We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband, three children (17, 20 & 22) and I stayed at the Joops City Center Hotel, which is part of the Ambassador Hotel. The Joops is about a block from the Ambassador so both checking in and out were not a problem. The Joops doesn't have a lobby so it feels more like an apartment building than a hotel. Not a big deal. The Joops has an elevator. Our room had a comfortable king bed (which is really two twins/singles pushed together). The room our kids were in had the same king bed set up and another twin/single bed so it was perfect for them. They were on a different floor but because they are older, it wasn't a problem. Both rooms seemed very new, maybe recently renovated, with all new furniture, bedding and linens. We had plenty of hot water for showers and heat in the room (it was fairly cold outside when we were there). Being in the heart of things brings convenience and a bit of street noise. It wasn't a problem, nothing ear plugs couldn't block out. We were within a few blocks of everything. We took the train into Amsterdam to see the Anne Frank museum and only had to walk about 15 minutes to get to the train station in Haarlem.

We added the continental breakfast which was substantial. Plenty of food including hot items like scrambled eggs and bacon. We didn't see any restaurants in our area open for breakfast so the short walk over to the Ambassador worked well for us. For those traveling by car, the price tag for the nearby parking garage was shockingly high...50 euros for about 40 hours.

Room Tip: I have seen some negative reviews. If you want something new and comfortable and don't mind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    105
    69
    29
    20
See reviews for
40
112
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night at this hotel. Location is very good - near center of the city and near almost everything. Bathroom wasn't clean and the shower was a messy setup. The water isn't contained in a tub - just drains in the middle of the bathroom floor - causing a very wet bathroom (it did come with a squeegee). Carpet was very old and stained. If you stay here, suggest one of the rooms around the courtyard - much quieter. Good breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TJCubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Haarlem hotels

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Had a lovely room, decorated in a Old Egyptian way! Felt really Luxury! Very facinating! So, nice room, nice breakfast 'n friendly staff. The location can't be better, right on the down town square! And a good and sade place for the bicycles too! Very appreciated!

Room Tip: The one in Egyptian style was GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were impressed with the lobby and the location. Our room was a decent size and clean, however, the chairs in the room were ripped, the shower was set up quite horrible (there was actually a squeegee in our shower to help not soak the whole bathroom floor.) There was a very small bath mat that was torn, and the carpet was very, very old and dingy. Some of the day staff was helpful, some of the night staff were awful.. We were on the fourth floor, and the wifi was not good.. we were unable to get any connection. I feel like we paid more for our room then we should have, and that the hotel is not a 3 star. Parking wasn't a very big deal, we parked at De Kaamps and it was about 58 euro for the week. The location was great, we felt safe, and it was clean, but there's not much more then that.

Room Tip: I would read around to see if there are rooms that have been recently re-done. I also would say if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Comfortable rooms. Unexpectedly good for this price in Netherlands.
Very nice staff.
Excellent location in the centre of Haarlem.
Difficult to find a place to smoke, as in most hotels in the Netherlands.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darthpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel should not have 3* on it's door, and the Michelin Guide Stickers on the door are obviously a mistake.

First of all, don't be fooled by their claim they have an elevator in the building! The one that exists is only in one of the hotel's 3 buildings, and even that one, only takes you to the 1st floor. I had a room on the 3rd floor. So I carried my 30 kilo suitcase up 2 flights of very narrow and steep stairs. When I left, I asked reception if they can send someone to help me bring my suitcase back down and the girl at reception shrugged and said 'it's just me and the cleaning staff here so...'

Of course, you had to go up and down the stairs every time your key card stopped working, too. Or when you wanted to buy a bottle of water from reception, because the minibar fridge in the room was unplugged and empty.

Oh, and I don't want to find out what my room in the attic is like in the hot summer, as there's no A/C, but only an electric fan next to the bed.

Breakfast was the same every day (even during the weekend), poor and not a lot of choice, with the cheapest cereal in broken dispensers, 2 types of cheese and 2 types of ham (which vanished pretty quickly and were not replaced). The hot dishes were mini-sausages, burnt bacon, scrambled eggs and rice. The decor of the breakfast room was a desolating kitsch with a golden Egyptian theme and not enough light.

I stayed 4 days and my room was never vacuumed, even the cup of coffee I used on the first night never got washed until I left the hotel 4 days later. They made the bed and swept the bathroom floor, but that's about it.

The bathroom had a shower head on a wall, no shower enclosure of any sort (no glass pane, no curtain, nothing), so every time I showered I had to take everything out of the bathroom, otherwise it would have gotten wet.

The staff were completely unprepared and unwilling to help. Shrugged at almost anything. I witnessed a discussion between a couple on honeymoon who had specifically booked a room with a double bed, and got a twin room instead, and the receptionist who kept telling them it's too late to do anything about it now and then asking them: anything else that I can do for you? I wanted to smack him myself....

The location of the hotel is the best thing about it, so if you want to be within walking distance from anything of any importance in Haarlem, it's a good choice. All the clubs, bars, restaurants, sight and shops are right around the corner from the hotel, as is Haarlem's Red Light District. And their collection of antiques is stunning. But that doesn't mean they earn the 3 stars they advertise!

Room Tip: Make sure the elevator goes to the level on which your room is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreeaTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very helpful, breakfast was good, and the room was clean and the location is great! This is a great place for a weekend get away, but beware of the parking if you travel by car, there are plenty of places to park but it isn't ever cheap!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Centrum
Die Raeckse Hotel
Die Raeckse Hotel
#9 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Property: Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Address: Oude Groenmarkt 20 - 24, 2011 HL Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The monumental Ambassador City Centre Hotel is located in the historic heart of the city of Haarlem facing the St. Bavo Church. For city trippers this friendly hotel is an excellent choice. From the hotel, all the fun and interesting attractions can be easily reached. The train station is only a five-minute walk from the hotel. All rooms in the Ambassador City Centre Hotel*** are non-smoking. The stylish rooms are all marked by their unique interiors. A number of rooms also have a gorgeous view of the St. Bavo Church. The other rooms are at the rear of the hotel where you can rest peacefully in the heart of the city. Because of our unique location we are not allowed to offer our own parking facilities or discounts. In the hotel's surroundings there are public parking facilities available at an additional charge. We recommend parking in parking garage 'Appelaar' about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Ambassador City Centre Hotel guarantees you an atmospheric stay in an ambiance in which you will feel at home immediately. The hotel offers all facilities you need for a weekend away or a long stay, for a leisure or a business trip. You can sweeten your stay by visiting our traditional Italian restaurant or our Grand Café 'De Gouverneur.' I wish you an enjoyable stay. Yours sincerely, Paul van Riek, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ambassador City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador City Centre Haarlem
Hotel Ambassador City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing