We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The great Frans Hals and" nightwatch"!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frans Hals Museum

Frans Hals Museum
Book In Advance
and up
2 Hour Private Walking Tour of Haarlem
Ranked #2 of 55 things to do in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This small museum focuses on the works of Frans Hals, 17th-century portrait painter.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
378 reviews
255 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“The great Frans Hals and" nightwatch"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I grew up with a picture of the Laughing Cavalier on our lounge room wall. This picture is not on show here, rather it is in London as the centrepiece of the Wallace collection. I was disappointed at first but then mellowed as I took in the wonderful collection before me.
I had no idea of the size of his "Nightwatch" painting and drawn by the crowds I discovered the work on display with two guardians hovering. This is necessary now as a nutter took a swipe at the masterpiece with a blade and caused some minor damage.
We caught a train from Amsterdam, about 30 minutes and then walked to Groot Heligigland to find the museum.
If you are visiting Amsterdam, make the effort and go to Haarlem and take in the beautiful works by Frans Hals.

Visited June 2013
1 Thank Gunner do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Now in our top five of museums and painters!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a delight. Incredible building and history, delightful info on frans hals. Excellent 16 minute video i hope they keep showing forever as the museum does not itself have that many of his paintings, really, and they are not collected in one room. Just the right size. Not crowded when we were there. Go!

Visited August 2013
2 Thank Winky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
353 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Famous Militia paintings and more in nice museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The museum is housed in the former Oude Mannenhuis (Old mens house) in a street called Groot Heiligland. (Great Holy Land). There is a special bus stop, conveniently named Frans Hals Museum, around the corner on a 5 minute walk. (August 2013, bus 3 from Central station)

The major attractions of course are the large paintings of the lively Banquets of the Officers of Militia of the 17th century. They are on display in a large room with a dining table in the middle with the food of the 17th century on display. This makes an interesting combination: the dining on the paintings and the life size model of a dining table in front of the paintings.

At the entrance of the museum is a large video wall with the story of Frans Hals and the evolution of his work. When I visited the narration was in Dutch only. Maybe ask at the front desk if any other language is available too.

Besides the Militia paintings there are the very lively portraits made by Frans Hals. Some are double portraits of married couples, on separate panels, the man on the left panel, his wife at his right.

The most beautiful Frans Hals painting in my opinion, the only one where he portrayed a couple on a single canvas, is on display in the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam (Couple in a garden: Wedding portrait of Isaac Abrahamsz. Massa and Beatrix van der Laan) Check that out when you are in the Rijksmuseum.

Other parts of the museum have fine paintings, some beautiful style rooms and interesting artefacts like 17th century furniture (clocks, chairs and chests). A separate room has a large dolls house.

Part of the museum has changing exhibitions on various themes. Check the museum’s website for details.

There is a small café for some drinks and light meals and a nice souvenir shop.

The area around the museum is very interesting to walk with centuries old small alleyways. It’s an easy, short walk to the central market with the St.Bavo Church and other museums.

Visited August 2013
2 Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Frans Hals Museum exhibition Eye to Eye with Rembrandt, Rubens and Titian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went to Harlem by train from Amsterdam, which takes only 20 minutes.
At Harlem we walked through the lovely town and got to the house that holds the Frans Hals exhibition. We were lucky that visited the exhibition that was from 23.3.2013 to 28.7 2013.
The exhibition showed the works of Hals and comparing to famous predecessors and contemporaries among them Titian, Rembrandt, Rubens, Van Dyck and Jordaens.
It was a great experience that was enjoy mainly due to a good free audio tour.
It is a good museum to be visit at any time.

Visited July 2013
1 Thank stoneJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
685 reviews
504 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Good museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

There was a special exhibition of Hals paintings from other museums at the time of our visit so we had a bonus. But their permanent collection is very good by itself, especially the room with famous group portraits of guild and town officers.
The staff were very accommodating. Because of the special exhibition an extra payment was required in addition to our Holland Pass ticket, and somehow they did not take a credit card for that, and since it was our last day in Holland, we had just a few euros in cash left. They rushed us to the museum store and the transaction thru their credit card register

Visited May 2013
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frans Hals Museum also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province

Been to Frans Hals Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing