We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lands End” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lands End

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lands End
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Den Helder
Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lands End”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice hotel stayed here several times now and have no problem, wifi, safe in room, tv, all the usual stuff.
Food very good restaurant very busy which speaks for itself.
Staff very good and I look forward to returning.
Lands End right enough you are right at the sea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G3VVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
15
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel may cause hesitation when you pull into the parking lot or view it from the ferry. It will certainly give you a moment to pause as you enter to the reception area. Thankfully, the staff is quite friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, albeit small, and the views on the waterside are fantastic. For a night or two, it fits the bill and is reasonably priced. You won't have a sleepless night due to the conditions, but I will say I felt a bit disappointed after only seeing the photos on-line. They certainly capture the beauty of the view, but the hotel is nondescript, and feels sort of out-dated and what I would guess would be a 2, possibly 3 star in the States. The rooms' balconies are really just one long one so it does not feel very private. The rooms also do not have fans or air conditioners, so on a warm evening (which we had) you have to leave the door to the balcony open. Since anyone on that floor can simply walk right in, you may not sleep a securely as you might otherwise. You will also likely have several roommates from the insect family join you with the door open. The mattresses in our room were quite soft, though I don't know if that is consistant from room to room. The stairwell is narrow with metal banisters/balusters which also gives it a bit of a shady feel. The wifi was not working on the night that we arrived, however, the next morning we had no problem getting a signal. The breakfast is basic, though coming from the States, may suit the majority. Germans may be very disappointed. I am not sure that we would return to this hotel, though we will certainly return to the restaurant for dinner if back in the area.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the water side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stay at this hotel on routine basis and find it very comfy for its location and great restaurant!
Rooms are always fresh and tidy. Food at the restaurant is always delicious. Great view! What do you want more? I think it's the best one in Den Helder!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorisSF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nice view to sea. Small but cozy rooms. Free Wi-Fi.Tea/coffee facility in the rooms. Friendly staff. One small minus - far from center of Den Helder.
Restaurant - it's a separate story: very good kitchen, tastefull meals... I really enjoyed my dinner.
For sure I will comeback there!

Room Tip: Ask room with a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Serass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
240 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Decent hotel right next to the ferry to Texel and the Marine harbor. Spacious rooms with free coffee/tea, a nice view over the Waddenzee. Clean, nice rain shower, fast and good internet connection. A little bit noisy in the morning with doors slamming from neighbours. Other than that nothing to be heard from other rooms. Friendly staff and very good restaurant. Not a very special hotel, but especially compared to the other hotels in Den Helder a really nice price/quality balance!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Waddenzee
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NL_Koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We wanted to stay somewhere different on our driving holiday in Northern Holland and were not disappointed ,right on the waters edge,views to the Texel Island and the ferry is next to the hotel.
Hotel room was fairly basic and on the small side .clean with a very comfortable bed ,restaurant very good ,staff were great and over all the hotel had a good feel . Being on the harbour entrance means you need transport into the city
But walk to the boats and an interesting marine museum,if you like boats we recommend this one .
We liked the stay here .it was Different .

Room Tip: If in doubt ask to see it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jvjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for 4 night business trip. The rooms are functional, very clean , good beds , great shower over bath. The carpet in my room was rather tired. and spoilt the overall look of the room. The heating was fine. The lighting is rather depressing for the winter months. Good Tea and coffee facilities. Hairdryer is in bathroom , very slow , if you need power dryer take your own.

The restaurant is the great thing about this hotel , its got the WOW factor, great interior design , hip, yet cosy! You can spend most of your time in here if you find the room a bit depressing. There is also a, small cosy bar on entering the hotel and a lounge with computer. My internet speed varied and dropped a lot in the room , but was perfect in the restaurant. The breakfasts are fine , usual continental fare , however you can even cook your own if you feel like it. The staff in the restaurant are exceptionally nice , helpful and good service. The food was excellent and views in daylight are beautiful. The hotel also owns Bistro Flow in Den Helder ( another great place) you can eat here and send your bill to the hotel! Great service and good food here also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HOTELINSPECTORABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Den Helder
1.5 mi away
Hotel Den Helder
Hotel Den Helder
#4 of 4 in Den Helder
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Forest Hotel
Forest Hotel
#3 of 4 in Den Helder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wienerhof Hotel
Wienerhof Hotel
#2 of 4 in Den Helder
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Beatrix
Grand Hotel Beatrix
#1 of 1 in Huisduinen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Greenside
Hotel Greenside
#1 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
9.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Opduin
Grand Hotel Opduin
#3 of 11 in De Koog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lands End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lands End

Property: Hotel Lands End
Address: Havenplein 1, 1781 AB Den Helder, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Den Helder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Den Helder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lands End 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Lands End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lands End Den Helder, The Netherlands - North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing