We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“everything you need for 1/2 the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“everything you need for 1/2 the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

found this hotel by reading Rick Steves Amsterdam book.Checked prices of other similarly located hotels and Amadeus was close to 1/2 the price ! It's a "mom & pop "hotel. with restaurant below the hotel.Excellent food. The hotel staff were very accommodating. I had to leave early on New Years day and Nadia the guest svc. lady came in early just to open up the restaurant so I could take my suitcases down by the lift (located at the rear of the restaurant). Otherwise the lobby to the hotel is on the level above the restaurant with lift starting one level up. As long as the restaurant is open you don't have to take any stairs to the rooms.The rooms have radiators so you can control the heat or open the windows. The breakfast buffet is excellent (included with room).Great cheese,ham,fresh eggs,latte,teas,cocoa,milk,juice,breads,fresh yogurt.You can play with "Spikey" the cat if you are homesick for your own pet. The hotel is located in the perfect place for exploring all the surrounding sites.walking distance to the train,Teyler's Museum,meat market bldg,the great church (just across the square). Some days there are vendors in the square just below the hotel. You can sit outside (from the restaurant) and watch all the activity passing by.No auto traffi is allowed in the square.Many bldgs. are from 1500 to 1600 's . Amadeus was built in 1588. The hotel staff are polite,courteous,patient, and I will stay there again when I return. Holland is a great place to spend a vacation. Haarlem is spotlessly clean and everyone is very friendly

Room Tip: room 24o n 2nd floor very quiet..no view (roof next door). room 34 on 3rd floor big windows can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottsmarble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    56
    56
    25
    10
See reviews for
11
63
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Amadeus is right on the square in Haarlem which made it perfect for our arrival during the Christmas market. Haarlem is a quiet respite from the bustle of Amsterdam and the hotel is too, for the most part. I say that because our room, cute as it was, was next to the lift.

That aside, the service was friendly, the breakfast adequate and the cat adorable. Felt like a true Dutch experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dramady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
239 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

In my view it doesn't get any better than this in terms of location. I lived in Haarlem 13 years ago and was keen to go on a bit of a trip down memory lane. I would normally never book on the main square in any town, but this was deliberate and very enjoyable. I had a single room and if there was a cat in there, I'd have to go outside to swing it, but it was fine for my purpose. The bathroom was very small, but there's enough hot water. My room didn't face the square and I'd recommend that because the church bell is really very loud, and so is the noise from the restaurants and cafes around the square. The breakfast consisted of a boiled egg, cheese, ham, bread and spreads, yoghurt, buffet style, so as much as you want really. I couldn't get the wi-fi to work and I think it's because you have to pay for it by the half-hour but I'm not 100% sure. In any event. KPN has free wi-fi in many areas in Haarlem and there's a hotspot at the train station too, so if you need to do a quick check of mails it's adequate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarveyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 night break on November 16th. Don't have too high expectations but be pleasently surprised. It really is the best location for Haarlem and the owners and staff are fantastic, we really had a great time. The rooms are adequate,very clean and the beds are so comfortable, had a job getting out of them in the mornings!! The restaurant below called 'The Square' has great food and one really doesn't have to go out looking for a meal. We will be staying here again in the new year.

Room Tip: Smokers ask for room at back of hotel as fire escape handy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patsy186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel Amadeus is located in Haarlem, a 15 minute train ride outside of Amsterdam. Haarlem is what Americans stereotypically might invision a small European town to look like, beautiful and picturesque. Staying there is a great way to see other things outside if Amsterdam, and the people are more friendly. Check out the Corrie Ten Boon house, which is less than 5 minute walk away and free.

The hotel is located in the Grote Market square. Rooms are nice size. Ask for the rooms facing the square. It gives a pretty view of the market and town.

The owner is nice and has a dry sense if humor and is willing to accomdate. He has a friendly cat who loves to be petted.

Internet in the rooms sometimes cuts in and out, but it usually lasts only for a couple seconds. Payment is due upfront, which is a bit different, but it makes check out really easy.

It is a great place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BBreeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Valley, NS
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Amadeus Hotel in Haarlem for a 3 night weekend in early October, 2012. We chose the Amadeus mainly based on the recommendation of “RS” (a famous American travel writer), and did not regret the decision. The Amadeus is located in the Grote Markt (Market Square) above a café, diagonally across from the Town Hall. It is about a 5 – 10 minute walk straight down a series of connected streets from the train station. It is an efficient, comfortable, bed and breakfast hotel at a good price. The one caveat that must be mentioned is that the reception and hotel is on the first floor (second floor for North Americans) and there is no lift to this level. Once you reach the reception there is a small lift to the remaining floors.

Our room was on the 4th floor; it was adequate for our stay. It was not large but not really small either, there was a queen bed, two chairs, two night stands, a coffee/tea stand, a wall mounted TV, and enough space to set our two suitcases. As we have experienced in other European hotels that have been converted to ensuite accommodations, the bathroom was quite small. There was a good shower stall, but you either had to stand sideways to the sink to wash your face or open the folding doors, overall, not a big deal.

The breakfast area was on the 1st floor in the reception area, I suspect that it might have been a restaurant at one time based on it decor and fixtures. The breakfast choices were good and the hostess/morning receptionist (I suspect one of the owners?) was happy to make me coffee. Perhaps one of the best selling points was the view from the breakfast window. It looks out onto the Grote Markt and on various days we sat and watched the Saturday and Sunday Markets being set up and people going to work or school on Monday morning. In addition, the chiming of the St. Bavokerk’s clock was an added bonus (although unobtrusive). We would heartily recommend the Amadeus Hotel to anyone looking to stay in Haarlem, which was a great alternative to staying in the much bigger Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Valleyguy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Carillon
Hotel Carillon
#12 of 12 in Haarlem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Property: Hotel Amadeus
Address: Grote Markt 10, 2011 RD Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amadeus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Haarlem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing