We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business Hotel - looking forward to the completed renovations...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton Square Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2010

the hotel is walk away from "downtown haarlem" with lots of great restaurants and great shopping.

the hotel rooms are undergoing renovations which was badly needed. Have stayed both in the "old" and the renovated rooms - the renovated rooms make this hotel a great hotel to stay at.

mostly for business.

Breakfast is good, but best when the send the chef out to cook the orders in the "in restaurant kitchen" - not sure how they decide when to do this, but if not it is a buffet style breakfast with an OK selection.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 698 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2010

Spent 2 nights here recently. Booked the 'honeymoon/lovers break' as it was the cheapest option. Similar, if not same price as a room, but with a free minibar and a few other 'perks' that probably saved us £60 over the 2 days. Be warned however, that your bed will be covered in Rose petals!

The hotel was clean, the staff pleasant, the breakfast sensational, so ideal for a 2 day sightseeing tour. Its close enough to the town centre without being too distant. I read the reviews about it being miles from the train station and it probably is, but we took a taxi from Schiphol for 50 euros to the door and took the bus back (some 5-10 mins gentle walk from the hotel) for 8 euros for both of us. Clearly a far cheaper option and it drives on its OWN ROAD all the way to the airport, so NO traffic jams watching the taxi meter.

Thats it. Decent hotel at a decent price, in a great little Dutch town. Oh and theres a cheeky little coffee shop 150 yds round the corner, should that be of interest.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surreytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

friendly staff, nice breakfast buffet and complimentary whiskey and cognac in the room.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thijsbakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We arrived in Haarlem mid Friday afternoon without any hotel booked. Phoned hotel and they had a weekend rate of 99 euros per night including breakfast so I said yes please and from the moment we arrived, we felt very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and we got an updated room with a balcony. The Hotel is about five minutes walk to the shopping streets and there is a car park below, but beware, it is operated by the city not the hotel and the rates are exortionate . If you are staying 2 days or more buy a weekly parking pass. Breakfast was of a good standard with an reasonably extensive buffet.
Hotel has a whisky bar which was good to round the evenings off. Free use of business centre was a nice touch - more hotels should try it!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southcoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

This hotel was very well situated for both visitors to Haarlem & Amsterdam which is within easy travelling distance (approx 15 minutes away). The public areas, restaurant and well stocked separate Whisky Bar are all beautifully furnished. We stayed for 4 nights over New Year but only ate in the restaurant once. The food was very tasty albeit quite highly priced for rather small portions. There are some very good little restaurants to be found nearby including a wonderful traditional Dutch restaurant called De Wandelaar which we found down a side street. All in all the Carlton was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fyrishsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Good central position in Haarlem, which is a better bet than staying in Amsterdam. Clean, if a bit old fashioned hotel. Underground parking which is not free. Shops and bars a minutes walk away, plus the bus stops to take you either into Amsterdam or to Zandefort (beach). Lots of places to eat close by.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Due to family visits in Haarlem, we have stayed several times now at the Carlton Square, so obviously we rate the hotel very highly.

It is an excellent hotel and although we use it for leisure I imagine it is also perfect for business - we always see several businessmen staying, not to mention British Airways flight crews.

Not ideally located for Amsterdam (though its easy enough to get to and a hotel of this class would cost much more there) it is very nicely located for Haarlem, right by a lovely park in one direction and within walking distance of the shops and old Haarlem in the other.

However, the reason I am specifically reviewing the hotel this time, apart from it being long overdue, is to single out a young woman working the reception desk called Sheila.

The short story is that my wife arrived two days ahead of me, and on checking in, found to her horror that she had somehow, somewhere lost her passport, an obviously upsetting and distressing experience.

Sheila was magnificent, taking control of the situation and liaising with the local taxi company and even the police while my wife contacted the French embassy to report it lost or stolen.

When my wife returned two hours later from the consul virtually in tears, there was Sheila to meet her with an enormous smile and a genuine embrace with the news that a subsequent passenger in the taxi had found it and turned it over to the taxi company; and it was on its way.

Of course most good hotel employees anywhere would be expected to be helpful in situations like this, but Sheila^s response was truly exceptional, and for the rest of our week long stay she always rewarded us with a wonderful smile and a genuine enquiry as to how we were when she was on duty.

Carlton Group; if you are looking to make an emloyee of the year award look no further. Her name is Sheila and she works in Haarlem.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicaldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 13 in Haarlem
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 13 in Haarlem
58 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 13 in Haarlem
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Square Hotel

Address: Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
#3 Business Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range: $116 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Square is an intimate 4-star Haarlem hotel in the heart of the charming city of Haarlem, combining international allure with luxurious ambiance and genuine hospitality. As you walk through the front door of our Haarlem hotel you will immediately feel drawn in by the staff, design and interior. The warmth of the cosy lounge and crackling fire in the hearth instantly give our guests that 'home away from home' feeling.Carlton Square, with 122 hotelrooms, is situated in the heart of the shopping district. Only 10 km from Schiphol International Airport and the Amsterdam RAI Congress Centre, the Carlton Square Hotel is located in Haarlem city centre just off one of the main roads leading to Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Square Haarlem
Hotel Carlton Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing