We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wherels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wherels
Ranked #7 of 17 Haarlem B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was a little anxious about finding a place to stay in Haarlem with my 2 brothers, but the reviews on this site helped persuade me to chose Wherels. Now I can add my voice to the many glowing comments on here and say that it exceeded my expectations.
We stayed in the attic room; upon arrival, we found a tray of cookies, box of nuts, tea bags, hot chocolate, and a stocked fridge with wine and water (no extra charge). It was a really welcoming touch. The room itself was clean and bright; soft, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, TV, electric kettle, wooden floors. The breakfasts were delicious and enough food to fill up my ravenous, college-athlete brothers. It was easy and fun to get around Haarlem from this location, and close to the bus and train station. All in all, I have rarely had such a pleasant and enjoyable stay anywhere. Many thanks to Reineke and Rosa. Will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliana1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We could not have found a more perfect B&B. We spent a week here before starting our cycling tour. It was clean and comfortable. Ricki, Rosa, and Rieneke could not have been nicer and more helpful. In fact Rosa took us to get information on things we wanted to see during our stay. It was very conveniently located to the train station in one direction and the city center in the other. The healthy breakfasts were just what we needed to fuel up for a day of siteseeing. As the other writers have noted, it was only a 15 min. train trip into Amsterdam and 30 min. to the Keukenhof Gardens. Where Els is a wonderful place to stay in this charming town. It was an easy bus trip from Schiphol. We arrived very early in the morning, but they were expecting us so we could drop off our luggage until the rooms were ready and then stroll around town and take a break at a cafe to watch the people at the Saturday market. The rooms had everything we needed to make us comfortable. We hope to return to this wonderful city and can think of no where else more appealing to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lowcountrycyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This little place in Haarlem was a dream. We arrived early and Ricki could not have been any nicer. We stored our bags, and took an easy walk into town. Our objective was to cycle so Ricki offered to have the rental company drop off the bikes at the front door so they would be there the next morning. The morning breakfast was yummy with fresh baked goodies and much more.
The room included a couple of bottles of wine that we took on our rides for a picnic. Coffee,tea,peanuts, beer were also in the room. The room was large and comfortable. And on the last day they let us wash our clothes. This place was just wonderful and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leftcoastgirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is the perfect alternative is you want Amsterdam close by but don't want to stay in Amsterdam. This place is two blocks from the bus/train station in Haarlem. From Haarlem central you're a 15 min train ride into Amsterdam central, 35 min bus ride to Amsterdam airport, a 30 min bus to Keukenhof, and one block off of the main downtown area in Haarlem.

We stayed in a family sized room which had a queen and a twin bed. This room was big enough for three adults or a family with two kids. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom is excellent. The room was also stocked with tea, coffee, and a water heater.

Surprising pluses:
Refrigerator in the hall with water
Bathroom has a hair dryer
Internet is excellent
Washer and dryer in the hallway if needed (soap is provided)
Breakfast was good

We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Pankakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This B and B is a wonderful place for so many reasons. My family, Mom, Dad, 3 teens, stayed in the ground floor level, using both bedrooms. It was wonderful to have beverages upon arrival and use of the washer and dryer. The breakfast was simple, healthy, and very plentiful. The hosts are more than helpful spending the extra time to chat about their country and check our bike route for the day to the tulip gardens, Keukenhoff. They made sure that we were knowledgeable about the bus to and from Schipol airport. That bus is quite magical in its regular schedule and direct route to Haarlem. After safari in Africa, we arrived at Wherels and were happy to have a great place to relax and enjoy both Haarlem, and Amsterdam. Don't stay in a hotel, if they have availability here!

Room Tip: Rooms are small with not much room for luggage which is normal in Europe. Bathroom is amazing with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this B&B in the attic room. To say that the steps were steep is an understatement, but the host Rieneke carried my suitcase upstairs quickly - no problem! Our room was big and the bed was very comfortable. We were surprised to find peanuts, wine, beer, water all available to us without charge. Nice! The best part were the excellent breakfasts with everything that we could want - breads, musli, boiled eggs, fruit, coffee, juice, etc. We walked from the train station and it was a pleasant 10-15 minute walk...easy to find the B&B (with instructions from Rieneke). The only problem was that my husband is tall and kept hitting his head on the stairways and doorjams.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyTravelers071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our third stop in our 2 week trip in Benelux. We took a train from Ettelbruck and got to Haarlem rather than Amsterdam. When I visited Amsterdam 15 years ago, my friend and I went to Haarlem for a day trip and found it to be charming. Rather than booking an expensive hotel in an undesirable area, I thought it was more practical to base oursleves in Haarlem and go into Amsterdam as there are many trains to Amsterdam. After reviewing Triadvisor comments, I booked a room in March with Reineke and thought all was set. We got to Haarlem and followed Reineke's direction to Wherels without a problem. Reineke told us that we would be staying at Around the Corner. I didn't really have a problem with this, but I wish she had told me the change of room prior to us arriving. Around the Corner is another Dutch house and here lives Hendien, who is the owner of the house.

Reineke showed us a map of Haarlem and areas of interest as well as many restaurants. AH is a supermarket and it is literally right around the corner from Wherels and runs parallel to the direction that you take when you get out of the Haarlem station. There are lots of places to eat in Haarlem. Reineke told us that Hendien would bring breakfast to our room. So, we climbed up the steep stairs and the first floor (in the US, it would be 2nd floor) was our bed room, kitchen and the bathroom. Reineke set up another bed for our 3 yer old and even had some toys and books for our son but the room was tight with another bed. There was a kitchen with a coffee maker, tea kettle, and a small refrigerator. There was cold water and juice waiting for us. There was also a small roof deck for us to use which was accessible from the kitchen. Bathroom was interesting. There was no shower curtain, so you just take a shower and use a squeegee to mop off the shower area. The toilet flushed twice and made a funny noise every time we used it.

All in all, it was real Dutch living. We stayed here for 4 nights. For the stairs, we blocked off the stair way with our suitcase so our son wouldn't fall down (he didn't) and it was an interesting situation. The beds were very comfortable. Our son's pillow was the best pillow because it was so comfortable. We were still in a heat wave. One day, it reached to 96 degrees, and we asked Hendien for a fan. What a relief it was when she lent us her fan.

Every morning, Hendien came up to our kitchen with our breakfast which was filled with bread, cold cuts, fruits, juice, yogurt, etc. There was plenty to eat. Hendien told us that her English was not so good, but we understood her without a problem. She was a great hostess.

We made our daily trips to Amsterdam and then stayed in Haarlem to explore this wonderful city. Frans Hals Museum should not be missed. It is a real gem.

All in all, our stay here was fine. It was charming in its own way and Hendien tried really hard to make sure that we had everything we needed. We were also able to use Reineke's washer and dryer as she gave us the keys to Wherels as well as Hendein's.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelpersonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Golden Tulip Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
B&B Malts Hotel
#1 of 17 in Haarlem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Centrum
Bed and Breakfast Haarlem 1001 Nacht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wherels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wherels

Property: Wherels
Address: Nieuwe Kruisstraat 11 | Nieuwe Kruisstraat 9, 2011 RN Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Where Els’ is ideally located in the heart of Haarlem. A great base from which to explore the Netherlands.This cosy houses suit very well for couples, groups and families.This typical Haarlem huis is located on a small street with no traffic, which is surprisingly quite considering the location - even during the night. Just steps away from shopping, restaurants and the famous Groote Markt (centre square).There is always a lot to do: many local theatre, music and dance events take place in Haarlem.Day visits to Amsterdam and The Hague are very easy. Where Els is a short walk to the train station where six trains per hour depart to take you straight to the centre of Amsterdam (15mins) and to The Hague (40mins). The North Sea with beautiful sandy dunes and beaches are just 10 minutes by car or 30 minutes bike to the west. The coastal towns of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal are great places for lunch or dinner by the sea. Your day will start in the breakfast room where you will get a sumptuous breakfast with fresh biological produce from the local market. All rooms are fully equipped with snacks, drinks TV, DVD, CD, wifi internet, cool, clean, comfortable bedding and a private ensuite bathroom. Note: Just a 15 minute drive from Schiphol international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wherels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing