of seating outside the hotel, which is located on a nice corner behind the Church. With nice weather it is very enjoyable to site and have a few drinks (food is very tasty too) and watch Haarlem go by. Lots of shops, cafes, and bars within walking distance.
The cost is quiet reasonable, and even though I didn't have the breakfast it seemed to be a good selection (there are loads of cafes close by for some variety).
If I was traveling to Haarlem again, or knew anyone going, I would be recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Haarlem is easily accessible by Bus or train from Amsterdam train station or Airport - worth a visit!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djoneill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A lovely property with many historical details awaits your arrival. The hotel is situated in a lovely square with a quick walk to a peaceful canal. The rooms all vary with wonderful historical details and views of the square and cathedral. The public rooms are tastefully decorated. A wonderful Dutch breakfast is served. The restaurant and bar are very nice and offer very tasteful cuisine and charming atmosphere's. There is a great wine cellar in the historic basement too! The management is very responsive, polite and a delight to work with on reservations. The Haarlem setting for the Stempels Hotel is just perfect. It is a charming town. With a short walk, pass wonderful shops, antique stores, and eateries, is the train stop with a quick and direct route to enjoy the beauties of Amsterdam. Staying here is a must!

Room Tip: Send a mail to inquire on available rooms for your dates. The hotel will respond with rooms and their differences. This is a historic building, so the charm of each room is individual. Rooms are incredibly clean, very quite, spacious and private. There is an elevator as well to all floors.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_B44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Leaving a horrible experience at Amrath Hotel (see other review), we moved over here and would give them five stars on Customer Service! Not only did they take care of us when we were in the hotel, but we ate so well in Haarlem based on their food recommendations. Breakfast is pricey, but again includes amazing customer service and all you can eat. And the hotel is so well located, you could skip that all together and not be inconvenienced. We stayed in the Junior Suite, which was large with a sitting room and a view of the cathedral.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeSarah_P0rtland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews