We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Huge concrete building which doesn't look very attractive from the outside. No garden or park around it, just lots of parking space. Inside could do with a bit of renovation too. Rooms are average sized and clean. No refreshments, a/c or fridge, but vending machines in the reception area. Unfriendly and arrogant staff. I had a little argument over the bill: I had made a cheap internet deal through a broker, but initially they charged the full, very expensive, rate. No apologies after correction though. Breakfast was very good, a real big plus. Location is great too, close to the highway and center of Haarlem. Normal rates are very expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Search for a cheap deal on the web!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_Wieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    279
    125
    33
    27
See reviews for
109
305
23
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

I've just got back from Haarlem and stayed at he Zuid last night. I just read these reviews and feel they don't quite give an accurate picture.

The first thing to point out is that this is a very cheap hotel by Amsterdam standards. I just paid 90 euros for a big double room (was 80 but 10 more for internet access - I chose not to have breakfast included). The thing is this hotel charges extra for just about everything. For example, 10 euros for room service on top of what you order is pretty bad form.

The thing that did bug me was the fact that the rooms have no mini bar an no tea or coffee making facilities, not even a bottle of water. Instead the foyer is littered with vending machines selling snacks and drinks. Would be more customer friendly to have these on each floor so you don't have a major excursion on your hands each time. It also gives the hotel a bit of a cheap feel in my view.

That said I found the staff to be very friendly and hepful - let's not forget that we do play our role in the receipt of good service and I find starting with a smile tends to help the staff shine :)

There is a bit of a check-in and check-out queue at the 'peak' times but that happens in many places that cost twice as much.

The room was pretty clean, I'm not a forensic scientist so I didn't swab anything but it seemed fine to me. Shower was good and piping hot, bed was pretty comfortable.

Not a picturesque location by any means - more an industrial setting but easy access to the town centre.

Anyone expecting a top notch hotel experience at this money is not being realistic in my view, I have stayed in many of the worlds best hotels and while this is a long way from that, so was the bill, and frankly I think it offered good value and service for the money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Urbanaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

I don't get this; if you're in the hotel business, it is because you normally care about customers. I have now been twice in this hotel (nov and Jan 2011) and both experiences are miserables.

Waiting time at reception for check in was 20'; 15' for check out
room is not guaranteed after 6pm; even if you have your credit card as guarantee...how practical this is when you have a flight arriving 8pm?!?
service in the restaurant is inexistant
breakfast is bad
rooms are noisy
fitness centre opens at 09am...and they position themselves as a business hotel, must be a joke!
wifi doesn't work in most parts

just keep away from this hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LudoPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

Quite comfortable, but odd red/black décor in our room. Food good, but off-hand staff with poor service – wine never got to the table despite a reminder and also problems with obtaining coffee at breakfast (good wide choice)

Had a major hassle with the account. First of all given the wrong bill, which they insisted was correct. Eventually I got the right bill – but even that was wrong and ended up having a long argument over lunches that we had not had. Finally they gave way – but no apologies! In all left a very sour impression

Good, non-stop bus servive to the centre of Haarlem

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

as precious guests have said, the hotel was dirty, the non-smoking rooms smelt of smoke.
After a long day out we could not get a hot drink at 11pm in the lounge or the lobby. The staff didnt seem to care about anything. the buffet breakfast ran out and it took a long time for them to refill - as if they were caught out by the number of guests wanting breakfast!
The only thing in their favour over other Haarlem hotels was the free parking.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Panda4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Yes the rooms were clean and the parking was free but that is the only positive thing about the hotel.

It's very expensive and in need of an urgent refurbishment to bring it out of the 1970s.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonWolman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons-la-Foret, France
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Old and rundown hotel. Not worth your money. Rooms are spacious but there is no airconditioning and you can't really open your window because the window is actually a sliding door and everybody walking by can enter your room!!! The reception area is nice (first impression is good) but the rest is terrible. The parking is free, that is a good thing. We will not come again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haarlem
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
Address: Toekanweg 2, 2035 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem is located at the border of the historical center of Haarlem. From the hotel you can easily visit the beaches of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal and the cities of Amsterdam or The Hague. The hotel is located not far from the airport Schiphol. The city of Haarlem is certainly worth a visit with its beautiful canals, old buildings, inner-gardens and of course the famous Teylers Museum and Frans Hals Museum.Our guests enjoy free high-speed internet, free parking and free access to Anybody Healthcenter. We would like to welcome all business guests in one of our 14 meetingrooms, ranging from 13 to 900 m². All our two persons rooms are equiped with a twin bed. Only the Suites have double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing