We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ribs this side of the Missippi”

Wilma & Albert's Steakhouse
Ranked #52 of 320 Restaurants in Haarlem
Price range: $31 - $62
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Ascheberg
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Ribs this side of the Missippi”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Since years my favourite choice for great meat in a nice surrounding.
Not the cheapest place in town, but still a blast for a great meal with good service and cool barkeeper!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexic3280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    105
    42
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
230 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Spot on”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were given a private dining room to accomodate our large party which made the evening more special. Felt like we were not rushed. The steak is an absolute must have. The wine menu was a little pricey which the cheapest bottle around 50 euros.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The unstuffy special occasion destination in Haarlem”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Compared to other restaurants in Haarlem, Willma and Albert seem to understand the value of their customers and cater the service and food accordingly. The location is in the heart of the old city, next to the Saint Bavo church. The menu selection is broad but the steak is their main attraction, coupled with other favourites including "surf & turf" and their huge lobster entrees. Very generous portions with good service (much better than the usual slow Dutch standard). It is not haute cuisine but pricey comfort food in a very comfortable and kitschy atmosphere. The seats are always fully booked, which is a good sign of consistency and loyalty. We tend to visit on special occasions given the rather high pricing, but have never been disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you can find a better steak on this planet, I'll eat my shoe!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Wow that is all I can stay. This place is heaven from when you take that first breath of meaty goodness as you walk in the door, to when you up- button your trouser button whilst twiddling a tooth pick. It is simply amazing!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ukilledkenny_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
162 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Drove from Germany for a Steak”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have left a review of this place before but just want to reaffirm that the years have not changed this place in any manner, in fact a lot of the faces are still familiar from years ago.

On my last trip to Europe, just before Christmas, I really did drive from Trier to Haarlem for a couple of nights just to visit familiar places wrapped in their Christmas finery. A steak at this eatery was number one on the list.

Everyone mentions the steaks, but there is so much more. I love their french onion and their vegetable soups. Their fries are great, but try the small potatoes, very little roasted spuds.

I will hopefully return again a few times and leave another review in a couple of years.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bikeontheroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilma & Albert's Steakhouse also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Wilma & Albert's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing