We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Teylers Museum
from $34.00
More Info
from $46.10
More Info
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
184
124
33
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
124
33
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scientific instruments oval room natural history beautiful building eclectic collection fossil collection worth a visit hand written temporary exhibition old style audio tour on display couple of hours special exhibit old building two hours dutch masters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We visited a wonderful exhibition of works of Leonardo da Vinci, one of the greatest artists and scientists.

Very interesting drawings and paintings showing his in depth study and knowledge of the anotomy of the human body. Together with beautiful paintings.

Is ts a combined exhibition with the Frans Hals museum. See my review on Frans Hals, one of the greatest Dutch painters.

Thank Johan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraB2262, Public Relations Manager at Teylers Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for visiting us and leaving this review! We're glad you liked the exhibition and hope to see you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great building. Lovely location. Visited as a party of three adults trying to enter with I Amsterdam card. Not clear that you need to book online beforehand and pay. We were turned away and told to go to tourist information in main square to book, which we did. Cost 24€ total which was substantial discount so ok then.

Went back and gained entry. Museum is frankly a bit of a hotch potch with very little information in English. Fine if you are Dutch, not great for the rest of us. We visited Leonardo exhibition which was again not clearly organised and difficult to follow the key theme. Sorry but not my best museum experience.

Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraB2262, Public Relations Manager at Teylers Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your message! I'm sorry to read you might have missed our little textbook in English and our audio guide. The museum is the oldest museum of the Netherlands and we are working hard to keep it as authentic as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Timeslot at 13.30, but we had to wait for over an hout to enter the exhibition. Horrible, never again

Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraB2262, Public Relations Manager at Teylers Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting our populair Leonardo da Vinci exhibition. We let people enter the museum in timeslots, once they are in the museum they can stay as long as they want. We see sometimes it gets busier, but it really differs per day. This is why we organised extra activities and other Leonardo-inspired trails through the whole museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Teylersmuseum is the oldest museum of the Netherlands, situated in the city of Haarlem. Just this month -until the 6th of January 2019- the museum started a exhibition of drawings by Leonardo da Vinci. The exibition is beautifully arranged. Drawings, in some cases very small, are about 500 years old en kept in excellent state. The information the museum supllies is perfect.
You have to make an online reservation before visiting the exibition because a limited number of visitors is admitted at the same time. In this way you can take your time and enjoy the exibition.
What I personally liked most is the hall where the fresco of ‘the last Supper’ is showed. Because the original painting is a fresco this painting in the museum in the city of Haarlem can only be a copy. But the museum shows a huge copy in special lights. You will absolutely like this. Unfortunately Da Vinci used wrong materials for his painting. So The last Supper is not in a very good condition. But! A pupil of da Vinci painted a replica of the Last Supper in the year of 1506. The replica has better been preserved than the original. The replica can be found in a monastery in Tongerlo, Belgium. And it is so awesom that the Teylers shows a copy of the replica in the same hall at the opposit wall.
Before entering the hall, the museum offers a video presentation and provides you all the information you need.
And if you are interested in secrets, read The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown en discover the secret of this fresco ....

Thank Kees S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraB2262, Public Relations Manager at Teylers Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for these kind words! Great to see you liked the original drawings by Leonardo da Vinci and the two Last Suppers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went here for the Leonardo da Vinci exhibition and it was great! Be sure to also check the rest of the collection of the museum, they have some very nice fossils and scientific instruments.

Thank jolav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraB2262, Public Relations Manager at Teylers Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting us! We're glad to see you liked it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

The Teylers Museum should be on your list of things to do in Haarlem. The museum has everything under the sun and contains so much history it can be overwhelming. We were quite fortunate to get a private tour of the upstairs library and were able to see the lectern where Albert Einstein once gave lectures! It's a must!

Thank msshields63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraB2262, Public Relations Manager at Teylers Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again in Haarlem!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

It was raining that day and it was my first time in the City of Haarlem when I convinced my boyfriend to visit the museum together. I coudn't never imagin to find such a treasure in the northwest of the Netherlands. The museum has lot to offer: marvellous paintings dating back to Romanticism, just to cite a few I remember the "Landscape in stormy weather" by Hermanus van Brussel which entailed the emotions and ideologies of the time.
Indeed, It was a pleasure to discover the Hague School which I unfortunately have never heard about in my art lessons in Italy. Besides this, we found sketches (copy) of Michelangelo and Raffaello works which I have never seen before! Finally, there are many others things to see and explore!
It was totally unexpected!

Thank Gioia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

A museum with a variety of items on display. Entertaining and everyone can find something to enjoy. I would recommmend it. Unfortunately 3 rooms were closed because of the next exposition. No warning at all before paying the full price that you will miss out on an extended part of the collection. So check before visiting!

Thank Ilse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Teyler's museum, the oldest in Holland has a fine collection of minerals and fossils. Then, in the room shown here, there is a wonderful collection of 17C, 18C and 19C scientific instruments. They are beautifully made and so interesting. The paintings are good too.

Thank Eva Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

As the oldest purpose built museum in the Netherlands, this is a gem. The museum has a wonderful eclectic collection of fossils, objects but also, in the modern wing, painting and temporary art collections. Between 4 October and 9 January 2019 there is a Leonardo da Vinci exhibition. Nice cafe, also good with younger children as there will be something of interest for them too. Not too big.

Thank madeleneklaasenbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraB2262, Public Relations Manager at Teylers Museum, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you! We hope to see you again in Haarlem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews