We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bit of a let-down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Die Raeckse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Die Raeckse Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Jersey, channel islands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bit of a let-down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Went to this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. It's a bit plain, our room was very small and the walls were, (as reported in a previous review) VERY thin. The room next door had three girls getting ready for a party dressed in school uniform and they started their party with the three boys in the room acroos the corridor before they went. You can say that the qualirty of the guests is not the responsibility of the hotel, but with their bathroom just behind my head, getting ready to go out and after, when they came back was, to say the least a noisy event.

Then in the middle of the night my wife and I shared two telephone cllas from abnother Brit to thier insurance company about how they were feeling a bit off colour and what should she do. We are pretty heavy sleepers so to wake us up is quite a task and she wasn't shouting by any means.

Haarlem is a charming place and with the station a brief walk away ( for trains to Amsterdam) it is certainly a good base for touring. Some terrific restaurants - but book for a Saturday night. We had a bit of a job finding a table and it wasn't high season.

Breakfast was adequate if not spectacular but.......

Oh - that staircase! Do not entertain going there if you have any troubles in stair climbing. An elderly chap who checked in while we were there had a real job getting to his bedroom and was heard to discuss with his family how he could avoid going out.

The owner has a small parking place a few roads away, but there is no other parking nearby. The hotel is on a busy junction. If you are driving ther, book parking ahead with the management or you'll be in trouble finding a place for your car.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derekandlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    29
    9
    0
See reviews for
10
32
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We so enjoyed our 6 days at Die Raeckse in March 2008. The owners went beyond what was expected many times, such as poking her head out the door to make sure we waited at the correctbus stop outside their hotel or bringing lots of ice when I hurt my ankle or directing us to the grocery store the next day. I would definitely stay with them again! The walk to the train station is jsut 10 minutes and the train is 15 minutes into Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitorfromMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento,ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

The hotel is very convenient to places in Haarlem. Very clean and comfortable even if the wall are rather thin. Very helpful owner- we had to leave early in the morning and she offered to fix us an early breakfast. Would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Liked — location, breakfast, helpfulness, cleaqnliness
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cox_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

This hotel was clean and had friendly service. The room was a good size but very plain. The bed was too soft for our liking. The bathroom was larger than expected. The stairs are steep. Overall, this is a good place to stay but don't expect it to be the cutest hotel you have ever seen.

  • Liked — Good value, friendly service
  • Disliked — unimpressive room, bed was too soft
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KB_MVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

Stay there recently. Very good and warm service. Breakfast is good. Spotless room and well maintained. Easy access from/to Airport, Alkmaar, Amsterdam with very reasonable price compare to the over-expansive Amsterdam. Haarlem is also a safe place with Saturday market and reasonably good shopping street considering this is a small town.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wapwap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

Such a friendly place!

The place is clean and well managed. All facilities work well, shower cabinets in the rooms are new and nice.

The service is very good. As we had to go early to work and could not get to breakfast at normal time, the landlady kindly brought us the breakfast to our room the evening before. Such a nice service!

I can recommend this place to travellers, who are not so interested in glitter and minibars, but want to have nice and personal service instead.

  • Liked — The excellent service
  • Disliked — The stairs to rooms may be a bit steep for elderly or disabled
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank KS-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#9 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Raeckse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Raeckse Hotel

Property: Die Raeckse Hotel
Address: Raaks 13, 2011 VA Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Die Raeckse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Die Raeckse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Die Raeckse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing