We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Base for Day Trips”
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We've stayed here a couple times and will definitely return! Reasonably priced, friendly owner (Mike) and staffed appropriately for the type of hotel that it is. It kind of irritates me when folks (generally we Americans) visit Europe, stay in a mom & pop type local place and expect the Ritz Carlton. The stairs are steep, the hallways narrow, the elevator is closet-like and the rooms/bathrooms are "cozy"...but here's a little secret...It's HOLLAND and most of the buildings are older than the US of A!

Rereading that last little bit may make this place seem kind of dumpy to some, it's totally not! But if you're looking for high end services and amenities, you probably want to move along.

We like the Amadeus when visiting Keukenhof. Bus service from the train station runs regularly to and from the flower property. This last time we also took the train/bus to Kroller-Mueller museum in Nationaal Park De Hoge Veluwe. The trip out to the park makes for an all day event, so if jamming a ton of things in to every day is something you like to do, you may want to skip that one.

Two of three times we've stayed at Amadeus our room overlooked the square (preferred), and there was a carnival going on in the square on those weekends. I think it shut down around 11 or midnight, but we're rarely in bed that early when traveling, so it wasn't a problem for us. I saw some complaints about bar noise making it into rooms; I don't doubt those reviews, but that hasn't been our experience. Once the carnival shuts down, it's relatively quiet. We've stayed on several squares, and in busy-ish neighborhoods around the Netherlands and there are ALWAYS late night revelers enjoying themselves as they pass under your windows. If activity at night is something you need to avoid, you may not enjoy staying in any city center around the Netherlands. You'll be relegated to modern buildings on the outskirts of town...to each his own, I suppose.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amadeus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 188 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

First, Haarlem is the absolute place to stay when visiting Amsterdam/Netherlands..great old town with a beautiful town square and great access to train to Amsterdam. And right in the center of the square is the Amadeus..with short walks to lots of quant eating places, people watching, museums, cathedral, the Corrie Ten Boom hiding place, etc., etc. Of course the hotel is old and small as are the rooms, but that adds to the uniqueness. The only downside for me are the narrow steps leading up to the lobby. It's similar to bizillions of Italian family owned hotels are are quirky, quant, and in buildings many times older than the USA.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimdavisAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in June.The location was probably the most redeeming quality of the hotel.Our room was at the very top of the hotel,over looking the square.The view was awesome,especially at night. However the earplugs that were provided were utilized due to the noise from the bar that did not stop until early morning. The room was very basic and the tiny bathroom with the swinging doors was a little uncomfortable.The breakfast was nice,I wish we would have sat outside at one of the tables earlier during our stay,sitting outside seeing Haarlem wake up was very nice. It is very much a basic hotel,but you really can't beat the location and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichiganElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel has a very good location in a charming city near Amsterdam.
Amadeus is a 2 star hotel and that is what it is. We got a tiny room on second floor with view to the back of many old buildings. It was very hot and to open the window to a common smoking balcony vas not tempting. Owr shower over flooded due to problems with the drain.
The first night the old elevator did not worked and we had to use some very steep steps and with problems with my knee this was not fun.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the square.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjorn_F631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel has an ideal location right on the Main Square. Some reviewers has mentioned the noise from the Square, however my room (not on the hotel front) was quiet and there was no noise to speak of. I'd definately stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel has a brilliant location being in the central market square close to all attractions.

It is very definitely only a two star hotel and our room and corridors needed a very good lick of paint. Nevertheless, for a budget hotel it is very reasonable. We had a room with a lovely view over the square. It was very quiet though may be noisier at weekends. The breakfast in a traditional Dutch room on the ground floor, also used as a café, was simple but very .good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 883sallyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The best feature of this hotel is its position on Grote Markt, you could not get more central. Beds are a little on the soft side but OK. The square can be a bit noisy but the excellent view makes up for it.

Room Tip: Choose room 20 for a panoramic view of the square.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glynn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
685 reviews
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
248 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Raecks
Hotel Raecks
#11 of 12 in Haarlem
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Grote Markt 10, 2011 RD Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range: $82 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amadeus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Haarlem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing