We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very amiable host.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Fris

Restaurant Fris
Reserve with
Restaurant Fris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 313 Restaurants in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $65
Cuisines: European, French, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: WELCOME AT RESTAURANT FRIS! A modern restaurant with a classic French cuisine, with a touch of surprising influences from around the world. The restaurant is close to the city centre of Haarlem. Passion an respect for the product is one of the unique selling points of the restaurant and you can tast that. Whether you come for lunch or dinner, you can always count on the dynamic and enthusiastic team puts you completely pampered and ensures an unforgettable culinary experience. Owner and chef Rick May worked for years at Restaurant de Leuf ** in Ubachsberg. Restaurant Fris now been there for ten years and Rick May is in charge of the kitchen since 2014. Since September 2016, he is not only chef but also owner of this jewel in Haarlem. Fris has been awarded by Michelin for the second year in a row with a Bib Gourmand, this award represents an excellent value for money.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very amiable host.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a lovely evening in this quiet, friendly restaurant.
We would not come back for the food, but for the nice ambiance;
the quality time we experienced in here was very sweet just as
the amiable host. There is a genuine welcoming atmosphere
in this place.

For us, all the different ingredients didn't enhance the total
taste of a dish.
And I like it when sprouts are cooked very short, but some of
the fellows I had were almost raw.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAndMrsCoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    20
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
190 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Easy to find culinary gem in Haarlem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

A wonderful find: Great food, fine wine, perfect service (and location). Spacious seating (a welcome change from Amsterdam !) Prices aren't unreasonable.

The heart lies in what the kitchen produces: We had an eight course menu full of delicious and sometimes surprising flavours, exceptionally tender game and beef, watch our for little gems like a button-sized portion of sauerkraut icecream, interesting flavour mayonnaise droplets and star anise flavoured meat sauce. Modern Dutch cuisine at its finest. (8 courses plus appetiser etc. in 2 3/4 hours - good pacing).

We also liked their take-it-or-leave-it glass of wine per course idea: Not everyone will want 8 glasses of wine with 8 courses, so just enjoy their recommendations at 6 euro per glass and skip wine for those courses where the previous glass is still half full ..... All tasty, fruity wines verging on the young and simple - for more complexity go for the bottles.

Going to a restaurant in another town is sometimes a hassle - but not to Fris: Frequent buses from the station make it really easy to reach by public transport from Amsterdam or The Hague.

Any criticisms ? Only around the edges - chairs are a little odd, some of the plates are too large for the delicate delights delivered .... But overall quality is enhanced by affiliation with Jeunes Restaurateurs D'Europe (a loose alliance of like-minded restaurants), I am reminded I must go to more than the two I have visited so far ....

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant reasonnably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurant in Haarlem was a really good surprise: we had dinner on the terrasse, took the entry menu (around 30€) and the food was simply very very good for the price.
No doubt that this restaurant is aiming at getting a star, and it will be deserve.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FREDERIC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
240 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great services and creative dishes but food lacks flavor and tastes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went to this lovely classy Restaurant Fris, which is tucked into a quiet neighbourhood away from bustling Haarlem town centre. We were early but the staffs were very friendly and accommodating to us. Since it was a great summer evening, we sat on their large terrace.
Their service and wines were excellent, and food combination and creativity were very good. We liked the fried seabass with risotto, and I liked the grilled duck breast. We both liked desserts. But we find the rest of the dishes to be quite bland; we cannot taste much flavor in the fresh food ingredients - not all made great impressions on our taste buds. The food seems to lack salt or pepper or herbs. Perhaps we were being too criticial but we had expected more from this restaurant since it was awarded 2 Michelin cutlery-points, had 13 Gault Millau points, rated a 8.8 on IENS.nl and is member of Jeunes Restaurateurs d'Europe, a restaurant association that represents talent and passion.
Anyway, despite the food, we had a good time and our dinner lasted for 3 hours. The staffs were very good in presenting the food and wines.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helenz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
324 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Special Valentine arrangement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Last Thursday we enjoyed at Fris the Valentine arrangement. A delicious five course menu with accompanying wines. To begin with the latter, The food/wine pairings were excellent. And to start with the latter, from the white wines, the South African wine made from Chenin blanc, Viognier and Rousanne was my favourite, a delicious and fresh wine. Of the red wines, the Austrian wine with Zweigelt was my favourite: a dark red wine with aromas of cherries and a fruity taste with soft tannins.

Without exception, all the dishes were delicious and the service was very attentive and very friendly.

What struck us were the beautiful ceiling lamps that gave a warm light and contributed to the very pleasant atmosphere.

Our next visit is already planned.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Fris also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Fris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing