We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveler rating
201
287
84
21
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
287
84
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station perfect location bowl of apples the main square glass door free apples bars and restaurants helpful with directions the hotel staff an easy walk spiral staircase free wifi charming city bavo church minute walk quality hotel parking garage
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 602 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2017

After reading others reviews regarding the Amrath Grand Frans Hals decided to spend 4 nights there on our first trip to the Netherlands. Not disappointed. Hotel lovely and clean, staff very helpful and friendly, gave us maps and advice re restaurants etc. The hotel is central and very convenient for exploring Haarlem and traveling further afield as it is 10 - 15 mins walk to bus/train station where both run regularly/frequently to Amsterdam and the airport. Bus number 300 costs 5 euro's and takes approx 40 mins to Schipol, if you take the train you need to change and it is more expensive. Loved our time in Haarlem, it was just too short to explore everything we wanted to. Heineken experience, Haarlem canal cruise & Zans Schaan are well worth visiting, just make sure you take plenty money as compared to the UK it is expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sooty597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

Hotel is difficult to find at first as you cannot see it from a road on which cars are allowed. However, the parking garage is visible and opens up immediately adjacent to the hotel entrance. So after the first encounter, it actually is easy, and is in the middle of the main attractions and pedestrian and bicycle area. Great location. Hotel is a little sterile, but staff is very helpful when asked. Breakfast is varied and pretty good.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank PopsandMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

We loved the position, the confort of the bed, the drinks in the room and the breakfas t. (bread was great!) Waiter at the morning breakfast was great! All the staff was kind and helpful. Great staying

Room Tip: maybe the highest room are even more quite (morning cleaning of the street )
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PacMika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

Just here overnight but we have found the staff very accommodating. The location is great and central. The facilities are clean and bright. The room is huge and the bed, very comfortable. Price was reasonable. We would definitely stay here again. The city is spectacular. It was a nice break from Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Be nice and you might get an upgrade.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Webb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amrath Grand Ho... F, General Manager at Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Dear guest,

May I express my appreciation for the fact that you took the time and effort to share your experience with us. Your feedback helps us to improve our service.

I am delighted to learn that you experienced our facilities as clean and bright. I hope that our city center location made it easy for you to explore the beautiful city Haarlem. Once again thank you for writing a review. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Haarlem.

Warmest regards,

Maud Vroom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay here while visiting the Amsterdam area. Step out the front door of the hotel and there are dozens of great restaurants and the beautiful main square of Haarlem. It's an easy walk to the train station and trains come every few minutes to get to Amsterdam, Delft, the Hague or wherever you are visiting. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable, clean and a nice bowl of apples on every floor. Wifi worked well, too. You can take the #300 bus easily from the airport to Haarlem, no transfers.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jkh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amrath Grand Ho... F, General Manager at Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Dear guest,

First of all I want to thank you for writing a review. We highly appreciate the fact that you took the time and effort to share your experience with us. Your feedback will helps us to improve our service.

I am delighted to learn that you liked our city center location. Haarlem has a lot of different restaurants to choose from. Many of them are easily accessible from our hotel. In addition it is great to hear that you reviewed our hotel as great. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Maud Vroom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews