We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Dirtiest hotel room ever” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dirtiest hotel room ever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

First impressions were quite good. Check-in was ok and the room was very big. We left our bags and took the very conveniently located bus to the city centre. When we came back after dinner and were getting ready for bed, we noticed that the bathroom had not been cleaned: there were white beard hairs around the sink and on the floor. By the look of the mould in the shower, the stains on the bathtub and the dirty toilet, cleaning is not done often or well. We mentioned this at check-out, but they didn't appear to care too much about it, neither did they give the impression that it was the first time they heard the complaint. So, people with a dust allergy, be warned! Would not stay again, and not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    227
    107
    31
    25
See reviews for
89
240
22
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a recent business trip for 16 nights. Was pleasantly surprised by the quality of accommodation in the newer wing and the restaurant service. Will definitely stay again if the chance arises.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 15TD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Mid range hotel for middle managers. Room was comfortable, if a little warm, with good working desk. The only "soft" seat was a sofa looking thing that i didn't try. There was also a handy padded bench to sit while getting dressed. Basic toiletries in bathroon and my toilet flush didn't seem to work very well. Busy restaurant with large menu and "free" salad bar. Although they did mess up the bill one night, but quickly fixed it.
I spotted more than one potential trip hazards involving broken or missing floor tiles in the restaurant and the conference room my company was using.
The gym is run by an independant company within the hotel building; opens late in the morning (after 8am) and stays open to about 10pm.
Floors 2, 3 & 4 apprear not to exist, so my floor 5 room was on the seconf floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gibsonsarah261171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I booked this hotels for the good reviews and the price. Both were 100% accurate. The staff and location were perfect. The only very slight complaint is the lack of food for late night people like myself.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivalta di Torino, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We are extremely disappointed. From the pictures our expectations were high, after checking in the room we became aware of the reality. It seemed to be in a chip motel. Our black sheet was covert with white spots, the tub was all dirty and the clean towels were not clean. There was a big common balcony for all the rooms of the floor. Besides the room was lacking in sleepers, aircon and minibar. In the end we payed more than 200€ for 2 nites in a double bedroom. Not worthed. But I must say the only pro, is that the hotel staff was very polite.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Trippingbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Went there for business. Had a room in the new wing. Very comfortable room and spacious. The staff is friendly and provide good service. Breakfeast is great. Not too far from haarlem city center. Could smoke a cigar in the smoking room. Only bad point, it s very slow to check out in the morning.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jglassey .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay here when I arrived in Europe 3 weeks ago and as I am departing tomorrow. It's the perfect spot to stay just outside of Amsterdam and close to the center of Haarlem which is a cool little city to see while in the Netherlands. This particular trip started with Fred picking me up in the complimentary shuttle service from Schiphol Airport. I arrived to a nice clean room with super comfy beds. Had a great breakfast in the restaurant and then Stella and Venessa at the front desk saved me. Literally, went out of their way to find me another room to stay in as all of amsterdam and surrounding is sold out due to an expo in the area. The service is exceptional and I cannot thank them enough!

Some rooms are completely renovated like the one I had on my first visit. I am in an older room, but still very spacious, new LCD TV's and bedding is great. It's very clean. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haarlem
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#10 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
Address: Toekanweg 2, 2035 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem is located at the border of the historical center of Haarlem. From the hotel you can easily visit the beaches of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal and the cities of Amsterdam or The Hague. The hotel is located not far from the airport Schiphol. The city of Haarlem is certainly worth a visit with its beautiful canals, old buildings, inner-gardens and of course the famous Teylers Museum and Frans Hals Museum.Our guests enjoy free high-speed internet, free parking and free access to Anybody Healthcenter. We would like to welcome all business guests in one of our 14 meetingrooms, ranging from 13 to 900 m². All our two persons rooms are equiped with a twin bed. Only the Suites have double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing