We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Deeply Moving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corrie ten Boom House

The Corrie ten Boom House
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deeply Moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Having read The Hiding Place, I was so excited to get to see where the whole story happened. It was incredible to sit in the Ten Boom's home listening to the story of their courageous faith in hiding Jews in their home. Standing in the actually hole in the wall that was the hiding place made me tear up. I will never forget my experience at the Ten Boom House. It is a place everyone should visit at least once in their lives. I really appreciated the tour guide's simple realness and how the place was not commercialized and touristy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rahoffman424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    82
    25
    13
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woy Woy, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting but too drawn out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It was interesting to see the house and learn some of the story behind it. The sign on the door says the tour takes an hour, which I wondered at, but the guide actually talked for more like 80 minutes! Too much repetition for my liking, and I found it a bit more like a lecture come sermon at times. I was aware that the family were Christian, so I was expecting some references to that, but would prefer if it focused on the history and how it related to the war rather than a Christian testimony. Be aware of many stairs, if that is a problem for you. I'm not sorry I went, just wish it had taken half the time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was by far one of favourite stops in the Netherlands. It's an amazing story of courage and faith and of Dutch resistance during the Nazi occupation. The house is small and so the tours are limited in size, but the guide takes you to the living room area and gives a history of the family, who they were what they did before, during and after the war. Our guide was fantastic giving an English tour, there was a group from Spain so she did accommodate in her speech, time for a family member to translate into Spanish. After the living room you progress through the house and can see Corrie's bedroom where the hiding place is as well as other various rooms in the house. We actually preferred this house and tour to the Anne Frank House in Amsterdam. Definitely a must see if in the Netherlands. It was refreshing to experience a tour that focused on one's Faith rather than shirking away from it which seems to be all too common in the Netherlands.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank yomo360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“History Lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We are so glad we made a morning trip to Haarlem from Amsterdam to visit this museum. Our tour was in English, but someone was also translating it into German for other visitors. Perhaps this is the reason I feel some of the details were cut short from the tour. We had to wait for each sentence the guide said to be translated. The tour was about 1 hour, but it kept us interested the whole time. There was no religious overtone to our tour at all. We had not read or seen "The Hiding Place", but will definitely do so now. The tour is free, but takes donations at the end.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelersRLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
161 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Strange and quirky visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This museum tells the story of The Hiding Place where the ten Boom family and friends hid from the Germans to escape persecution. Corrie's tale is similar to Anne Frank's except that she lived to tell the story and continued to campaign. Unfortunately the experience was spoiled by the volunteer guide's constant references to God, christian prayer and the holy land of Israel. It was an interesting and fascinating story and the hiding place (inside the wall cavity) needs to be seen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CondadoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corrie ten Boom House also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Corrie ten Boom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing