We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and comfy stay in Haarlem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Square Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice and comfy stay in Haarlem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel was clean and appeared to have been recently updated, the bathrooms were lovely and new, the shower in particular was great. We slept well, the bed was softer than usual but not too soft and was definitely comfortable. The blackout curtains were a bonus, too. There was a nice flat screen television, however it only had about 3 English channels that I could find.
We didn't eat anything as it was all priced a little high for me, breakfast in particular.
The location is decent for walking into town and having a look around, but a little far, if I'm being picky, if you plan on walking to the station most days to get into Amsterdam.
The park that the hotel is by is simply wonderful and was nice to walk through to see some deer, goats and even a horse!
If you happen to be staying in room 221 tonight (the 15th of October) we left behind a couple of bottles of Heinekin in the mini fridge, help yourself...you're welcome!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicheleE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    282
    69
    12
    8
See reviews for
52
301
13
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wallington surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend at the end of August. It is very close to the centre of Haarlem and a short train journey into the centre of Amsterdam.The transport system is next to none and very easy to undertsand.Haarlem is a very pretty town with some lovely shops and restaurants. The hotel room was one of the nicest that we have ever stayed in. We upgraded to the Executive room and was worth every penny. It was imaculate in everyway - with a complimentary bar, dressing gown and slippers. I can't praise this hotel high enough and would highly reccommend it to anyone travelling to Holland and would not thibk twice about returning.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie0090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
171 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We chose this hotel as it was close to family that we were visiting in Haarlem. It's right near the centre & in easy walking distance of the station too. It's about 30 mins by train into Amsterdam. Haarlem is a very pretty little place & definitely worth exploring. The staff were friendly enough. We didn't have any meals at the hotel so cannot comment on the food. The rooms were very nice & had all the amenities that one would expect from a 4 star hotel. Really happy with our stay here of 2 nights & would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and its surroundings and hope to welcome you back in one of our Carlton hotels in the near future!

Kind regards,
Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on and off for the 10 weeks we were in Holland. I was working nearby so I wanted a hotel close to shops and amenities to keep my wife entertained. This hotel is very comfortable and close to old Haarlem.

The breakfast was hearty, but no egg station so you had scrambled or hard boiled as your choice. The rest was excellent though. The restaurant for and evening meal was limited, but there are so many great restaurants in the city you are spoilt for choice.

The rooms are good, but a little aged. We managed to get a suite room for the last stay which was great. However the whole time we stayed in the hotel the A/C was not working, save the very last night. So the rooms were often stuffy even ion a cold day. We left the window open most nights just to sleep comfortably.

The Whisky bar is great with friendly staff (thanks Jan) and the reception staff were also great, and recognised us by name every day (not sure if that is a good thing??)

The Netherlands is such a great country and Haarlem is a great alternative to Amsterdam. There is the culture and typical Dutch city without the crowds or prices, and still only 20-30 minutes drive from central Amsterdam, or a 15 minute train or 30 minute ferry ride from IJmuiden.

Parking is available but not run by the hotel. If you are there for more than 2-3 days, get a weekly ticket for 50 Euro, and you can come and go as often as you like in that week. Careful though the office EFTPOS machines did not accept my credit cards, although the casual parking machine 50 meters away did, and it is run by the same company. Parking on Thursday night is a competition, and the nightly parking rate starts at 9pm instead of 7pm as on other nights.

Overall a good hotel, although there are finer appointed hotels in the city or cheaper one, this one is very central.

Room Tip: Look on the internet for deals and negotiate for a better room at the same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel is pretty good. Our ac in the room wasn't working and we got moved to another room when we complained. Breakfast is expensive but not bad. The location isn't ideal but only about 10 minute walk from the main square. Staff are on the ball and deal with any issues really well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalka1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Had no complaints with this hotel. Stayed over August bank holiday. Rooms were spacious, very clean and tidy and a decent size.

Situated on the outer part of the centre in Haarlem it was a five minute walk to the main square and plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. Was nice to stay out of the centre of Amsterdam and see another part of the country. Very laid back and picturesque.

We didn't eat at the restaurant but did order room service which was tasty.

All the staff were very polite and helpful. A great base for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#9 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Square Hotel

Property: Carlton Square Hotel
Address: Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
#3 Business Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Square is an intimate 4-star Haarlem hotel in the heart of the charming city of Haarlem, combining international allure with luxurious ambiance and genuine hospitality. As you walk through the front door of our Haarlem hotel you will immediately feel drawn in by the staff, design and interior. The warmth of the cosy lounge and crackling fire in the hearth instantly give our guests that 'home away from home' feeling.Carlton Square, with 122 hotelrooms, is situated in the heart of the shopping district. Only 10 km from Schiphol International Airport and the Amsterdam RAI Congress Centre, the Carlton Square Hotel is located in Haarlem city centre just off one of the main roads leading to Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Square Haarlem
Hotel Carlton Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing