We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Italian food for a friendly price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Centopercento

Centopercento
Ranked #28 of 316 Restaurants in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Italiaans Bar Ristorante Pizzeria nel cuore di Haarlem
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food for a friendly price”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Italian food is high on our favourites list. The flavours, textures, colours and smells make it like a paradise on earth. We stayed a while ago in Italy and were able to experience the Italian way of living: mama cooks best :-)

Having that in mind we tried Centopercento as it is quite hard to find the combination of nice Italian food and the culture that associates with it and from the other reviews it seems to be quite good. Well to make it short: it is excellent.

We made a reservation as we heard the restaurant is quite small. The restaurant is situated in a small street close to the main street. When we arrived we were greeted by the friendly owner who showed us to our table. We reckon the restaurant can fit around ten people but that night there were only two other guests besides us.

The menu was like an Italian menu should be: antipasta, pasta, main courses and the desserts (and since recently also pizzas) :-). We were not sure about the portion size (in Italy it is usually quite big) so we decided to take two antipastas, two pastas and one main course. It was a lot of food for two people but the quality belongs to the best we had in Italy. And the prices are very friendly.

The restaurant also does take-away and it is possible to buy fresh pasta, olive oil and other Italian products. All in all we had a good evening out. The only drawback could be the sexshop which is on the opposite of the street but then again what can the restaurant do about this? Don't let yourself be put off by it because you will miss some of the best Italian food in Haarlem and perhaps Holland.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Juledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    36
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Rather a dissapointment......”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

After reading the other reviews I hunted down this place on a warm , balmy,Wednesday evening in April 2011, sadly I was very dissapointed. The restaurant is surrounded by two tattoo parlours and a seedy sex shop directly opposite which had a steady flow of single male customers. The owner's family were however welcoming. The food though was nothing special which was a dissapointment and served without any florish, no side salads etc. After the main course we ordered desserts but they had nothing left except one portion from the entire menu. OK 41 euros for four, including a drink each was reasonable but as an experiance it was instantly forgetable.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raadjjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service, wonderful family-run cafe”
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Centopercento is my favourite Italian restaurant in Haarlem and I try to stop in for either a meal or coffee every time I visit. It's family owned and there has always been a family member present to supervise service (or to serve).
The food is great - authentic Italian, fresh ingredients cooked simply so there is lots of flavour. The service is warm, friendly but also efficient!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anna_mhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a nice surprise”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We accidentally found this restaurant while shopping in Haarlem, after we missed the main restaurant street. The food is excellent (taste and presentation), far above many fancy Italian restaurants, it really looks like it is cooked with passion. And the price is absolutely surprisingly low. Now i am looking all the time for an excuse to go to Haarlem to eat at this restaurant. I definitely recommend it.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgiana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
1 review
“Lekker pasta eten in Haarlem”
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I really like going to this small restaurant. It's unpretentious but really good, honnest food. Next to the exellent pasta dishes, they have good wine very decently priced and good Italian desserts. There is also a small Italian delicatessen corner for those who want to cook at home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireJeroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centopercento also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Centopercento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing