We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Stay in Haarlem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed and Breakfast L'Anders

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Breakfast L'Anders
Ranked #2 of 17 Haarlem B&B and Inns
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
163 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Haarlem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for two nights before joining up with our tour group. Upon arriving early on our first day, we knew the room would not be ready so we decided to leave our luggage with the caretaker at the restaurant. The restaurant looked so inviting that we decided to have a lovely and delicious lunch only to be surprised that the it was complementary. From that moment on, this place was wonderful. The breakfasts were excellent, the room was huge and the bed was so comfortable. Although we had the room in the front, right on Grote Square, we did not mind the noise because we used ear plugs (highly recommended). We enjoyed seeing the activity on the Square, and, in fact, were delighted when we woke up to a market set up on Saturday morning (not to be missed)! This place is a treasure and the best place to stay in Haarlem.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, try a room in the back. If you want to see what is going on in Grote Square, sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doneill241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The reviews we read prior to our trip were absolutely correct. We had a great room, comfy bed and nice bathroom. The winding steps up were a little challenging but even though we are in our 70's we didn't have any problems. Breakfast was wonderful, fresh squeezed OJ, muesli/yogurt, cheese, ham, croissant and some great healthy bread. Our last day she fixed our breakfast early so we could make our train. Wonderful place, they bent over backwards to please you. Absolutely recommend this place. Great place for shopping also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Birgitta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The owner of this B&B was very attentive and made sure that our needs were met. He answered any questions that we had with expertise. We came on the craziest day ever because it was Queen's day and there was a carnival in the Grote Market square. He kindly provided ear plugs for us to help with the noise. Even though he had his hands full with many customers that night, we felt that he still attended to our wishes.
The restaurant serves delicious food and would highly recommend eating there. The staff is superb and very friendly.

Room Tip: Yes, Room #1 is facing the Grote Market. If you are a light sleeper, you might want to choose anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misterlanders, Owner at Bed and Breakfast L'Anders, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Mr & Mme Perry,
We have to thank you 2 for all the nice sweet gifts you offered to us.
We really enjoyed your stay at our place.
I hope that you had a good time in Paris.
Maybe see you again, in Holland or in Canada, who knows ;)
Best regards.
Wotchao & the team L'Anders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
113 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The added bonus to this bed and breakfast is the delicious restaurant downstairs that is also run by the B&B owners. This is where you'd check in. The owners and staff were super helpful even by B&B innkeeper standards.

We had one of the front rooms facing the Square. It has nice view but, on a Friday night, it was loud - both from loud talking passerbys and from vendors setting up the Saturday market, which started around 3 am. Earplugs were provided but if you are not a heavy sleeper, I would recommend requesting a back room particularly for a Fridy night. Our room was comfortable and totally adequate for two. Bathroom a bit smal though.

Despite the noise, I wholeheartedly recommend this little b&b.

Room Tip: Back room on Friday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a car and parked it at one of the parkades a couple blocks away and then walked with our backpacks to the L'Anders bed and breakfast. It's located right on the Grote Markt - the main square in Haarlem. We were at the door for the Brasserie and the owners came out to meet us, and show us to our rooms - up some very interesting, and steep stairs - especially to the top stairs. The rooms were great, and quiet. Beds were comfortable and so had a great stay. Bathroom was also very good. As we were travelling into Amsterdam via train early every morning, the owners had breakfasts made up for us and placed in a cooler outside our room door - and ready for us at 7 am every morning. Sandwiches, drinks (apple and pear juices), muffins, apple strudel - which was great....Would stay there again when in Haarlem. Short walk - a few blocks to the train station, and lots of eating choices on our close to the Grote Markt (highly recommend eating at the Carillon Hotel restaurant across the square from the L'Anders - European and Asian mix of foods - best food we've had to date on this trip, and very, very reasonable - about 40 euros for 3 of us). We also ate at the L'Anders brasserie downstairs and it was also very good.

Room Tip: Located right on the main square, the Grote Markt. Parking available in the parkades in the downtow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuck2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We only got to stay at Bed and Breakfast L'Anders for one night but were very glad we did.
The B&B is in an old Dutch building so expect the steps to be steep. Luckily your luggage gets taken to your room so you only have to concentrate on getting yourself up.
We stayed in room no.1 and although the bathroom is compact the room is massive and very nicely decorated.
If you are in a room overlooking the Grote Markt there will be possible issues with noise (people going home late from cafes or garbage men starting work early etc.) but I knew this and deliberately asked for a room at the front with a view as how often do you get to stay somewhere with a view of a Grote Markt?
Breakfast is served from 10-12am in the cafe/restaurant under the rooms and is plentiful and delicious. We didn’t get a chance to eat at the restaurant but the menu looked tasty.
All the staff we dealt with couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We would definitely go back to B&B L’Anders if we are travelling through this part of the Netherlands again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwikoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terschelling
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

One needs good legs to reach the upper second floor. (Nothing for less able guests)
Especially in the early morning municipally workers clean out the streets with 'LEAF BLOWERS' instead of the good old brooms. And once they're finished and you dozed off again, the start collect the Garbage. Again after this no rest as the market is getting built up.
Rooms are dressed according the price. Just enough.
Breakfast only from 09.45, the friendly waitress makes up for the late meal.
We will use this Hotel again when necessary.

Room Tip: If possible avoid room 3, unless you love the view of Haarlem's Grote Markt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Piet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#7 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast L'Anders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast L'Anders

Property: Bed and Breakfast L'Anders
Address: Grote Markt 12, 2011 RD Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast L'Anders is located above the Brasserie and gives a direct view on the big market square, the Grote Markt, in the old town of Haarlem. It's a town which is perfectly situated, close to Amsterdam, Schiphol international airport and the beaches of Blomendaal and Zandvoort. But itself Haarlem offers you its History, its architecture, its shops (Haarlem is regularly reward the best town to shop in Holland), its good Life style and plural charms. The B&B has 4 rooms: 2 rooms gives a perfect view on the big square and its alive days & nights; 2 rooms gives you peace and rest after a very intense sight seeing or just shopping in town. The rooms are old but updated with the taste of nowadays. The breakfast is provided downstairs in the Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bed and Breakfast L'Anders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing