We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel so nice personal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel so nice personal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I like the personal so nice professional less than 3 minutes check in also check out v quickly about the breakfast perfect a different resource of food perfect coffee also service v goed the room view was so nice but the decoration of the room I found not so class or comfortAble for the eyes but I found the bathroom is great clean

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holland747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    227
    107
    31
    25
See reviews for
89
241
22
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was in the area for business a couple of weeks ago and due to the Europa Cup Final being played in Amsterdam this was the only hotel I could get. I was booked into what was described as an "Economy Room" as that was the ONLY room available, but the name did worry me.

OK so lets start with the positives. The reception and check in were fine and painless, and the hotel bar had a good selection of beer and a good atmosphere. We ate in the restaurant and the selection and standard of food was very nicey prepared and served. Breakfast was self service and again a good selection for all tastes. This is the primary reason for the 3*.

Now the not so good. The "Economy Room" was actually on the roof of the hotel it seemed. The hotel had obviously had a go a decorating the room in some Gothic Chique style but in truth it looked a bit dark and sinister decorated in red and black with old style furnishings missing the mark. They may well have got away with it except they had left in the room a pretty grotty wooden wardrobe which spoiled the whole thing. One good thing was the bathroom which was large and spacious and well refurbished.

When I entered the room it was very hot at 30 degrees C, so I tried the wall mounted aircon unit which activated for about 30 seconds and then switched off. Having tried this for about an hour I called reception to have someone come fix it. After a further call one hour later someone eventually appeared and having taken a look said it was broken and they couldn't fix it. Before getting into bed later that night I tried the aircon unit again and it worked perfectly all night ???

The hotel seems to be undergoing major refurbishment and additonal rooms built, so there is a lot of construction work going on. I guess when this is done the whole hotel will be much better.

It was OK just for the one night but if I was here for a 3 or 4 day stay I'd have to have a different room.

Room Tip: Do NOT book an "Economy Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank custardcannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The room was excellent, the breakfast selection was one of the best ever, a very relaxing atmosphere. I would certainly book again. The staff were very friendly with perfect English.
Lifts were a bit slow, but we were in no rush

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Amsterdam. The hotel is currently getting refurbished which doesn't seem to effect the rest of the hotel. We had interconnecting rooms which was great for our family of 5. There was direct access to the carpark from our room which was very handy for loading the car. The only thing we found unusal was that we had to access our room through the hotel restaurant which wasn't a big problem. To get to Amsterdam it was a short bus ride to Haarlem Central station and a 20 minute train ride to Amsterdam Central station and right into the action. We actually preferred Haarlem to Amsterdam as it was much quieter and had a very beautiful town centre. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Definitely try Cafe De Linde in Haarlem - the best ribs in Netherlands! Overall would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5KiwisinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

was concerned about some of the other comments about this hotel but was pleasantly surprised. Hotel itself is of reasonable quality and found all the staff more than helpful at all times, barman a bit surly but more than does his job. Food is of good quality too albeit the menu a little limited, but good fare nonetheless. Wifi is free but signal is weak in restaurant area. Room was large and clean with (communal) balcony and digital safe. Hotel has its own free car park and bus service to central Haarlem stops outside. Easy to get bus/train to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valve56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouport on Severn
Level Contributor
193 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the hotel over the Easter break. It was very quiet as it appears to cater for the business traveller. Despite some of the previous reviews we found the hotel to be modern, clean and well presented. Receptionists very friendly and helpful. Our room was large and well serviced. A good variety of hot and cold offerings for breakfast. Ample on site parking. Bus stops immediately outside the hotel linking to Haarlem railway station where there are frequent trains to Amsterdam about 15 minutes away. You can also catch the bus onto Amsterdam but you need to change to get into the city centre. Would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haarlem
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#10 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
Address: Toekanweg 2, 2035 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem is located at the border of the historical center of Haarlem. From the hotel you can easily visit the beaches of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal and the cities of Amsterdam or The Hague. The hotel is located not far from the airport Schiphol. The city of Haarlem is certainly worth a visit with its beautiful canals, old buildings, inner-gardens and of course the famous Teylers Museum and Frans Hals Museum.Our guests enjoy free high-speed internet, free parking and free access to Anybody Healthcenter. We would like to welcome all business guests in one of our 14 meetingrooms, ranging from 13 to 900 m². All our two persons rooms are equiped with a twin bed. Only the Suites have double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing