We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer”
Review of Jopenkerk

Jopenkerk
Ranked #3 of 322 Restaurants in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A regional Brewery with all kinds of beer from their own brewery. You can go for a drink, for lunch and dinner, all 'honest' products, Dutch cuisine with a nice authentic touch!
somerset
Level Contributor
134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great beer”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Just popped in for a drink so did not taste the food. The building is beautiful with wonderful stained glass windows. They brew some great beer, a couple 9% so be careful how many you have. Downstairs is much nicer than the upstairs area. Staff very helpful. They have music some evenings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wildswimmer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    445
    113
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great beer in a medieval church.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This place has great beers brewed on site. It's located in a medieval church that's being put to better use as a brewery. There's a plaza in front with tables for when the weather is good. I didn't eat here so I can't comment on the food. Friendly service, for Europe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
329 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“A Near Religious Experience”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

After visiting the Grote Kerk (st. Bavo's Church) we went to Jopenkerk. The latter was for us a greater religious experience! The brewpub is in a converted church - it has been beautifully made over. No sooner were we inside than we were adopted by a friendly waitress. First she reviewed the 16 beers on tap, giving us samples to help us settle on our favourites. I chose the Mooie Nel IPA, which was superb. My wife tried their award winning wheat beer and declared it extremely tasty.

Once the beer situation was settled our gal reviewed them menu with us (she couldn't lay hands on an English version) . I had an open faced pastrami sandwich and my wife a Dutch style croquette with a side salad.

Lunch and beer for the two of us was €25.00. The atmosphere was great and it was a most pleasant afternoon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great service, unique atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

For one thing, we had the nicest server who introduced us to the beers that Jopen makes and took time to make recommendations based on our personal preferences. There were about a dozen beers to choose from, many of which were quite unique.

The lunch menu is fairly small, but the duck sandwich I got was excellent, and my wife's burger was good but not great.

The restaurant itself is worth seeing - there's something about the combination of brewing vats and stained glass that makes me very happy.

This place is definitely worth the walk from the Grote Markt!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoomedXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If only all churches had beer on tap...”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A short train ride from Amsterdam, my sister and I visited Jopenkerk during our recent summer trip to Europe. This was by far my favorite brewpub experience. The actual location is awesome as it is situated in a repurposed church. They offer upstairs, downstairs and terrace seating. The tanks look really shiny; someone must be really tired of polishing those :) They also have private rooms for special ocasions and food and beer pairing dinners.

The terrace is HUGE and the atmosphere out there was very enjoyable. My sister and I had burgers from their menu, which were really juicy and savory. We ordered a flight of beer samples (which are quite generous, in my opinion) and really enjoyed all but one of the styles (dunkel weizen is just not my thing). I later ordered a bottle of an almost extinct beer style which has been brought back by Jopen, Gratzer. Also had their barleywine and Black IPA.

Servers are well-informed and polite but casual. Great experience from wherever you look at it. Will definitely go back next time we're in Holland.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toniogarces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jopenkerk also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Jopenkerk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing