We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A different view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Corrie ten Boom House

The Corrie ten Boom House
Ranked #1 of 53 things to do in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A different view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I found out about the Corrie ten Boom House from my cousin who enjoyed her tour there. I was forwarned that there was an evengelical tilt to the tour prior to attending. As we were taken to the living room and our guide introduced herself she did warn the group that there would be a religious part to the presentation. I found that there was a nice balanced between the history and religion. The story of Corrie ten Boom could not be told without the religious side to it and it would be incomplete. If you are not religious it is just a facinating place to be and to experience. Not just the hidden room but the knowledge that the house is build around a massive ships mast and has been a part of that community for centuries. The tour is free and we were not pressed to donate any money.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maherx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    82
    26
    13
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Example of why it's worth reading minority negative reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

If I had read the reviews that gave this house a rating of 1, 2, or 3, I would have been able to make an informed decision about whether I wanted to subject myself to such a large dose of proselytizing. The "guide" was actually a devout Christian evangelist who seemed more interested in getting across a missionary message than in presenting historical information about the house and the family. I felt pressured to make a purchase/donation, and I'm not in the habit of donating to evangelical causes. I learned of this museum from a Haarlem tourist office brochure (produced by Haarlem Marketing), and there should have been mention in the description about the religious zeal of the guides. It's much preferable to go into a church in the Netherlands - they don't try to convert you.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Shiok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“History in the simple world of real people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was familiar with the Ten Boom family thru the book "The Hiding Place" and was very eager to visit. It is simply a smll guided tour thru the upstairs living quarters of watch shop below, but the story and immediate presence of being in such a situation as this family was in Nazi-occupied Netherlands in WW II, really hits you. Many Dutch people were resistance heroes, this one is simply an easy way to step into their brave hearts and souls for a first-Hand look at simple truth and goodness being practiced in face of death eager day. Not necessary to read the book beforehand, but some additional background would be helpful....and young teens would probably enjoy more if they read the book first.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DeuxChiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portals Nous, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful historical story of kind people who help Jewish people from the Nazi regime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This was an unexpected visit we where not aware this museum we found this on trip advisor! I would say this is well worth visiting if you are interested World War II. This is a amazing tour you are shown round the house and it is incredible to believe that people would be so kind to risk there own life to help others!! Truly inspirational story a must visit...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shyvone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
133 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Touches your heart-opens your mind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This little home, actually two, was the site where lots of people who were prosecuted by the Nazi's were safe/saved. The space where people were hidden is unbelievably small and should be seen. The tour guide(s) can get a little preachy, but who can be harmed by that? Tours are free but donations can be made. All who work there work for free, including maintainers. Tours are about an hour long. Certainly worth the time if you have it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corrie ten Boom House also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Corrie ten Boom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing