We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Square Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed January 9, 2010

This hotel was very well situated for both visitors to Haarlem & Amsterdam which is within easy travelling distance (approx 15 minutes away). The public areas, restaurant and well stocked separate Whisky Bar are all beautifully furnished. We stayed for 4 nights over New Year but only ate in the restaurant once. The food was very tasty albeit quite highly priced for rather small portions. There are some very good little restaurants to be found nearby including a wonderful traditional Dutch restaurant called De Wandelaar which we found down a side street. All in all the Carlton was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fyrishsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    289
    69
    12
    8
See reviews for
56
306
14
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Good central position in Haarlem, which is a better bet than staying in Amsterdam. Clean, if a bit old fashioned hotel. Underground parking which is not free. Shops and bars a minutes walk away, plus the bus stops to take you either into Amsterdam or to Zandefort (beach). Lots of places to eat close by.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
french antilles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Due to family visits in Haarlem, we have stayed several times now at the Carlton Square, so obviously we rate the hotel very highly.

It is an excellent hotel and although we use it for leisure I imagine it is also perfect for business - we always see several businessmen staying, not to mention British Airways flight crews.

Not ideally located for Amsterdam (though its easy enough to get to and a hotel of this class would cost much more there) it is very nicely located for Haarlem, right by a lovely park in one direction and within walking distance of the shops and old Haarlem in the other.

However, the reason I am specifically reviewing the hotel this time, apart from it being long overdue, is to single out a young woman working the reception desk called Sheila.

The short story is that my wife arrived two days ahead of me, and on checking in, found to her horror that she had somehow, somewhere lost her passport, an obviously upsetting and distressing experience.

Sheila was magnificent, taking control of the situation and liaising with the local taxi company and even the police while my wife contacted the French embassy to report it lost or stolen.

When my wife returned two hours later from the consul virtually in tears, there was Sheila to meet her with an enormous smile and a genuine embrace with the news that a subsequent passenger in the taxi had found it and turned it over to the taxi company; and it was on its way.

Of course most good hotel employees anywhere would be expected to be helpful in situations like this, but Sheila^s response was truly exceptional, and for the rest of our week long stay she always rewarded us with a wonderful smile and a genuine enquiry as to how we were when she was on duty.

Carlton Group; if you are looking to make an emloyee of the year award look no further. Her name is Sheila and she works in Haarlem.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicaldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
463 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

This hotel is located on the edge of medieval centre of Haarlem. So a good choice for seeing the famous Grote Kerk or Frans Hals Museum, both of which are within a short walk. There is a (pay) car park with direct access to the hotel.

The hotel has a quiet terrace which is popular with the locals. But the service is often very slow. This is strange because the rest of the hotel has excellent service. I haven't eaten in the restaurant for a few years since it is a bit quiet for my taste and lacks atmosphere.

Highlight of the hotel is the whisky bar. Apart from a large selection of whiskys the bar offers a good selection of light meals which are definitely above the average standard produced by hotels in the Netherlands. The service is outstanding and both regular bartenders are great characters. When an important football match is on it will be shown on a large screen and the atmosphere is always good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Good size room and bathroom with necessary amenities. Fully stocked fridge with snacks and drinks available at no charge for upgraded rooms. Easy walking distance to area restaurants and town center for shopping.

Did not eat in the restaurant, but did have a drink and snack in the Whiskey Bar. Nice atmosphere and good bar menu for a light meal.

Friendly service and no complaints. Good choice for traveling for business or for a few days of pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank txfamtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
234 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

The hotel has updated the rooms however forgot to modernize the bathroom as well.

Besides that we had a good stay and were surprised by the nondutch level of service. As we missed breakfast we called roomservice to check if it might be possible to get a sandwich upstairs and were surprised by a full breakfast, cooked by one of the waiters. Very different from the average Dutch service!!

  • Liked — The service of the staff members
  • Disliked — The outdated bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Moramare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

stayed one night. parking garage not with hotel, but you can get a week's pass, better deal than per day. walking distance from center of haarlem, not bad driving distance to zandvoort shore. from hotel, you can catch the city bus and get dropped off at main train station and about 15 mins train ride to amsterdam. if you like cold drinks, most fridges in european hotels i've stayed in are tiny. ice is available but slooooow... takes holding a small cup for a few minutes to fill it up. staff dealt with was friendly. comfy bed with 4 pillows for queen sz. balconies. not bad for price!

  • Liked — decent size room, comfy beds
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyg1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
52 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 12 in Haarlem
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Square Hotel

Property: Carlton Square Hotel
Address: Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Best Value Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
#3 Business Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Square is an intimate 4-star Haarlem hotel in the heart of the charming city of Haarlem, combining international allure with luxurious ambiance and genuine hospitality. As you walk through the front door of our Haarlem hotel you will immediately feel drawn in by the staff, design and interior. The warmth of the cosy lounge and crackling fire in the hearth instantly give our guests that 'home away from home' feeling.Carlton Square, with 122 hotelrooms, is situated in the heart of the shopping district. Only 10 km from Schiphol International Airport and the Amsterdam RAI Congress Centre, the Carlton Square Hotel is located in Haarlem city centre just off one of the main roads leading to Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Square Haarlem
Hotel Carlton Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing