We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quiet efficiency, big rooms, underground parking, fast internet, and a park across the way: perfect stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlton Square Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
303 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Quiet efficiency, big rooms, underground parking, fast internet, and a park across the way: perfect stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We suddenly had to find a room in Haarlem and we found that Carlton Square had a room available that evening. As we were driving in the rain, it was a pleasant surprise to find that the hotel had underground parking. The parking has a direct access to the hotel.

As we were very tired, the front desk very quickly checked us in - must have not been more than 5 minutes! Drenched and cold, this kind of service really comes appreciated.

Then room was large with a complimentary bar - whiskey, peanuts, and brandy. We were really pleasantly surprised. And finally, the internet. Quick, no fuss and free.

I would love to rate this hotel as excellent but it still lacks that charm to make one really feel welcome and at home. Maybe because our visit was very quick. Maybe next time.

But definitely I will recommend busy business people to check in here. And for those of you who love to jog, a park across the way will give you a nice place to run.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Try the Executive Room - it is large with the bed separate from the working desk and sofa. It has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    267
    66
    12
    8
See reviews for
48
278
12
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

What's great hotel!! The room was of an excellent standard and the bathroom was immaculate. It had a bath and a shower. The reception staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We hired a car and the underground parking was so convenient and cheap. Just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel are some nice restaurants and shops. All in all one of the nicest hotels we've been to and we'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D-sword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My coworker and I want to send our sincere appreciation, gratitude, and recognition of an outstanding employee of the Carlton Square Hotel in Haarlem, Jan Visser.

From the moment we arrived, Jan did so much to make us feel welcome to the area and to the hotel. Jan went out of his way to welcome us as guests but, even more importantly, as friends. He recommended local attractions, made reservations for fine dining, provided directions, and even taught us Dutch history. He exceeded our every expectation all while fulfilling his normal duties and serving other guests.

The warm, personal welcome we received everyday was inviting. We were in your home, and you made it our home away from home. These extra courtesies helped us to relax and enjoy the trip even while working the stressful daily grind. We genuinely looked forward to returning to the Carlton Square at the end of each work day.

We wish your company success as you continue the tradition of making individuals feel welcome. As professionals who travel about fifty percent of the time, we found the hospitality at Carlton Square in Haarlem unlike anywhere else when compared to previous business trips.

We look forward to our return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
317 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Close to the shopping area and all central locations and facilities in Haarlem, four stars lives up to it's reputation, just a bit old fashioned. Good facilities, parking nearby and the hotel elevator goes straight into the parking garage, you just have to know which exit you need. Excellent staff, very attentive and knowledgable, pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room and how quiet it is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel was clean and appeared to have been recently updated, the bathrooms were lovely and new, the shower in particular was great. We slept well, the bed was softer than usual but not too soft and was definitely comfortable. The blackout curtains were a bonus, too. There was a nice flat screen television, however it only had about 3 English channels that I could find.
We didn't eat anything as it was all priced a little high for me, breakfast in particular.
The location is decent for walking into town and having a look around, but a little far, if I'm being picky, if you plan on walking to the station most days to get into Amsterdam.
The park that the hotel is by is simply wonderful and was nice to walk through to see some deer, goats and even a horse!
If you happen to be staying in room 221 tonight (the 15th of October) we left behind a couple of bottles of Heinekin in the mini fridge, help yourself...you're welcome!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicheleE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallington surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend at the end of August. It is very close to the centre of Haarlem and a short train journey into the centre of Amsterdam.The transport system is next to none and very easy to undertsand.Haarlem is a very pretty town with some lovely shops and restaurants. The hotel room was one of the nicest that we have ever stayed in. We upgraded to the Executive room and was worth every penny. It was imaculate in everyway - with a complimentary bar, dressing gown and slippers. I can't praise this hotel high enough and would highly reccommend it to anyone travelling to Holland and would not thibk twice about returning.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie0090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We chose this hotel as it was close to family that we were visiting in Haarlem. It's right near the centre & in easy walking distance of the station too. It's about 30 mins by train into Amsterdam. Haarlem is a very pretty little place & definitely worth exploring. The staff were friendly enough. We didn't have any meals at the hotel so cannot comment on the food. The rooms were very nice & had all the amenities that one would expect from a 4 star hotel. Really happy with our stay here of 2 nights & would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and its surroundings and hope to welcome you back in one of our Carlton hotels in the near future!

Kind regards,
Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#7 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Square Hotel

Property: Carlton Square Hotel
Address: Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
#3 Business Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Square is an intimate 4-star Haarlem hotel in the heart of the charming city of Haarlem, combining international allure with luxurious ambiance and genuine hospitality. As you walk through the front door of our Haarlem hotel you will immediately feel drawn in by the staff, design and interior. The warmth of the cosy lounge and crackling fire in the hearth instantly give our guests that 'home away from home' feeling.Carlton Square, with 122 hotelrooms, is situated in the heart of the shopping district. Only 10 km from Schiphol International Airport and the Amsterdam RAI Congress Centre, the Carlton Square Hotel is located in Haarlem city centre just off one of the main roads leading to Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carlton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Square Haarlem
Hotel Carlton Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing