We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Zuiderzeemuseum
from $57.10
More Info
Reviews (899)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveler rating
227
72
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
72
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor museum zuiderzee museum open air fishing village day trip herring train station boat ride living history zuider zee nice museum whole family sunny day parking lot great for kids well worth the visit ticket office
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Good education tour to learnt what the lives of the people living in the past in Netherlands. Great explanation for museum tour guide

Thank PANEKHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

This is an incredible set up with the original fishing village and people walking around and working in period clothing. It really shows the kind of lifestyle back in the day when it was an important little fishing village. You get to see a man making a fish net, carving wooden clogs, all sorts of different lifestyle settings. Definitely worth going to and spending some hours, you could easily spend the whole day. It is probably not very exciting for younger kids, but if they have any interest in history it is a real gem,

Thank Dbwitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

So much fun. The people in this museum village dress and live the Netherlands' history of the past 300+ years. The houses come from different areas where they were dismantled and rebuild on the present site. Plenty to see and do and all the museum staff love to share stories about the social structure that the village represent. Enough places to have food and drinks. Go by boat from Hoorn or Medemblik.

Thank anetclinical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

This place is brilliant.
People who are dressed up as if they lived many years ago. Wasn't sure if it's real or not. It certainly seemed real.
Scottish caught herring smoked Dutch style as kippers were delicious.

Thank TambonzRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

This living museum brought to life the social history of the Zuiderzee over the past 400 years. Allow at least half a day to see everything and another half to visit the covered collection, perhaps including a walking tour of Enkhuizen.
Well worth a visit!

Thank LizTony2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Such great fun! It’s a fantastic place to visit both with and without children, but if you have children with you, the fun is doubled. Younger kids can dress up in the traditional clothes of the area, play with nostalgic toys and games and run around freely. It’s a great educational outing, both for kids and for grownups. You learn about a way of life that went out with the arrival of the enclosure of the Southern Sea with a dike connecting the north to the northeast of the country.
There are lovely fisherman’s houses to see and enter and the landscaping is beautifully done.
There are places to sit and eat and there’s a herring smokery where you can eat warm, freshly smoked herring and salmon.
A wonderful day out!

Thank ruth e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

We spent close to 3 hours wandering around the very interesting exhibits. We would strongly recommend particularly if you have young children. However there were plenty of visitors like ourselves who were there without any younger family members. Well worth a visit.

Thank cjd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

The Zuiderzeemuseum is a reconstruction of an imaginary dutch village from the beginning of the 20th century. Houses and buildings from different locations in the Netherlands have been transported here to recreate the charming atmosphere of that period. You'll find the patisserie, the blacksmith, the sailmaker, the cooper, and much more. Very good actors will show you how the artisans worked and how people lived. There is an interesting reconstruction of a windmill, where you see the mechanism by which they were used to pump the water out and reclaim land. If you have children, they can wear beautiful typical dutch vestments. To reach the museum there is a ferry which picks you up either at the station or at a parking outside Enkhuizen. You can also walk from the city centre. I was there with my family and we really had a nice afternoon. Tip: taste the smoked herrings, they are incredibly good.

Thank holmes1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Starts with a short boat trip that takes you to a small town where it looks like time stood still since early 1900's . Small stores, homes and businesses like in the old days. Fun projects and games for kids. And kids can build their own klompboat ! Just perfect. Old cobblestone streets! Leave high heels at home ;-)

Thank Yoli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

I had no idea about this open air museum. In theory we were coming back by boat after a very nice steam train ride, when we were told that Zuiderzeemuseum was on the way back. It was really great. My children played all around and loved it. For me if was really interesting and nice. Plenty to see and enjoy, and clean, easy, wheel chair friendly, you don't have to pay to access the restrooms, and friendly people. Now we are all tired and glad we stopped. In fact I know we will be coming back.

Thank amvnierop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews