We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big rooms”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Even if the exterior of the hotel looks horrible, the interior is much better and rooms are very big and refurbished.
Wifi connection is working properly and free!
Ideal for business traveller or for a one-two nights stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank L Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    280
    125
    33
    27
See reviews for
110
305
23
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Has a stop over for a night here whilst travelling in the Netherlands. It was 6 years ago since I had been and to be honest nothing had changed apart from the bed sheets. It's starting to look tired and dated.

On the upside the rooms are large and spacious, staff are friendly and food was very good but expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoozeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Huge clean room and bathroom. Dated and impersonal but well worth the money on a deal(paid£80 for 2 for 2 nights with octopus travel)Good variety at breakfast. Free parking. Bus No 300 outside hotel to central town. If going to Amsterdam cost 2 euro on bus to haarlem station and then 3.60 euro(i think) to Amsterdam central station and took about 1/2 hour. Good value.Haarlem town lovely and about a 15 min stroll. Fabulous meal at Flamboyant(indonesion) in Kleine Houtstraat.
Worry I would have is that balcony shared with 3 or 4 other rooms. Would not want to leave the door open over night!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazbar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here in 13-15 January this year. Nice clean room, spacious and quiet. good bed, love the separate shower and bath. It was all very nice. We found it a very nice place to stay. Friendly personnel, had nice talks with someone at the reception and later in the restaurant.

Hotel is working on modernization of the rooms too, a lady told me and by the end of spring a certificate called Golden Green Key, for a green environment

Room Tip: Room on the east are more quite, nice big terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stopped here whilst passing through on business. First of all I wasn't sure if I'd found the right place as there's no signage with Van Der Valk, it just says Hotel Haarlem and you can't really miss it.

Got the key to my room and it was pitch dark when I walked in, had to fumble around to find the light switches on the little lamps which is a pain.

Even when I did figure out all the lighting it was pretty dark still.

Decor had a general tired 80s feel to it, not horrible or filthy but not especially pleasant either.

Bathroom in my room 752 was very good though, power shower with a lot of power which is always refreshing.

Had a quick beer in the bar before going out, E3.75 for a small bock beer which I thought was a bit pricey,

Breakfast was pretty uninviting, plenty of choice but I'd stick to the things in packets and the pastries.

No thanks or anything from the girl at reception when I checked out, no interest in whether I'd had a nice stay or not.

Can't really grumble for £66 paid (not including breakfast which was 13 Euros) but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Pretty avarage. Clean enough, spacious rooms although quite dated. Food at the restaurant was pretty good. Padi around £70 per night so good value for money on this occassion.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is a large, sprawling conference-class hotel about 20 mins leisurely walk from Haarlem city centre. Once state-of-the-art, the VdV needs a bit of a makeover now to bring its bedrooms into the 21st Century as their facilities are quite basic. Although the old 4:3 CRT tv had a wide spread of northern-Euro channels, mine had good reception on all but the one I actually wanted to watch - BBC1!

My bathroom was poorly lit but clean. There was an un-lit shower cubicle, plus a bath wedged into an very dim corner. There was no beverage-making facilities or mini-bar. This is very much a minus-point against the VdV as many of its rooms are so remote from the bar. There are drinks and snack vending machines near the first-floor reception area.

Where the VdV scores is in its dining area; their large, roughly 'L' shaped room overlooks a busy roadway but has an intimate feel to it and offers some cozy nooks to dine in peace, if the fancy takes you. Guests are spoilt for choice at breakfast and the hotel provides an excellent spread of hot and cold food and drinks.

Room Tip: Corner rooms to the west side of the VdV are sunny and have a balconies to sit out on. However, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haarlem
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
623 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
Address: Toekanweg 2, 2035 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem is located at the border of the historical center of Haarlem. From the hotel you can easily visit the beaches of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal and the cities of Amsterdam or The Hague. The hotel is located not far from the airport Schiphol. The city of Haarlem is certainly worth a visit with its beautiful canals, old buildings, inner-gardens and of course the famous Teylers Museum and Frans Hals Museum.Our guests enjoy free high-speed internet, free parking and free access to Anybody Healthcenter. We would like to welcome all business guests in one of our 14 meetingrooms, ranging from 13 to 900 m². All our two persons rooms are equiped with a twin bed. Only the Suites have double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing