We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haarlem Hotelsuites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We would admit to some nervousness booking the Haarlem Hotelsuites because, honestly, it looked too good to be true on their website. We really did our homework though and it paid off. We booked the Suite de Gravin over the Internet and emailed back and forth a few times with questions and details, and always found their communication to be excellent and their replies reasonably prompt.

We arrived early on a Sunday. Check-in is at the nearby Boulangerie run by Chantal & Norman and we were greeted by Chantal who took us to our suite. Our jaws dropped when she took us inside because not only was it not too good to be true, it was even better than promised. The apartment was huge, comfortable, clean and full of atmosphere.

Anyone who has traveled the Netherlands (especially Amsterdam) knows you can get a very small space for a lot of money if you're not careful but this was more like a place to live than a place to sleep - and all at a very reasonable price.

On the HUGE main floor there was a large, nicely decorated living room area joined to a wonderful kitchen. Around the corner from the kitchen was a bright foyer with laundry facilities and that led into a nice bathroom and a large, bright master bedroom. In the middle of the apartment was a spiral staircase to lead you to the upper floor, a large, long room with two single beds at one end, a large dresser about halfway, and a desk at the far end.

It was uncharacteristically warm for Holland the week we were there but our apartment always remained cool and comfortable. Beneath the apartment is a restaurant but we never noticed more than very minimal noise and really none at all at night.

Our suite was about a one-minute walk from the Boulangerie and about 3 or 4 minutes from the Grote Markt with the magnificent Sint Bavo's Cathedral. The market square area had many fine shops, great little places to eat and our host Chantal was very friendly and very helpful with recommendations throughout our stay. Because of the kitchen in our apartment we actually shopped frequently at a nearby Albert Heijn and cooked for ourselves but, when we ate out, the food in the area was excellent. There was even a very close by stand with excellent kroketten and patates frites if you're as addicted to Dutch fast food as we are.

I really can't say a negative thing about our stay at the Haarlem Hotelsuites and, in fact, we will be staying there again in 2011. This was a wonderful find. Every time we returned from a long day it felt like coming home, and it really made our stay in beautiful Haarlem so much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amtphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
25
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hammond
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Loved this place! It's not one building with hotelsuites in it, it's actually little apartments close to the Great Market Square. Easy checkin at restaurant, fabulous apartment. Wish I could have stayed much longer!

Great value for the price!

  • Liked — Conventient, quiet, good value, great apartment instead of hotel room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank petitehammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

We recently stayed at this place for 3 nights over the New Year and found this to be an excellent alternative to a hotel. We rented a one bedroom flat and it had everything we required. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you would need to make a good breakfast or dinner. The beds were very comfortable and overall the flat was clean and it was nice to have a bit of space which is not common in most hotels. We have already booked to go back in July.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — stairs to flat
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bjud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
painesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

We stayed at Haarlem Hotelsuites from April 26-30. We enjoyed our stay very much. Our suite was right in the center of Haarlem, only minutes away from all the main museums. There are restaurants everywhere. The breakfast at Haarlem Hotelsuites was very good also, and the hostess Chantal very pleasant and helpful. Can warmly recommend the place.
Gisela Hillyer

  • Liked — It had a bedroom, living room, kitchen area and bathroom with washing machine.
  • Disliked — Steep staircase
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank erikaPainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#9 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haarlem Hotelsuites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haarlem Hotelsuites

Property: Haarlem Hotelsuites
Address: Korte Veerstraat 40, 2011 CL Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most centrally located hotel suites in the historic center of Haarlem! The stay in our hotel suites gives you the feeling of a private apartment with the services of a hotel. This is both for the business guest and tourists the perfect way to stay in Haarlem. Our reception is located in the Korte Veerstraat 40. Here we welcome our guests for both hotels; Haarlem Hotel Suites and Brasss Hotel Suites. Brasss Hotel Suites offers 10 luxurious suites. If you are interested in one of these suites, please feel free to contact us! Haarlem, the capital of North-Holland (20 km from Amsterdam) is well known for its variety of restaurants and other eateries. Also culturally the city has a lot to offer; St. Bavo church, the Frans Hals Museum, Teylers Museum and the famous courtyards in the inner city. Moreover, Haarlem is awarded for the best shoppingcity in the Netherlands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Haarlem Hotelsuites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelsuites Hotel Haarlem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing