We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a charming B&B...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed and Breakfast Mya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Breakfast Mya
Ranked #5 of 18 Haarlem B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a charming B&B...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Albert was a very helpful but non-intrusive host. I was traveling with my mother and as many others have noted the bathroom is a semi exposed arrangement, however I was pleased to find that there was an additional bathroom right outside the bedroom door making it easy to find privacy. The room was clean,comfortable and very quiet. I would highly recommend this B&B and look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nah49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
31
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Each winter for the past few years we have visited Holland for a weekend of wellness (sauna/spa etc), and have stayed with Roda and Albert on some 4 occasions. B&B Mya is really well located between the train and bus stations and centre of Haarlem and yet not noisy. Rooms are clean & comfortable and typically dutch breakfasts are a really appreciated start to the day - freshly squeezed organge juice. We shall be returning and look forward to the warm hospitality in this "home from home" B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amacturner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Small, three rooms for rent, but the perfect location and place to stay when in Haarlem, and at a low euro price. Albert and Rhoda run this little gem. They live upstairs. The rooms are clean, and very quiet, considering it's location on Ridderstraat 11. From the beautiful Haarlem Central train station, it is no more than a ten minute, easy, slow walk to its front door. If you come in from Schiphol Airport, take the Red 300 bus, right out across the street from Schiphol's front door. It drops you off at the train station. Very convenient. Albert can give you many suggestions and ideas of places to go and to see. His English is perfect. Grote Market is nearby, as are some very good restaurants. We love Indonesian and Italian. Just so happens the best Indo food in the town is De Lachende Jaavan on Frankinstraat. So is the best gourmet Italian, right next door, La Forca. Then there is great pizza at nearby Pizza Bakker. All this is within easy walking distance of B&B Mya, and Albert can help you with his great directions. So, go to Haarlem, stay at B&B Mya and enjoy this lovely town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardDianaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

had a lovely stay in this little b and b. the owners were so hospitable and kind. the room very elegant and well decorated. flat screen tv, beautiful old chair by the window. when i woke up in the night i could see outside the little cobbled street and old dutch houses across the road with cats in the window staring back at me in the night. people riding by on their bicycles. lovely home made breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice. but what really made this place so great was the kindness and hospitality of the owners. they are a class act.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethany2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely and friendly, relaxed home. I'm staying in the Provence room on the ground floor and it's very nice - large, high ceilings, nice simple decor. Owners are nice, waited breakfast dir me as I recovered from jet lag. Convenient, 5 minute walk from station. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyvernoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The Mya B&B is located only a few minutes walk from the center square in Haarlem, and less than 8 minutes from the main train station -- making it an excellent location to explore the western Netherlands coast, Aalsmeer Flower Markets, and Amsterdam. It is less than a 15 minute ride by train to the center of Amsterdam, where all of the key sites and activities can be accessed on foot or by tram/bus. Bottom line -- for location it is perfect. Parking can be a problem, but Albert provided directions to free parking, though it is a mile walk back to the B&B -- but a beautiful walk along the canals and picturesque houses/buildings. There are several rooms, but we can speak to only the one we stayed in -- located at the top (two floors up). The room was huge, with a double bed and a single bed (as we had three adults). The bathroom, with shower, toilet and sink were part of the main room -- and since the shower had clear glass walls it took some planning to let all get private showers. A large wardrobe was in the room, but was filled with clothes so no place to hang jackets or clothes. The room itself was beautiful, with modern fixtures, renovated interior that left the old heavy beams exposed. While not a big issue for us, the stairs up two floors are the original very narrow and steep stairs typical of these old Dutch row houses. Reservations were easily made on the Mya website. A nice breakfast was provided -- not the best we had on our two week trip, but still very nice. The hosts were nice, friendly and accommodating but lacked some of the polish of other proprietors we have observed over the years. They seemed more laid back and casual, and didn't provide the full range of travel advice and assistance as some places. All this said, Mya was a very nice place to stay, the room was large and comfortable and the location superb.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dukedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed there one night, but wish we could have stayed longer! In this tiny, quiet street, very close to the Grote Markt, you will find this B&B hidden among the houses. We stayed at the attic room which was spacious, quiet, and bright thanks to the skylights in the roof. The shower, bathroom-sinks and bathtub (for two!) are brand new, and everything was super clean. The bed was super-comfortable. The toilet is open to the room but for a small glass wall, and while other guests found that upsetting, we find that the placement in the room makes up for it. The hosts are great and will treat you very well. Albert prepared an amazing breakfast which included orange juice which he squeezed right in front of us. The location of the B&B is a mere 8 minutes walk from the Haarlem Rail Station, so getting there from the airport is very simple. In fact, the B&B is in a great location to see Haarlem. I definitely recommend staying here when you visit the Netherlands.

Room Tip: Ask for the attic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OCS9204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
B&B Malts Hotel
#1 of 18 in Haarlem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Centrum
Bed and Breakfast Haarlem 1001 Nacht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Mya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Mya

Property: Bed and Breakfast Mya
Address: Ridderstraat 11, 2011 RR Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Mya.Two beautiful rooms in historic town Haarlem. At the heart of the centre of Haarlem and central station (within 5 minutes walking) is situated our bed & breakfast Mya. Two complete new renovated rooms 'La provence' and 'The Savanne' with flat screen Tv, super fast internet and own closed en-suite bath rooms. Enjoy the beautiful historic town Haarlem with it's numerous restaurants, interesting musea. Only 15 minutes train drive to Amsterdam and the beach. Our rooms are also interesting for the business traveller and offer the necessary privacy, central location and access to wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Mya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing