We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
58
14
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
14
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep stairs first floor around the corner railway station apartment luggage
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 79 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed at this B&B from April 29-May 2, 2011. It was a perfect place to stay in Haarlem--in a quiet location in the old city. It had the typical steep stairs of most all Dutch buildings, but this adds to the charm. The breakfasts were great--a terrific assortment of items as per the Dutch tradition. The owner, Rieneke Post, was very helpful in assisting us with rentals of the 2 bikes from Rent a Bike Haarlem for our one-month long bike trip around the Netherlands. She also provided us with helpful information about area restaurants and things to see and do in Haarlem. We recommend this location highly for anyone spending a few days in Haarlem.
Stan and Kim Binnie
Trinidad, California USA

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanBinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Where Els is a small, 3 room B&B in a terrific location with a very sweet and helpful owner.
We stayed one night on the first floor in the front room but then were moved to the back room on the main floor. The back room had a wonderful jetted tub which helped with my husbands back pain. We didn't know that the back room was considerably more expensive until we left and paid the bill. I thought that we had agreed on the front room the entire 4 nights, so we did have unexpected expense. All in all though, it was a good choice. Walking distance to everything including the train station. Breakfast was the usual Dutch fare...rolls with meat and cheese, fruit, yogurt and a soft boiled egg. We would definitely recommend it, but feel that the back room on the main floor is probably overpriced and would go with the front room instead for your visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JungleJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Harlem is a beautiful city with easy access to Bulbfields, seaside and Amsterdam.
Our first time in a B&B and everything was delightful. Clean rooms and good nights rest. Breakfast is excellent and all you could wish for. Hostess, Rieneke is charming and will answer all your questions. Our room on top floor was very quaint but the bathroom could do with a door not a curtain. Lower floor rooms had more modern bathrooms and if we come back I would probably request these first.
Enjoyed our stay immensely and hope to return. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gloucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

My husband and I and 2 kids, aged 6 and 8 stayed here for 2 nights. Great location- about 4 blocks from train station and 3 from the Market. We had 2 bedrooms, a cute little patio and 2 bathrooms and a kitchenette. One of the bedrooms had 3 single beds and toys- a big hit with the kids. Our only
complaint was that space was a bit tight, would be tough if you don't travel light. Wasn't a problem for
us. The breakfast was Dutch- lots of bread, cheese, meats and fruits. The kids loved the chocolate sprinkles on the bread! We walked everywhere, took the train easily into Amsterdam and overall thought it was a great home base.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We took our 4 teens to The Netherlands and needed something really nice and affordable with easy access to the train station so we could tour The Netherlands. WhereElse is the perfect place to stay!!

We stayed for 9 nights and we slept great. The street is quiet. The beds are very comfortable and I am very picky!! I looked at five star hotels in Amsterdam and rentals in Amsterdam and I am so GLAD I chose Where Else bed and breakfast in Haarlem instead. I liked Haarlem much better than Amsterdam too.

1. Shopping and restaurants were great and easy to walk to everything....just watch out for the bikes! We are from America and not used to all the bikes.

2. The breakfast was delicious. Reinke is the hostess and served wonderful food every morning.

3. Complimentary wine, teas, coffees, chocolates everyday in our rooms.

4. FRIENDLY. Reinke went out of her way to help us and she recommended great places to visit and to eat. She helped us so much and we even feel like we made a friend.

5. Quaint...if you are looking for something different than a hotel and you want to experience The Netherlands this is perfect. The atmosphere is quaint, cozy, warm and friendly.

6. We needed a laundry room since there were 6 of us. We used the washer and drier and it was part of our fee for staying. So, no need to find a place to do laundry.

7. All of our kids LOVED staying here. They had their own room and all 4 fit in the large bedroom. 2 girls shared a bed and the other 2 kids had their own bed. Plus there was a baby bed in the room if we had a baby!

8. My husband and I had our own private bedroom in the same quarters as our kids, but we were a bit away from their room, so we had privacy.

9.There are lots of games and toys for the kids. TVs in the rooms too. Very comfortable and nice atmosphere.

10. Reinke speaks excellent English! This was very helpful too.

11. Communication was excellent by email with our reservations. We had to wire our deposit with an international transfer, but everything was handled very professionally and she was very patient in waiting when our first transfer failed. She still held our room until we could handle the deposit transfer with our bank.

12. We rented the first floor with the mini kitchen and cooked many of our meals. The grocery store was just a 3 minute walk around the corner. We had a fridge to keep our food in. Cooking some of our meals helped keep the cost of the trip down with 4 teenagers!

13. Short train trip (under 30 mintues) to Amsterdam and the BEACH in Zandvoort! Very easy access to the train and bus station. It is about a 10 minute walk from Where Else.

If we ever return to The Netherlands we will stay here. This was a perfect experience. Thank you!

Adrienne and Brian
Dallas, Texas
USA

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adriennef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews