We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Now in our top five of museums and painters!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frans Hals Museum

Frans Hals Museum
Book In Advance
$43.68*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This small museum focuses on the works of Frans Hals, 17th-century portrait painter.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Now in our top five of museums and painters!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a delight. Incredible building and history, delightful info on frans hals. Excellent 16 minute video i hope they keep showing forever as the museum does not itself have that many of his paintings, really, and they are not collected in one room. Just the right size. Not crowded when we were there. Go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Winky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    224
    31
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
353 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Famous Militia paintings and more in nice museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The museum is housed in the former Oude Mannenhuis (Old mens house) in a street called Groot Heiligland. (Great Holy Land). There is a special bus stop, conveniently named Frans Hals Museum, around the corner on a 5 minute walk. (August 2013, bus 3 from Central station)

The major attractions of course are the large paintings of the lively Banquets of the Officers of Militia of the 17th century. They are on display in a large room with a dining table in the middle with the food of the 17th century on display. This makes an interesting combination: the dining on the paintings and the life size model of a dining table in front of the paintings.

At the entrance of the museum is a large video wall with the story of Frans Hals and the evolution of his work. When I visited the narration was in Dutch only. Maybe ask at the front desk if any other language is available too.

Besides the Militia paintings there are the very lively portraits made by Frans Hals. Some are double portraits of married couples, on separate panels, the man on the left panel, his wife at his right.

The most beautiful Frans Hals painting in my opinion, the only one where he portrayed a couple on a single canvas, is on display in the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam (Couple in a garden: Wedding portrait of Isaac Abrahamsz. Massa and Beatrix van der Laan) Check that out when you are in the Rijksmuseum.

Other parts of the museum have fine paintings, some beautiful style rooms and interesting artefacts like 17th century furniture (clocks, chairs and chests). A separate room has a large dolls house.

Part of the museum has changing exhibitions on various themes. Check the museum’s website for details.

There is a small café for some drinks and light meals and a nice souvenir shop.

The area around the museum is very interesting to walk with centuries old small alleyways. It’s an easy, short walk to the central market with the St.Bavo Church and other museums.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
170 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Frans Hals Museum exhibition Eye to Eye with Rembrandt, Rubens and Titian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went to Harlem by train from Amsterdam, which takes only 20 minutes.
At Harlem we walked through the lovely town and got to the house that holds the Frans Hals exhibition. We were lucky that visited the exhibition that was from 23.3.2013 to 28.7 2013.
The exhibition showed the works of Hals and comparing to famous predecessors and contemporaries among them Titian, Rembrandt, Rubens, Van Dyck and Jordaens.
It was a great experience that was enjoy mainly due to a good free audio tour.
It is a good museum to be visit at any time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stoneJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
707 reviews
515 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Good museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

There was a special exhibition of Hals paintings from other museums at the time of our visit so we had a bonus. But their permanent collection is very good by itself, especially the room with famous group portraits of guild and town officers.
The staff were very accommodating. Because of the special exhibition an extra payment was required in addition to our Holland Pass ticket, and somehow they did not take a credit card for that, and since it was our last day in Holland, we had just a few euros in cash left. They rushed us to the museum store and the transaction thru their credit card register

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really got a strong sense of Frans Hals as an artist.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I can't say I really knew much about Frans Hals before going to the museum, but I really enjoyed looking at his paintings, of which this city-owned museum owns an extensive collection. The audio guide is available in English, and though the recordings are not that lengthy, they do a decent job of placing Hals in a time and place. The building itself, built as an old age home, is very beautiful with nicely-scaled galleries and a lovely courtyard. The museum is a bit of a walk from the main town square of Haarlem, but worth seeking out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frans Hals Museum also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Frans Hals Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing