We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Raecks
Nearby Hotels
$148
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$140
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$152
$148
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$147
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$87
$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel(Haarlem)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
11
21
38
16
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
21
38
16
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 89 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Stayed for one night before flying out of Schiphol the next day. We didn't want to pay the higher prices for staying near the airport and there is a direct bus that runs from Haarlem to Schiphol that takes 40 minutes (most of the journey is along dedicated bus roads).

Haarlem is very nice and we enjoyed our meal Wilma & Albert's Steakhouse (though the staff there seem to follow a set formula and any deviation away from that wasn't allowed - so no special requests I'm afraid).

Anyway, the Die Raeckse Hotel was a bit of a disappointment. The room was small, plain and fairly basic with dated furniture. The bathroom was small but adequate with a shower but no bath.

The stairs leading to the floor where the guest rooms are located were very steep and not pleasant to walk up and down carrying a young child or large suitcase. These stairs seem fairly typical of the Netherlands as other places we stayed in there had similar staircases. It looks like the hotel has had some additional rooms added to the back of the hotel in the recent past and I would have thought that they could have put in a decent staircase (or maybe a lift) at the same time.

I would advise people with small children and mobility problems to avoid this hotel.

Breakfast was barely adequate with toast and cereal and a bit of fruit being on offer.

We paid €90 for the night but I wish I'd have spent a bit more and stayed in a more modern hotel.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the train station, about a 5-7 minute walk to the main square, and about 5 minutes walk to the Schiphol bus stop.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnny_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Went to this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. It's a bit plain, our room was very small and the walls were, (as reported in a previous review) VERY thin. The room next door had three girls getting ready for a party dressed in school uniform and they started their party with the three boys in the room acroos the corridor before they went. You can say that the qualirty of the guests is not the responsibility of the hotel, but with their bathroom just behind my head, getting ready to go out and after, when they came back was, to say the least a noisy event.

Then in the middle of the night my wife and I shared two telephone cllas from abnother Brit to thier insurance company about how they were feeling a bit off colour and what should she do. We are pretty heavy sleepers so to wake us up is quite a task and she wasn't shouting by any means.

Haarlem is a charming place and with the station a brief walk away ( for trains to Amsterdam) it is certainly a good base for touring. Some terrific restaurants - but book for a Saturday night. We had a bit of a job finding a table and it wasn't high season.

Breakfast was adequate if not spectacular but.......

Oh - that staircase! Do not entertain going there if you have any troubles in stair climbing. An elderly chap who checked in while we were there had a real job getting to his bedroom and was heard to discuss with his family how he could avoid going out.

The owner has a small parking place a few roads away, but there is no other parking nearby. The hotel is on a busy junction. If you are driving ther, book parking ahead with the management or you'll be in trouble finding a place for your car.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derekandlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We so enjoyed our 6 days at Die Raeckse in March 2008. The owners went beyond what was expected many times, such as poking her head out the door to make sure we waited at the correctbus stop outside their hotel or bringing lots of ice when I hurt my ankle or directing us to the grocery store the next day. I would definitely stay with them again! The walk to the train station is jsut 10 minutes and the train is 15 minutes into Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank VisitorfromMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

The hotel is very convenient to places in Haarlem. Very clean and comfortable even if the wall are rather thin. Very helpful owner- we had to leave early in the morning and she offered to fix us an early breakfast. Would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cox_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

This hotel was clean and had friendly service. The room was a good size but very plain. The bed was too soft for our liking. The bathroom was larger than expected. The stairs are steep. Overall, this is a good place to stay but don't expect it to be the cutest hotel you have ever seen.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KB_MVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews