We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quite and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Lion D'Or

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is 45 mins away from the airpot, close to the metro station and bus station. train to Amsterdaam city centre takes only 25mins from the hotel. staff is friendly and helpful. breakfast was really good and there was a lot of options. the room was huge and clean. enough tv channels. Bar lounge in hotel. Def going to stay at this hotel next time i visit Holland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabatho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    83
    32
    4
    5
See reviews for
28
73
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The West Country
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of days and was not sure what to expect. The location is very good as it is adjacent to central station, bus station and taxis. It is a ten minute walk to the market square, shops and restaurants. Check in was friendly and efficient. The decor in the public spaces looks a little old and somewhat gloomy. However, the rooms are clean and comfortable with free wi-fi. I liked this hotel as it had something of a family feel to it. So, if you can get past the public area decor I think you will have a comfortable and welcoming stay. Only had breakfast at the hotel which was satisfactory. For a business traveller it is situated in a great location, priced well with friendly and efficient staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWestCountryNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I arrived by bus ( Zuid Tangent nr.300) with a direct connection from Schiphol airport till the front of the hotel. The hotel does look very attractive from the outside already. Located on the border of the city center and 10 minutes by train from the Amsterdam city center.
My room is very well maintained, clean and air conditioned. Bathroom really up top date.
Best place to stay and to see some more from The Netherlands. Staff really very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is an experience!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the front can be noisier if there is something special at the Station square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard_fenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is really a 3 1/2, but not quite a 4. The rooms are small, but clean. The bathroom was decently equipped and also clean. Windows opened for fresh air. Breakfast was excellent and the dinner we ate there was also good. It is well located on a large square, very near the train station and underground bike parking lot. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatz2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I've waited a while before writing this in case my thoughts and feelings changed - however they haven't.

I travel to Haarlem regularly but, until this year, hadn't tried this hotel. It's in a really good position as you can almost fall out of the station and into the hotel. It's a bit quieter than the hotels in the town centre which is about 10 minutes' walk away.

I arrived on a very hot July day after a long and convoluted rail journey. I knew it was too early for my room but asked if there was somewhere I could change and cool down as I was going out straight away. I was directed to the Ladies' toilets. This was hopeless as there wasn't even room to open my suitcase let alone trying to change clothes in a toilet cubicle so I gave up. I left my luggage with them and went out for the day.

When I returned in the evening, I was told my luggage was taken up to my room which I thought was nice of them. My room was tiny, which was OK for one person, right up the top of the hotel (there's a lift) looking out over the station square. However it only had a shower. Their website specifically stated that all superior rooms had baths so I had particularly booked one, paying extra, as I need a bath, not a shower, to help my back. I went straight down to reception to be told that there were no spare rooms though there may be one the next night. I tried to explain that I had booked and paid for a superior room so I should have got a room with a bath but she seemed not to understand. I said not to bother about moving the next day for one night as I was too upset by the situation.

I would like to say that the reception people were really pleasant, it's just that they seemed unable to help.

Breakfast was good with a reasonable selection in a pleasant room overlooking the square.

The hotel is probably a bit better than I remember but I felt so let down over the room that it's coloured my impressions and I shall be going back to the town centre for my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTLiondor, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Lion D'Or, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We are so sorry to read the comment in this review and fully understand the disappointment of our guest. The guest did not get what she paid for and this is unacceptable. At that specific moment, late in the evening, it may have been impossible to offer a room with a bath, However, this remains the responsability of the hotel. The guest indicates she is a regular visitor to Haarlem. We have her mail address and will invite her for a complimentary overnight stay in our hotel to make up for all previous inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I found this hotel to be in a great location if you are visiting Amsterdam and want to stay out of the city. The hotel is in the square of the Haarlem train station. It is 15 minutes by train away from the central station in Amsterdam. The breakfast is included in the price and the manager, Dirk is very knowledgeable. The rooms are fairly large and updated. It is also more convenient to stay closer to the train station because the center of town is very congested. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rasel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I am surprised to read other reviews of this hotel saying that the rooms had been recently renovated. Maybe they skipped my room! The doors were all scratched and paint on the walls was dirty. My room had two old, saggy tin mattresses pushed together. My back was killing me by the 2nd day. Location across from the train station was convenient and breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the ally behind the hotel, and it was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmonteFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#9 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Lion D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Lion D'Or

Property: Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
Address: Kruisweg 3436, 2011 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Lion D'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Tulip Lion D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Haarlem
Golden Tulip Haarlem
Haarlem Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing