We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quirky place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely quirky place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and two children (9 and 7) and had one of the four person bedrooms. The building is in a lovely little Dutch traditional street and within 5 minutes walk of the city centre. The staff were really helpful and pointed us to some free off street parking. The communal living room is very retro trendy. When we got to our bedroom, we got a lovely surprise when we saw there was a traditional wooden swing hanging from the wooden beams in the ceiling (kids loved this). The room was a nice mix of tradition and modern refurb. Definitely recommend this place if you are visiting Haarlem. To top it all, the staff very kindly sent back to England my daughter's favourite cuddly toy which we left by mistake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
49
52
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

i have just stayed here for 4nights ,brilliant place,if you fancy an escape from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam,Haarlem is a nice city with excellent shopping and good bars and clubs,restaurants and friendly people.

I stayed in the provincie room which is a 14 bed dorm but really nice room and good comfortable beds and nicely designed room not like a typical hostel, there is a kitchen also if you want to buy and make food or drinks , the staff are approachable ,friendly and have extensive knowledge of the local area and can always help you. Tips ,if you like drinking you must try the local beer jopen which is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearsonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great Hostel in Haarlem. Room are ultra clean and have great themes. The beds and linen are luxurious. The furniture is so cool with the bunks built in and little touches added everywhere. There is a massive amount of space to move around in the dorms and with the high ceilings and natural light they feel airy.

The staff are very friendly, have contagious smiles and their service is brilliant.
The hostel seems to attract local families and groups so you actually know you are in Holland when staying here.

We were very comfortable at this hostel an we would stay here again.

Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyGworx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I think the title says it all. The concept is brilliant and the love for their guests is noticeably everywhere. From the coffee to the music and from the advice to the general hospitality. I wish I could live there. Though I would mis my wife and son.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Back home today. But hello I'm local feels like home. Great hospitality and food very close to Haarlem centre. Went 3 nights and mis it already. Rooms are very clean and with al the themes they look very neat.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 220Edwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We loved everything at this Hostel. It's every family athmosphere. Every Body is interested in your plans what to do today ,or suggest which Restaurant is the best in town. It is like your Mum who want to care an worries about you. We loved it to sit in the living room played some games or listen to the good music there.
The City Haarlem have exactly the right size and is very very sweet and nice.
We are sooo happy when we can come back to the local Hostel!!

Room Tip: Holstein Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederikhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The place is perfect in every respect. Immaculately clean, comfy high quality furnishings, lovely bed with fresh scented laundry and plush big pillow, beautiful location close to the canal edge in a historic building in Haarlem. The interior design is considered, consistent and functional though still has plenty of warmth and character. You can tell there is a clear vision or "dream" of the owners behind this place and it delivers.

One thing really stood out above all which is saying something considering how good everything else is. The people that work here are angels. Warm, friendly, with a big smile when you come in, you'll feel the love! They are very genuine and not imposing at all but totally up for a chat if you want. Gezellig! Is the word. You know when you're coming home after a long day that you'll be coming to a peaceful and friendly place, and you can either just go up to your room without being bothered or sit and read a book downstairs (they have lots on the coffee table). I'll be coming back for sure. Felt very safe the whole time, more like staying in a family B&B. I was kind of touched by how nice they were to be honest, this also extends to everyone else I spoke to in Haarlem, Dutch people are the best, I'll be back soon :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel

Property: Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel
Address: Spiegelstraat 4, 2011 BP Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel offers 12 unique rooms all different. From a private with 5 meter high ceiling to a 14 person dorm to an old fashion 'Bedstede'. All bedrooms have a private shower and sink other have their own everything. Don't worry the toilet won't be more than a step away. Towels and linen are included in the price, I'll make sure that your bed is already made when you arrive. With a group and want to rent all my 56 beds, please contact me. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hello I'm Local Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing