We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Lands End”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lands End

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lands End
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Den Helder
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Lands End”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The location is beautiful and scenic. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was great. Sea breeze kept the room cool on a very warm day. The restaurant was outstanding - clearly all the locals ate there as well. Nice walking opportunities through the ship yards and the along the sea wall.

Room Tip: ask for sea side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saildoe_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
16
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel rooms were a bit drab and outdated, except for the bathroom which seemed newly renovated. The rest needed a bit of a facelift. The rooms facing the sea had a great view, but one downside is that there are no separators on the balcony so anyone could come strolling by our window so we had to keep the shades drawn. There was nothing wrong with anything it all just seemed a bit too old and worn which would be ok if the price wasn't as high as it was.
The restaurant on the other hand was very good and chic, we enjoyed our dinner there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atalanta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghent
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

The company made reservations for Hotel Lands End, and next time I have to be in Den Helder I hope they do the same.
The hotel is located next to the Texel ferry terminal. Getting at the entrance of the hotel was kind of an adventure, but the hotel is not too hard to find.
Staff at the reception was friendly and very helpfull. There was some construction going on, but I got a room in the newer part of the hotel. Room was large enough, with a double bed and a closet. The bathroom was with shower and large enough.
There is a bar, a lounge area with a computer that is available for the guests and a restaurant.
Breakfast was a buffet served in the restaurant and had enough choice.
Company payed 80€ for the stay, breakfast included.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank repetitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Nice hotel, free wi-fi in the room, modern refurbished rooms, excellent restaurant... For sure I will stay there next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Serass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

I have stayed at various other hotels in Den Helder on past visits: Hotel Den Helder is quite odd, Weinerhoff is hell and Beatrice though lovely, is a bit far out of DH for convenience without a car. And this time I stayed 2 nights at the Lands End hotel and it was delightful. I was in the area on business and the location of the hotel is roughly 11 euros from the train station by taxi, a little more to the area I was working in. If you're getting a ferry to Texel the ferry berths literally outside the hotel.
Check in was really efficient and within minutes I had my key card and was in my room enjoying the beautiful view across the water to Texel island. The promenade on the sea wall is ideal for a walk at the end or start of a working day although I wouldn't use it during dark hours - a fair amount of dog dirt and occasional areas of broken glass. Probably quite typical of any sea promenade unfortunately.
My room was a twin room with sea view and a balcony. The room was spacious and clean and bright and airy. There is a communal balcony outside but the door has 3 separate locks on it which made me feel safe., The only issue I had with this is the net curtain only covers about one third of the window so you have to keep your curtains shut or hide all your belongings in case anyone peeks in from the balcony. The ensuite was lovely with a good shower, wc and sink, no bath. The internet connection wasn't very good. The first night was uninterrupted and very quiet, except for the seabirds but they weren't a disturbance as I live near the sea and am used to this. On the second night a very thick fog came in so the foghorn was sounding from early in the morning but I would sooner hear this than a boat in distress. I had a room at the far end of a short corridor and heard almost no noise at all from the corridor or neighbouring room during my stay. In my opinion, that's worth paying extra for! Except LandsEnd tariff is so reasonable. I had spent the previous two nights at the overpriced, in-need-of-refurb Eems Hotel in Delfzijl and if LandsEnd can offer the same characteristics and do it so much better for much less money I don't understand why Eems got it so wrong.
I ordered takeaway on night one and sat in the bar with a drink waiting for it to arrive. The bar is small and at that time was crowded with large men, none of whom showed any sign of reaching my drink to me or making room for me to reach in for it - but that's not a criticism of the hotel ,just the ignorance of the the other guests. For takeaway in Netherlands this is a useful website: http://www.thuisbezorgd.nl/ and it works the same wasy as justeat in UK works. I ate in the hotel restaurant on the second night. The ambience of the restaurant is lovely with views out to sea on one side. A good sized bar in the restaurant with comfortable seating areas and lots of low level lighting. My starter was very good, it was the crab soup. My main was the catch of the day which was a fillet of halibut but it had been topped with mozarella and tomatoes so it was greasy and bland. As always, chips and salad sides accompany the main meal.
Check out was perfunctory and I had to wait until the receptionist had finished chatting with the housekeeping staff but sonce my taxi was 15 minutes late (allegedly had been sent to the wrong hotel despite me booking through LandsEnd reception that morning) I was in no hurry after all. I have already booked to stay here for 4 nights during my next trip to Den Helder and I know the sea view, fresh air, quiet rooms will make being away from home that little bit more bearable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mckaykarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
271 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

After a week’s stay on business, I felt adequately served by at this small functional hotel but irritated by some of its shortcomings.

The hotel has a unique location in Den Helder: right on the dyke next to the Texel ferry terminal. It is so close that as the ferry approaches its slip it appears that it might enter the hotel’s dining room. The town focal points: the port, naval base, Naval Academy, and Marine Museum, are very close by. Since it is only a 20-minute walk to the train station, one can make do without a car. Over half the hotel’s rooms have an unobstructed view of Texel Roads and the North Sea beyond. The drawback to this is the constant wind, which in winter can be cruelly cold and noisy.

My double room on the third floor, facing the parking lot and ferry terminal, was plain and functional. The desk, wardrobe, beds, and linens all seemed relatively new. The wireless internet was fast. The large bathroom was clean and well appointed. The lack of a hair dryer and an overhead light in the doorway were irritating omissions. The television was old and too small for the room, mounted way up near the ceiling and far from the bed. Ventilation was good through several windows and heating was strong when needed. However, when I first got to the room, it had a musty, unused odour that took a day to dissipate. Traffic noise from the ferry terminal was never a problem.

The included breakfast was a very nice buffet in the adjoining restaurant, which is connected by a second-floor walkway. In the evening, this place becomes an eatery good enough to attract locals. The tremendous view and lovely seating helps with that. The menu is good and the food worth the money, but there are no bargains. For a more casual option with similar food but at lower prices, one could walk to Kade 60 in the Marine Museum area.

Checkin and out were efficient and no more. Unfortunately, this takes place in a reception area that doubles as a seedy little bar/lounge. This lounge is dark and smelly and seemed to be occupied all afternoon and evening mostly by non-guests. A guest entering or leaving the hotel is subjected to the gazes of the drinkers, as well as having to navigate smokers standing in the doorway. A single female traveler might not be comfortable here. Moreover, the smell of this bar and the smoke drift up the stairwell and permeate the halls in an otherwise non-smoking hotel. Other than this lounge/bar, the hotel has no public areas at all.

My overall impression is of a decent facility run with a complacent routine that is starting to slip below a good standard without their noticing.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

Room was very good, comfortable bed. Unfortunately no tea/coffee making facilities.
This is literally at the end of the road outside of Den Helder itself, probably a 15-20 min walk. The hotel has a lovely al fresco area where you can sit and watch the ferries go by to/from the island of Texel.
The food was very good, arrived late and so all decided to eat in hotel restaurant. This exceeded my expectations.
The telly on the room had an alarm that woke me up at 5am. I never got to work out how to switch it off!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CazzerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Den Helder
0.9 mi away
Wienerhof Hotel
Wienerhof Hotel
#2 of 4 in Den Helder
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Den Helder
Hotel Den Helder
#4 of 4 in Den Helder
3.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Beatrix
Grand Hotel Beatrix
#1 of 1 in Huisduinen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Forest Hotel
Forest Hotel
#3 of 4 in Den Helder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
9.0 mi away
Fletcher Badhotel Callantsoog
11.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#1 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lands End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lands End

Property: Hotel Lands End
Address: Havenplein 1, 1781 AB Den Helder, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Den Helder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Den Helder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lands End 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lands End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lands End Den Helder, The Netherlands - North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing