We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Lion D'Or

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Tickhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel with 1st class customer service. Highly recommended. Room was nice and clean. Could do with some modernising but well looked after. We checked in for a wedding and the hotel arranged an early check in so could get ready for the service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    76
    30
    4
    5
See reviews for
25
66
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diest, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It is the second time we stayed in the hotel. It offers a good base from which to visit the cosy city of Haarlem and combine it with a trip to the nearby seaside and especially Amsterdam which is only 20 minutes away by train. Compared with the poor value proposition of hotels in Amsterdam this makes the hotel a very attractive alternative from which to visit Amsterdam in my opinion. I don't see any real drawbacks to the hotel. The parking situation is not ideal but hotel staff explains it well. The rooms offer good sleep quality which I consider very important. Good price/quality for The Netherlands.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Haarlem in stead of staying in Amsterdam. The close proximity to the railway station and the center of Haarlem makes it a very convenient place to stay and start your daily travels. Haarlem is a beautiful city smaller and more relaxed than Amsterdam which allows you for an comfortable retreat. The commute to Amsterdam is 4 times every hour and takes a 15-20 minutes only (3,90 Euro fare per person one way).
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful in pointing out practicalities - such as a free parking space just one train-station down the line to Amsterdam. The rooms are tidy, have a safe and the beds extremely comfortable. The rooms are quiet, the breakfeast quite OK though not extraordinary.
We paid 263 Euro for two persons for two nights incl breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoekLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have stayed here may times but never written a review. The golden tulip is in a decent location - just out of the centre of Haarlem (righ next to station and about 5 mins walk from main square). The rooms are basic, but clean and with everything you need. Price is reasonable for Halland (c95 euro a night). The place has a decent small bar and restaurant. Breakfast is also decent (help yourself to all the usual continental breakfast things).

All in all you cant fault this place at all - its not luxury by any means - but does exactly what you would want it to do if your in Haarlem for either business or pleasure.

Location is great as i stated above - its right next to the station (although you cant her trains all night) with a direct line to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: There atre 3 floors - all are similar so no real advice needed on room choice as there is a lift to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danweigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This lovely little hotel is located by the Haarlem train and bus station. Busses and trains run frequently to the airport and Amsterdam, and there are good connections to other places in the Netherlands.
Our room was large, comfortably furnished, and immaculate. The bathroom had the longest tub I've ever seen, and it too was immaculate.
An excellent buffet breakfast is served in the dining room and the front desk staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We enjoyed 6 nights at this excellent and well run hotel.We were in a beautifully renovated junior suite #2 overlooking the newly built square and the train station. The room and bed were most comfortable. Breakfast was of excellent quality with a variety of fresh fruit,freshly baked buns,cold meats and bacon and sausage There were facilities for scrambing eggs and making toast The coffee was excellent..Dirk at the front desk was kind, friendly and very helpful. It was good to see and talk to the restaurant and bar manager Ron again,after 5 years when we last visited. Ron spent his early years in Canada and still follows the Canadian sport scene. Breakfast staff were lovely.After 20 years of European travel, we find Haarlem to be a beautiful,friendly small city with plenty of character, and yet so conveniently close to busy and bustling Amsterdam.Highly recommended.
Marjorie and John McIlroy Victoria BC Canada.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WandMMcIlroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was working in Sloterdijk and needed easy access to Schiphol. Hotel staff are very friendly and I send them my best wishes for looking after me for 18 months.

The rooms are well serviced and the breakfasts are spot on. If you would like something different for dinner, ask Fokke and he will arrange whatever you would like.

An ideal location right next to the railway station and buses. Bus takes about 40 minutes to the front door of Schiphol and the train about the same ( change at Sloterdijk ).

Don't rush for either forms of transport as, if you miss the train, there will be another one 10 minutes later. Buses are about every 10 minutes.

The location of the hotel is perfectly suited for a 10 minute walk into the town centre where I am told by my wife, the shopping is superb.

Phil Hindmarch, Aberdeen

Room Tip: Room 6 South side and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Die Raeckse Hotel
Die Raeckse Hotel
#9 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Lion D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Lion D'Or

Property: Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
Address: Kruisweg 3436, 2011 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Lion D'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Tulip Lion D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Haarlem
Golden Tulip Haarlem
Haarlem Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing