We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Haarlem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Haarlem”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Picked the Amrath Grand Hotel due to it's location in Haarlem. Took the bus from Schipol to Haarlem, only a 40 min ride at 4 euros. We were on the 3rd floor of the hotel at the front just above the entrance and although there was some noise it didn't keep me awake and I am a light sleeper. The room was very clean and we found the bed to be comfortable. Like other reviewers we did not breakfast at the hotel, found other places much cheaper. Only gripe was, that as our flight was much later in the day we asked for a late checkout but was advised this would incur a surcharge of 10 euros per hour, we therefore took the advantage of the noon checkout and they agreed to store our luggage. Haarlem is a great place to visit with loads to do.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Els1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    227
    65
    14
    7
See reviews for
41
210
26
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We were in Haarlem for just one night and the Amrath was a great home-base to explore the city. The room was clean and well-equipped. Small but comfy. The staff we interacted with when we arrived and left were friendly and helpful. I can't say the same for the person I spoke with a few days before our arrival. I booked on Expedia and requested a crib and, if possible, an early check-in. I called a few days before to check on the status of my request and was sternly told that I needed to request these things in advance. Um, I did...did you check my reservation? Oh, I see that now. Sorry, no cribs and no early check-in. When we arrived I kindly asked again if we could check-in early so we could feed our baby in the comfort of our room and the desk clerk was happy to oblige....however still no cribs.

My only complaint with the room was the bed. There was some very soft memory foam type thing on top of the mattress that was very uncomfortable because it was a little lumpy. I'm also not a fan of soft beds in general.

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we did not partake of the 18 euro breakfast. Plenty of other options in the area for less than half the price.

Room Tip: Rooms above the entrance on the street-side were pretty noisy, even with the windows shut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flatlander3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

excellent location just off Grote Markt. Quiet room as requested. Opening windows so good ventilation. Pleasant, helpful staff

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed for one night in this hotel visiting the beautifull city Haarlem. Location is great, next to the big church. At night it can be noisy due to the bars in the surroundings. Room ok, beds were very soft, too soft for my taste. Was also pretty warm in the room, but we could open the window/door so that helped. Did not have breakfast, insanely expensive 18,50 euro per person. You can have a great breakfast outside the hotel for a better price.

Room Tip: Ask for a oom as high as possible and at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is a modern style hotel with rooms that are the equivalent of a Hilton or Marriott Hotel, perhaps a bit smaller in size. The hotel has all of the essential things - a restaurant that serves a breakfast buffet and a small bar. The rooms are quite clean and well-furnished. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Parking for the hotel is at a public underground garage about 1/2 block from the hotel entrance (although it was closed due to a vehicle fire when I was there).

The most outstanding aspect of this hotel is its location. It is on the very edge of the old Centrum (Center of Town), that consists of a 30 block area that is generally closed to vehicular traffic. All locals travel by bicycle here. Wonderful restaurants are literally around the corner, and more are only a block or two away. There is excellent shopping within walking distance, as well as museums, government buildings, and you can always sit down at a bar on a seat that overlooks the Grotemarkt Square, and have yourself a beer or coffee.

The central feature of the Grotemarkt Square, 1/2 block from the hotel, is the St. Bavo Cathedral. This remarkable church is worth spending a few hours in, just to see its details. There is a great museum attached to the cathedral. If you are interested in your Dutch genealogical roots, the Noord-Holland Archief is about 3 blocks away. Many of the hotel rooms views are of the cathedral and its spires. The central spire is lit at night, and is a wonderful sight. The church carillon (bells) plays on the hour, except between midnight and 6 a.m.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncleguido50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the highlands
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

this modern building has some traditional features, like prints of 17th century frans hals paintings in the rooms aswell as reception. theres a large spiral staircase with a stained glass dome at the top! the room was very comfortable with tea and coffee (pot luck as to what teabags you get though) there was no milk but we got some from reception. the bathroom had hairdyer and shampoo but no conditioner. the hotel is on one of the many side streets leading off the main market place, you can hear the bells of the st. bavo church, but in a nice way. friday and saturday it was abit noisy outside but to be expected.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I liked:
Central location
Reasonable room

I didn't like:
Poor electrics in the room
Faulty plug in the bathroom, which meant brush my teeth in the bath.
Expensive breakfast

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downthepub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
672 reviews
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 12 in Haarlem
185 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Carillon
Hotel Carillon
#12 of 12 in Haarlem
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Property: Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Address: Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Haarlem
#3 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals is a beautiful 4-star hotel, located in the lively centre of Haarlem. Step out of the hotel and walk right into the inviting city of Haarlem, where you can marvel at historical buildings, charming squares, and lively shopping quarter. The 82 stylish guest rooms at Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals all have complementary wireless internet. Get a good start to the day with a tasty breakfast at the hotel; and to close it off in a convivial atmosphere, the hotel offers an attractive bar. Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals does not have its own restaurant, but you will find plenty of charming establishments within a 150-metre radius. For business purposes there is a spacious meeting room available. Haarlem is a charming city, with characteristic monumental buildings and beautiful inner courtyards around every corner. This city offers something for everyone. For example, you can visit the Teylers Museum and the Frans Hals Museum. Or if you prefer shopping - Haarlem is known to be one of the best shopping destinations in the country. Amsterdam is approximately a 15-minute drive from Haarlem, and Zandvoort is also nearby. Here, you can get a wonderful breath of fresh sea air and enjoy a long walk on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Haarlem
Best Western Haarlem
Haarlem Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing