We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Central location, parking nearby, museums nearby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
world traveller in Netherlands
Level Contributor
186 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Central location, parking nearby, museums nearby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel itself is located very close to the Grote Markt, and the Bavo church. If may wake you up during the night, as the bells ring at least every hour... But it adds to the charm.

Rooms are good, not large but ok. Beds are comfortable. Bathroom is decent sized, however water pressure is not enormous (perhaps depending on the floor). I stayed several times in the hotel, and so far the viez has always been terrible. However avoiid the rooms facing the street, as it can be noisy with party go-ers.

Breakfast is decent. Enough choice.

Service is friendly enough.

There is a parking nearby (if you drive zith your own car).

There are several restaurants nearby, so the hotel doesnt have its own (except for breakfast).

Room Tip: Do not ask for a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    185
    49
    9
    6
See reviews for
26
163
19
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel is very dark and gloomy and in the canal view room we had you had to climb on a chair to see out of the window.
I booked the hotel shuttle to the airport and it failed to show- we waited for 40mins getting more and more anxious. The concierge kept telling us it was on the way. Eventually she changed her story and said it had broken down but reassured us they were sending a taxi instead and that we would still be charged the shuttle price of 17 euros each.
When the taxi eventually showed up we set off to the airport only to be told that the driver knew nothing of the shuttle and we would be charged the full 70 euros!
Upon our return I e- mailed the Hotel suggesting they might like to refund he difference. They did not deign to reply.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as part of our return trip from Enschede with my son as we had been there to pick up his belongings after living in Holland for a year. We booked whilst we were enroute and the staff were very helpful as although we planned to visit Haarlem we had not booked a room. The sat nav took as straight to the underground car park which is directly under the hotel and is not included in the room charge but reasonable for an overnight stay. The hotel is very comfortable and close to the town centre, when we were there it was freedom day so there was a fair on in the town square and a free concert in the park. I would definately stay here again and therefore recommend it to, it is the top end of most budgets but its worth it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ColinC907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel for one night in august 2013. We enjoyed our stay in spite of the lack of a working airco. It was a pity that the receptionstaff did not tell us when we checked in, that this was not working, so when we were settled in the room - which was a good provided one with tea and coffee facilities, a beautiful bathroom and a really good bed - we saw the little note on the wall which said it was broken down. We thought at that time the windows would provide us fresh air in the night. What we dit not know was that it was a special event week, horecaweekevent so till about 5 o'clock in the morning there was a lot of noise due to the people walking in the below the balcony situated small street. Closing the windows was no option because of the temperature, 32 c. However we enoyed our stay for Haarlem is a very lovely city to visit, lots of terraces and very good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmlucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Amazing hotel right in the centre of Haarlem great views of the Cathedral.

Staff were very welcoming and pleased to help with our questions and directions!

We did not eat at the hotel but other guests commented on its variety.

The rooms were clean spacious and very modern with flat screen TV's.

Had no issues at this hotel and would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo1Eastmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
200 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great location being in the centre of Haarlem. The hotel was very clean and the room was made up every day. Would definitely recommend for a city break. They were able to put our group into adjoining rooms which was really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is located in the center near the Bavo church. Lots of restaurants and bars are near. Great shops nearby. I stayed at this hotel three times in three different rooms last month. Check in and check out was smooth, personnel is very competent, for instance I was offered tea in the lobby when I had to wait for my colleague to arrive. Rooms are not very big. They are ok for one person, but may be a bit small for 2 persons. Beds are very comfortable. Bathroom is clean, there is a bath in which you can also shower. Free water in water coolers in the hallways, and free apples also, which is a nice gesture. Breakfast includes bread, croissants, meat cuts, cheese, salmon, cake, jelly and other sweet stuff such as honey. Fruit and yogurt, coffee, cappuccino, juice, milk, tea etc. It costs around 20 Euro, which is a bit expensive. Car park is nearby but very expensive, there is free car parking but it will take a 15 minutes walk to get to the hotel from there. Free wifi is available in the rooms but not very fast when I used it. Haarlem is a beautiful city and well worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#9 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Property: Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Address: Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Haarlem
#2 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals is a beautiful 4-star hotel, located in the lively centre of Haarlem. Step out of the hotel and walk right into the inviting city of Haarlem, where you can marvel at historical buildings, charming squares, and lively shopping quarter. The 82 stylish guest rooms at Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals all have complementary wireless internet. Get a good start to the day with a tasty breakfast at the hotel; and to close it off in a convivial atmosphere, the hotel offers an attractive bar. Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals does not have its own restaurant, but you will find plenty of charming establishments within a 150-metre radius. For business purposes there is a spacious meeting room available. Haarlem is a charming city, with characteristic monumental buildings and beautiful inner courtyards around every corner. This city offers something for everyone. For example, you can visit the Teylers Museum and the Frans Hals Museum. Or if you prefer shopping - Haarlem is known to be one of the best shopping destinations in the country. Amsterdam is approximately a 15-minute drive from Haarlem, and Zandvoort is also nearby. Here, you can get a wonderful breath of fresh sea air and enjoy a long walk on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Haarlem
Best Western Haarlem
Haarlem Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing