We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value -” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Square Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Carlton Square Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value -”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is located outside Amsterdam. We stayed here and took the train into Amsterdam. It is a great value and has an outstanding staff! The rooms are clean and the area is beautiful!

The only negative I have is that, instead of one single mattress, the bed had two separate ones. It was comfortable sleeping; just not comfortable for snuggling.

Room Tip: The executive rooms have a complimentary mini bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Iris,

Thank you very much for the lovely review. I am so happy to learn about your satisfaction!

We do have beds with 1 matrass as well. If you consider to stay with us again in the future, please let our reception staff know about your preference!
Hope to see you back soon!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    282
    69
    12
    8
See reviews for
53
301
13
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Very nice hotel. What I really appreciated was the service of the nice woman at the front desk. She recommended a great restaurant and helped us with all sorts of questions.

The hotel is a short jaunt from everything in the beautiful town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Sean,

Thank you for your flattering review, I have forwarded your appreciation about the restaurant to Lisa! Sincerely hope to welcome you soon again.

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Haarlem is a lovely little town, with all the charm of Amsterdam and none of the frenetic craziness! The Carlton Hotel is well positioned for tourists - an easy walk to the shopping area. While this cannot be described as a luxurious or boutique hotel (probably a US three star),it was more than adequate and good value. The rooms (we had an executive room) are a nice size. Our double bed was actually two twins with a foam mattress topper - quite comfortable. The bathroom had recently been redone - it was small, with only a shower, but quite adequate. I loved the free minibar, with alcoholic drinks and snacks included. Breakfast was standard hotel fare - adequate but not exceptional. This hotel seems to be a favorite for large tour groups, so was sometimes very full. They seemed to cope, however. Reception staff were obliging and friendly. We rented their bikes one day - they were in excellent condition and reasonable at €15 per day.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BigBree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear BigBree!

Thank you for your beautiful and detailed recommendation an being an Ambassador for the nice city of Haarlem!!
Hope to welcome you back one day soon.

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We went to Amsterdam, with another couple, we had amazing time, which began with our stay at the FABULOUS Carlton Square Hotel, the rooms were spot on. The staff could not do enough for you. When you stay there you have to visit the Wiskey Bar, they had us try a 18 year old Wiskey, which I am a champagne girl, but it went down smoothly. We went on canal rides, we had a meal at the restaurant around the corner, I must say thinking of going again for my birthday in July. If you have not stayed at this hotel you will not be disappointed, you have a lot to see in the area, Museums, cathedrals, and it is about 20mins away from the hussle and bustle of the city area.

Room Tip: Everything you need or want is in Haarlem, so we just stayed in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 338SharonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Sharon,

I have really enjoyed reading the kind words of a real ‘Champagne girl’! Hope to welcome you back in July again!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great hotel, always excellent service and ideally located a short walk from plenty of dining and drinking places in Haarlem. I'm a regular guest here and always enjoy my stay. There is a nice restaurant and bar in case you prefer to stay in house.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SphereHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dearest Spherehopper,

I am so happy to read about your positive experiences! Your hapiness makes me happy too!
Wishing you well,and hope to welcome you back very soon!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel down town Haarlem. Try restaurant Parck if you visit Haarlem.
Haarlem is just 15 minutes from Amsterdam and Zandvoort beach.
Every saturday and sunday nice markets.
Ask reception about what to do

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lande75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the compliments. We will share the recommendation with our neighbors restaurant Parck.
Hopefully we can welcome you again in Haarlem.

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed with 6 persons for the easter weekend and had a very pleasent stay.
The rooms, the food, the service and the location were all very good for reasonable prices.
There is a large parking garage unterneath the hotel and the old citycenter of Haarlem is just a 10 minute walk away.
Also the whiskey bar in the hotel is worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Jaap T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Jan Jaap,

Thank you for your kind words about our facilties and location.
And great that you share this with the travel community.

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#9 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Square Hotel

Property: Carlton Square Hotel
Address: Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
#3 Business Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Square is an intimate 4-star Haarlem hotel in the heart of the charming city of Haarlem, combining international allure with luxurious ambiance and genuine hospitality. As you walk through the front door of our Haarlem hotel you will immediately feel drawn in by the staff, design and interior. The warmth of the cosy lounge and crackling fire in the hearth instantly give our guests that 'home away from home' feeling.Carlton Square, with 122 hotelrooms, is situated in the heart of the shopping district. Only 10 km from Schiphol International Airport and the Amsterdam RAI Congress Centre, the Carlton Square Hotel is located in Haarlem city centre just off one of the main roads leading to Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Square Haarlem
Hotel Carlton Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing