We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great find”
Review of Jacobus Pieck

Jacobus Pieck
Ranked #36 of 327 Restaurants in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: very popular restaurant in Haarlem
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great find”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Thanks to the Rough Guide we found this restaurant. Busy with locals because of the excellent food. Reasonably priced and quick service. Very close to the main church in the centre.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    43
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skokie, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A DELIGHT !!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Rick Steves was right. My entire family loved this lunchroom. We went for dinner on a week day and it was lovely. No crowds. The place is lovely.The small garden escape is very peaceful. The food was excellent and not expensive. The best part of all was the staff. The hostess and waitress were very helpful and made it fun to be there. Our waitress literally translated and explained each item to us along with her recommendations. This was a very relaxed and casual experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Quaint and friendly”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Lovely little restaurant in one of the small streets in the heart of Haarlem just next to the central square Grote Markt. The menu has a variety of not so common dishes. We had a wonderful mixed salad with quinoa, spinach, blue cheese and apple. It was a quick meal without wine. Good bottle of Panna water. We spent €15 per person. Oh and yes, we called at 8pm on a Saturday night for a reservation at 8h30 and found a table without any problems!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chambesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Inexcusable service”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Went to lunch here yesterday, great looking place, the food was excellent, unfortunately we had a female server who was incredibly rude.
We ordered lunch pointing at the hamburger on the menu. When it arrived it was a tomato
cheese sandwich. The server was very abrupt in her actions from the beginning which is why she probably got the order wrong to begin with. With some effort we flagged her down and pointed to the menu that we had ordered the hamburger. That was the "kiss of death" and the end of any conversation. She brought the hamburger eventually dumbed it off with not a word. When we went up to pay, because she was not going to bring the bill, again not a word or a thank you. NOT A WORD! She didn't even look at us during the exchange. Its too bad to have such a really good restaurant, great food, and ruin it with rude service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, WI
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Luckily stumbled on this place!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Haarlem for one week and had a chance to eat at several restaurants. Couldn't find the first restaurant we wanted, the 2nd was closed and decided to pop in here. What a lucky find! We both had outstanding meals at a reasonable price. Husband had ravioli with mascarpone and truffles and I had sea bass. Splurged (calorie-wise) on brownie pie with fennel ice cream and was truly the best desert I have had. We highly reccomend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dutchgirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacobus Pieck also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Jacobus Pieck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing