We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Just Frans Hals”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Frans Hals Museum

Frans Hals Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.41*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #2 of 65 things to do in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This small museum focuses on the works of Frans Hals, 17th-century portrait painter.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not Just Frans Hals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I like Frans Hals just fine, but I was pleasantly surprised that this excellent museum has plenty of other art to offer, including lots of paintings (the detailed Dutch still-lifes were particularly memorable), some really interesting period rooms and even a large dollhouse (you'll have a much more relaxing time viewing this one than you will trying to see similar ones at the super-crowded Rijksmuseum).

The Hals paintings are presented very nicely and I have renewed admiration for his painting skill and craftsmanship. He might be the best painter ever of people having a good time.

In addition, a nice bookstore and a friendly staff help to make this an easy recommendation!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DoomedXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    245
    37
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Delightful museum. English signage was very helpful with good explanations of the paintings. Not crowded and easy to negotiate the rooms.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb art superbly presented in an intersting building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fascinating alms house in Haarlem. Lots of superb art, especially the still lifes. Still with original brick floors and leather wall coverings and other artifacts, and all the old clocks were going and struck on the hour. Very comfortable atmosphere in the museum, very enjoyable way to view art.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Makes you smile on a rainy day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a very nice, well organized and informative exhibition showing the old master's painting in a relation with his contemporaries. The building itself also worth the visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OlivaMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California, United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable art museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Knew very little about Hals before we visited and now we feel like experts! We had purchased the Netherlands Museum pass, so we decided to take a quick trip inside. We ended up spending more time than we thought we would. Glad we didn't miss it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mouseparade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frans Hals Museum also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Frans Hals Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing