We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel room”
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
A TripAdvisor Member
Oceanside, CA
11
Reviewed April 6, 2004

I stayed two nights at the Amadeus. I found it small clean and quiet.
Very plane rooms I had a room in the back, I could see a small part of the town square and a tile roof. I would try to stay in a room in the front. A good size breakfast buffet meats, cheese, breads, and some good dutch coffe. Although the staff was nice just very quite.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amadeus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 188 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2004

We stayed at the Amadeus Hotel for 4 nights last June and had a great stay. Haarlem is only 20 min. away from Amsterdam by train, and we enjoyed the easy access to Amsterdam, but the small-town feel of Haarlem. The hotel rooms are very simple with a non-decorating approach to decorating, but they were clean and the room we had was spacious.
The breakfast was the highlight of our day, with bread, meat, cheese, cereal, youghart, juice and coffee. The hotel also operates a small internet cafe, and it was great to have such convenient access to the web. The owners are very nice and helpful, and the hotel location (right on the main square) was fun since we felt we were right in the thick of things. We are booked to stay there again this summer, and are looking forward to another visit.

4  Thank ruthlesswood01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, OH
35156
Reviewed March 7, 2004

I stayed in a single room in April 2003. Haarlem is a lovely town, and the hotel has a great location directly on the town square. The room was small, simple and clean. The bathroom was very small, even by European standards, and had a sliding accordian door. The breakfast room was gorgeous, and breakfast was quite good, with a selection of breads, cheeses, cold cuts and yogurt. It is good value, but do NOT expect a fancy place. The rooms are quite simple and plain - this is a place if you want a quiet, clean place to sleep while you spend your days out and about.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
319
Reviewed February 22, 2004

Stay away from this Amadaus Hotel. It had rained the day of our arrival mid September 2003, when we checked-in we noticed a great deal of black mold in the bath room. Usually, this is not a major problem, you just avoid it by not touching anything.

My daughter removed the stopper in the shower stall to take a shower and it did not occur to her to replace the stopper. WELL, that night the most awful septic odor permeated the room to the point we were unable to sleep. The odor was sickening.

Without an once of sleep I made my complaint to the staff at 6:00am that morning. We were told to keep the stopper in the shower drain as the septic system was hundreds of years old and this was a problem when there was rain.

We decided to check out that very morning and the staff was unwilling to refund our second and third day reservation monies which we had paid for in advance. As they could not move us out of that particular room to another, or remove the odors, we told them to keep the money and their smelly room.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2004

I thought I was on a small ship when I was inside the room that I had.
No closet, just two twin beds with two tiny end tables. There was maybe 18 inches from the end of the bed to the wall. Could not store my luggage in the room to get it out of my way. When someone would flush the toilets any where in the building the shower in our room would gurgle and the smell would come in our room. Nice owners but they are not there after 7 in the evening so make sure you get checked in before hand. Good luck

1  Thank jmills10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2003

This is where my wife and I stay when we visit Amsterdam. Haarlem is much quieter and safer than Amsterdam but it's only 15 minutes away by frequent train! (And it's worth a day's exploration itself.) The hotel is very simple (small rooms with only a bed and TV, tiny bathroom.) But the cost savings are enormous compared to staying in Amsterdam! What's more, they accept one or two night's bookings where as many Amsterdam hotels insist on three nights. Check it out.

1  Thank RodenbachRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amertin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
248 reviews
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
686 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Carillon
Hotel Carillon
#12 of 12 in Haarlem
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Grote Markt 10, 2011 RD Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range: $83 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amadeus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Haarlem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing