We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We booked 2 rooms at the Joops hotel, but ended up being placed at the Ambassador hotel. The location is great, right off of the main square, surrounded by numerous restaurants. The staff was super friendly and even allowed us to check in at 1am after a delayed flight.

The rooms were simple, yet clean. The price was excellent. I had no complaints and considered this hotel to be a bargain. I would definitely stay here again as Haarlem is a great home base for Amsterdam and it is far quieter and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JubilantBeggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    120
    86
    34
    21
See reviews for
49
127
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Although we have no cause for complaint we would have preferred an apartment but they were all booked. The room was adequate and clean, but rather hot and needed at least a movable desk fan. We decided not to go for breakfast which is served in the Hotel Ambassador round the corner where reception is also situated - once outside, may as well find another breakfast bar. Well situated next to the black church, convenient for anywhere you want to visit in Haarlem, about 15 mins walk from bus and train station. Trains run to Amsterdam every 15 mins or so and take about 15 mins

Room Tip: If you can, get an apartment not a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We were in a B andB in Haarlem and were not able to staythe extra night we required so we booked a room in this hotel. What a lovely surprise. We arrived early and just expected to be able to leave our luggage but the very friendly clerk sent us directly to our room. Spottlessly clean, very bright,big windows and a great view of the lovely old church. It is right in the center of beautiful Haarlem. Also immediate access to wifi, some hotels we have stayed at charge for in room wifi. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank martha111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Staying at the Joops was a bit like borrowing an apartment, and in fact some of the rooms now seem to be apartments. The hotel has a locked security entrance with no lobby or front desk, located at the corner of the best street for restaurants in town, and just 1 or 2 blocks from several tourist attractions. Can't beat the location--in fact, don't pay for breakfast at the Ambassador Hotel: instead, walk a block SE on the Kleine Houtstraat to a great little bakery with good coffee, on the corner of the Gedempte Oude Gracht.

We stayed in a quad room, which was quite large, though its space wasn't used efficiently. The four single beds were comfortably firm; the pillows were small. Each had its own nightstand and light, and there were enough outlets for recharging phone/iPods, etc. Our teenage sons loved the very fast wifi. The room had a kitchenette and dishes, though the refrigerator wasn't plugged in. It was very quiet, partly because it was in the back of the building; the view included a maze of tiny yards, additions to houses, and the full length of the Sint Bavokerk a block away, rising above everything. The worst part was that the shower had no separation from the rest of the bathroom--no curtain or floor bumper to stop water from running everywhere, just a squeegee to push it back towards the drain. Everything in the room got wet if you weren't careful.

It met our needs. We wanted to get over jet lag in a place that was comfortable and inexpensive; this was a very good price and comfortable for the most part.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NodakTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
477 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of Haarlem next to the Church of St. Bavo. The accommodation is average, but do have a look at the lobby. It is a veritable clock museum with wall clocks and grandfather clocks covering every available space along the walls.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrottingViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Couldn't ask for a better location, lots of good restaurants nearby. We loved the city and the hotel, but stay away from the Joots( a sister property in renovation) and try to get a room away from the square( noisy and the church bells chime all nite). Great breakfast buffet, get a cheese omlet made on request, yum! Great fresh croissants and fruit. Easy walk to museums and shopping in a lovely city.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the Joots and rooms facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jall55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

The location is great, behind the church which is on the main square. In the rooms, the carpet is old and dingy and the sheet was not big enough to fit the mattress so it kept coming off and there wasn't a mattress pad which was bothersome and unhygienic. Water pressure in the shower was terrible. The staff was friendly enough, but didn't know much about the area. For example, didn't know what time the church was open next door or the best way to get to the Keukenhof to see the gardens. They were willing to look info up online, but wasn't always correct.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMama009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador City Centre Hotel

Property: Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Address: Oude Groenmarkt 20 /24, 2011 HL Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The monumental Ambassador City Centre Hotel is located in the historic heart of the city of Haarlem facing the St. Bavo Church. For city trippers this friendly hotel is an excellent choice. From the hotel, all the fun and interesting attractions can be easily reached. The train station is only a five-minute walk from the hotel. All rooms in the Ambassador City Centre Hotel*** are non-smoking. The stylish rooms are all marked by their unique interiors. A number of rooms also have a gorgeous view of the St. Bavo Church. The other rooms are at the rear of the hotel where you can rest peacefully in the heart of the city. Because of our unique location we are not allowed to offer our own parking facilities or discounts. In the hotel's surroundings there are public parking facilities available at an additional charge. We recommend parking in parking garage 'Appelaar' about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Ambassador City Centre Hotel guarantees you an atmospheric stay in an ambiance in which you will feel at home immediately. The hotel offers all facilities you need for a weekend away or a long stay, for a leisure or a business trip. You can sweeten your stay by visiting our traditional Italian restaurant or our Grand Café 'De Gouverneur.' I wish you an enjoyable stay. Yours sincerely, Paul van Riek, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador City Centre Haarlem
Hotel Ambassador City Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing