We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant locaion,budge hotel”
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brilliant locaion,budge hotel”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel has a brilliant location being in the central market square close to all attractions.

It is very definitely only a two star hotel and our room and corridors needed a very good lick of paint. Nevertheless, for a budget hotel it is very reasonable. We had a room with a lovely view over the square. It was very quiet though may be noisier at weekends. The breakfast in a traditional Dutch room on the ground floor, also used as a café, was simple but very .good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 883sallyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    61
    63
    27
    10
See reviews for
11
72
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The best feature of this hotel is its position on Grote Markt, you could not get more central. Beds are a little on the soft side but OK. The square can be a bit noisy but the excellent view makes up for it.

Room Tip: Choose room 20 for a panoramic view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We arrived to find I had booked the hotel for the day before and had not caught my error. Mike arranged for us to stay the 4 nights we thought we had booked without additional charges. The breakfast is very good, served in the restaurant downstairs, and the hotel is located right on the Grote Square. We had a great visit, saw all the sights in Amsterdam and used Haarlem as our home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Co Down
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Haarlem is a wonderful place to visit, with a huge amount of life in the historic square where the Amadeus sits. That's the good news. Unfortunately, we discovered the service from the owner was less than overjoyed, and the outdated and worn decor left much to be desired. We stayed one night in the attic room at the top of the hotel. The great view did not make up for the tiny space or the swing door on the minute bathroom. Stay for the location and view by all means, but don't have high expectations of anything else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Haarlem hotels

Guadalajara,Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days,while visiting Amsterdam and the area.We loved Haarlem, a smaller version of Amsterdam and so much more peaceful and quiet.
The hotel is on the main square and when the weather is agreeable,you can sit outside and eat and drink while watching the people in the square.
The breakfasts were very good and set you off well for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerekFGuadalajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Upon arrival at Frankfurt AM my friends picked me up and we jetted off to the NL. Stayed at the Amadeus for the day and had a great time.
The proprietors are extremely friendly and gave us advice on local areas of interest upon check in. I believe my share of the cost was €40.
Bedding was ample, bathroom had the usual sundries you would expect while traveling. Everything in the room, and downstairs was kept extremely clean.

I awoke the next morning to the sounds of men shouting directions while tents were being erected in the square. The Market was opening soon, and what a awesome sight-you could soak in the colors all day-Flowers (It was Tulip season), fresh produce, meats, trinkets etc. on display and itching for some Euros from the crowd.

I'll be back, that's for sure.

Room Tip: Enjoy the stair climb ha!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovingdon,UK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here recently and was not disappointed,
Very good location on Grote Markt with easy access to Haarlems many bars and restaurants.
10 minute stroll to Haarlem central station.
Breakfast was really good with fresh produce and the hotel cat Spikey was a good companion.
Price was reasonable.... all things considered. Would happily return.

Room Tip: Try to get a square facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyblueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
246 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Carillon
Hotel Carillon
#12 of 12 in Haarlem
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Property: Hotel Amadeus
Address: Grote Markt 10, 2011 RD Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amadeus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Haarlem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing