We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hostess!”
Review of Wherels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wherels
Ranked #8 of 18 Haarlem B&B and Inns
Huntington Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location, great hostess!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

As we had a car, Haarlem was ideal, no messing with Amsterdam traffic. And what a little gem of a place to stay! Rieneke was fantastic and goes above and beyond to help with your questions and needs. I was surprised and delighted that breakfast was brought to our charming apartment every morning. It was a great bonus to have a lovely patio overflowing with flowers to unwind with a glass of beer or wine after a full days' adventure into Amsterdam or the countryside. Reineke rents a couple of apartments near Where Els and we had the one next door. We spent 4 nights and it began feeling alot like home...highly recommend a stay here and would love to return someday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Rieneke and her helper were fantastic.
Location of the place is fantastic.
Price is slightly higher comparing to Mya B&B but it comes with a proper good bathroom.

However the bathroom in our room still had a down side which is that it's right next to the breakfast room. So other guests can hear you in the morning while they are having breakfast and you are in your bathroom. This is only the bedroom at the front of the ground floor.

The washing machine and dryer are located on the ground floor in the hallway (which in my opinion could be neater), if you are sleeping in the room i was given, you can hear the machines working and it seems there is no curfew when the last load should be loaded. If you are sensitive to noise when sleeping, it might annoy you. Or you can tell the host, I am sure Rieneke will sort it out if it becomes a problem.

I also got woken up by the sound from the water pipping (running through the room) in the middle of the night, i am sensitive to even the low frequency noise. My partner had no problem with it (he is bit insensitive to noise at night - deaf).

Rieneke might want to consider putting "number" at the room door, a very curious guest tried to open my door several times, probably thinking it's a reading room or kitchen behind the door.

But the service is so good, i might return, requesting for a different room. My partner is not a B&B person, he might reject the idea and just check into a standard chain hotel. Be prepared to chit chat with other very friendly travelers (usually from the States/Canada), that's life of staying at a B&B.

Room Tip: Avoid the "big room" which we stayed in unless you don't care other people hearing you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyTasteHisTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rieneke, Manager at Wherels, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. You are right of course. We've changed this door into a massive door. The bathroom is now noiseless to the room in the front (the breakfast room). So other guests can't hear you anymore in the morning while they are having breakfast and you are in your bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed for a couple of weeks in this great b&b. Nice rooms, Nice people, very clean. The breakfast is very tasteful, always om time. Located in the centre of Haarlem. You can walk to all the nice restaurants and musea from here. i truly enjoyed my stay here and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I'm from Canada and visited my sister in Cheltenham, England in September 2011. We had a weekend visit to Amsterdam (Sept. 9-12) and stayed at Wherels, a friendly and welcoming B&B owned by Rieneke Post. My sister and I were very pleased with the sumptuous breakfast we had for three mornings . Wherels B&B is truly a "home away from home" with all the comforts of home. Haarlem is just as lovely a place to visit as Amsterdam with so much history.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank graces45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herten, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed in Haarlem two nights in July 2011. We booked two rooms, one for my wife, son (3 years old) and myself, and a second for my parents. We wanted a location outside Amsterdam that was close enough to commute, we were driving and didn't want the hassle of having to figure out driving and parking in Amsterdam itself. The Wherels was ranked highest on TripAdvisor and that, in combination with a fair and competitive price, led us to book here.

We booked both downstairs rooms (I believe they have 4 rooms total), one of which came with a kitchen and both shared a terrace where we could sit in the evenings and chat while my son slept soundly in our room.

Rieneke set us up with both rooms downstairs and while she was not around during our stay, Warta, her assistant was, and she was fantastic. Finding the Wherels is a challenge, it might be advisable to really nail down the directions from the train station or with the car before arriving, because if you don't you may not find it. We parked in a nearby pay parking lot (€2,65hr) and walked the rest of the distance. Upon arrival Warta told us where we could find free parking and came with me, got in the car and personally made sure we found the parking lot where we could park and walked back with us to make sure we didn't get lost, this was above and beyond the level of service I have ever received from a hotel/overnight. It was a bit far to the free parking, so we were glad to have Warta help us out.

We were greeted to a charming B&B that was more than adequate for our needs. It was clean and comfortable and made a nice base of operations for exploring Haarlem and was not too far from the train station to explore Amsterdam. We found complimentary mixed nuts waiting for us along with chilled wine, beer, juice and water in the refrigerator which was just available for the taking without us paying mini bar charges (another perk I have never seen before) which we certainly appreciated. In the bathroom there was an assortment of liquid soaps, shampoos and towels which is something that you should not expect in every European hotel. We needed nothing other than the clothes in our suitcases to have an enjoyable stay. All in all we had a great time and found we enjoyed Haarlem itself, more charming, beautiful and enjoyable for a short stay than Amsterdam (though Amsterdam certainly has much more to offer when it comes to museums and the like).

As a side note, I would recommend not trying to drive in Haarlem or Amsterdam if you can avoid it. It is just easier to do everything on foot and with public transport. Driving is complicated and confusing, even in the smaller town of Haarlem.

All in all:
+ Price was fair in comparison to other hotels/ B&Bs in area.
+ Haarlem is a quaint location to explore and enjoy.
+ Complimentary drinks in fridge and snacks on arrival.
+ Extraordinarily friendly service
+ Close (10min walk) to train station

- Parking in Haarlem (and Amsterdam) is atrocious €2,65hr most places, free parking is a good 20 minute walk from the Wherels.
- Somewhat tricky location to find, but once you do, this is no longer a problem.
- May be a bit sleepy for people seeking a high energy location.
- Breakfast room may feel a bit cramped for larger groups (5+)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heyfrito500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend. Reneke was more than helpful. Breakfast, taken in the room as there is no dining room, is brought to you on trays, at exactly the time that suits you. They were delicious. A full and generous continental breakfast. The room was somewhat cluttered, therefore not much storage space.
Just a couple of things you need to think about; access - we were in the room at the top of the house and the stairs are very, very steep. There are rooms on the ground floor; parking - the public car park is only a few minutes walk from the house but is expensive (relatively), you can park for free further away but this is a good 20 minute walk and in an area of town that isn't 'too desirable', I was always worried about leaving the car in that area but have to say it suffered no damage or mishap at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick-Beckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed in Renieke's one-bedroom flat for four nights, June 25 thru June 28, 2011. I can attest to everything positive reported about Where Els in previous reviews. Renieke even provided us with red wine and a refrigerator stocked with local beer, white wine, and bottled water! Actually, Renieke bade us goodbye in advance of our actual departure day, but before leaving, she ensured our revised breakfast time was met and gave us her telephone number in case we needed to contact her. We had no problem with her not being in the house every moment of every day. In fact, we were so well cared for, having the place virtually to ourselves was sort of nice. We will return to Haarlem. It is a wonderful city. When we do, we will book our travel around the availability of Where Els.

Room Tip: Ask for the back bedroom, ground floor or front bedroom, ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
246 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
B&B Malts Hotel
#1 of 18 in Haarlem
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wherels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wherels

Property: Wherels
Address: Nieuwe Kruisstraat 11 | Nieuwe Kruisstraat 9, 2011 RN Haarlem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Where Els’ is ideally located in the heart of Haarlem. A great base from which to explore the Netherlands.These cosy houses suit very well for couples, groups and families. Located in a small street which is surprisingly quite considering the location - even during the night. Just steps away from shopping, restaurants and the famous Groote Markt (centre square).There is always a lot to do: many local theatre, music and dance events take place in Haarlem. Day visits to Amsterdam and The Hague are very easy. Where Els is a short walk to the train station where six trains per hour depart to take you straight to the centre of Amsterdam (15mins) and to The Hague (40mins). The North Sea with beautiful sandy dunes and beaches are just 10 minutes by car or 30 minutes bike to the west. The coastal towns of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal are great places for lunch or dinner by the sea. Your day will start in the breakfast room where you will get a sumptuous breakfast with fresh biological produce from the local market. All rooms are fully equipped with snacks, drinks TV, DVD, CD, wifi internet, clean, comfortable bedding and a private ensuite bathroom. Note: Just a 15 minute drive from Schiphol international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wherels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing