We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with bowling or Bowling with hotel?”
Review of Hotel Den Helder

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Den Helder
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Den Helder
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was interesting experience to stay in such hotel.
As a whole – I was satisfied with it.
About details.
Hotel has an interesting architecture – a huge atrium and rooms along walls in 3 floors. Atrium has a bar built in 2-floor red English bus. Also there are long tables, armchairs and trees – looks like atrium is a place for good parties.
A can say nothing about bowling – I am not a fan of this. But there are several groups of people, who playing.
What I liked:
- People on reception are adequate. We got a room on the top floor, and when we entered it, we felt strong smells of cigarette smoke. I went to reception and asked for another room. At once we got another room and it was OK.
- Breakfast room is good-decorated; food was enough and good served.
- Atrium is decorated by trees and flowers.
- Room had a balcony with view to green nature.
- Hotel located not far from old fortress – I think it would be good to walk there, but we had no time.
What I disliked
- Door locks was in bad condition – as I mentioned, first room was with smells, but in addition, and door lock was unsteady. In second room lock was more stable, but it was rusty.
- There is no lift, so you should climb with your luggage on staircase.
- Also distance from reception to rooms area is long, and staircase location is not optimal – you should go with your luggage through bowling hall, and in huge atrium choose one of 2 staircases, which located in different corners. There is no any sign, which room numbers are closer to which staircase.
So this is the hotel for young strong sportsman :)

Room Tip: First when entering your room pay attantion on room door lock and on balcony door lock.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopperTeaPot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Den Helder
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 147 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

I unfortunately booked this hotel in error for a recent business trip in Jan 2103. It is not really equipped to deal with business travellers as it is basically a party hotel. I booked 2 suites which were off the indoor/outdoor party room. My room was fine if a Little unusual in style and too dark to work in.. It was also cold, however my colleagues room was absolutely freezing. The style of her room was extremely unusual in that you entered the room through the bathroom.
Staff were helpful and did their best providing us with extra quilts and trying to turn up the heat.

Best to visit in summer on holidays!! You could join the party!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlusty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDenHelder, Front Office Manager at Hotel Den Helder, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. Sorry, about the heating. We try to open this in the morning before the guests go into the room. Hopefully we can receive you in the future again.
Team Hotel Den Helder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Strange to see a london bus inside a hotel? Well food is good and the beer is too!! They have a bowling alley and a crazy golf course. Rooms a bit tired but all in all quite a nice place to spend a night or two.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel was a bit of a surprise package - it concealed a bowling alley and a large glass covered courtyard area with a double decker bus parked inside! All a little eccentric but fun - especially for children. The rooms were acceptable although more functional than comfortable and the bathrooms are a little dated. Our room was a bit noisy as there was building work going on on the ground floor but it stopped at a reasonable time in the evening. Service was rather erratic with the front desk using paper systems as well as computers which slowed things down quite a lot but the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lemonade74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were driving through Den Helder late at night looking for a hotel and found this one. We were greeted in a friendly way, and the feeling was cozy.
The hotel is interesting as it has a bar, a bowling alley and a reception hall, all of which you have to walk through to get to your room. The rooms are sufficiently equipped, there is a large parking area, and a small buffet style breakfast included in the room price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lino2939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a group of blokes on a cycling trip. We paid £32 per head which included breakfast and to be honest, it was worth every penny. Although the hotel is dated in style, the rooms were clean, freshly decorated and big enough for our needs. Breakfast was a self serve buffet and there was plenty to fill us up before a long ride. We were also able to get hot bar food even though some of our group arrived quite late in the evening.
One thing to be aware of is that the hotel also appeared to be a central event venue for the locals. The night after we were there, the hotel was holding a boxing dinner gala in the atrium area. As the rooms are situated around this, it would probably have been quite noisy. Worth checking any hotel website or phoning beforehand.
Lastly, a comment about the staff. They were friendly, helpful and polite while we were there. In addition, having left the hotel and cycled 30km, i checked my phone and found a message to say one of our group had left his wallet in his room. Within 40 mins of finding this out and speaking to staff, the hotel couriered the wallet to us for half the price a taxi firm were going to charge!!
A good hotel for a short break.

Room Tip: see above comments re events held in the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pj1Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Rooms were out-dated and cold, not a pleasant stay at all.
Don't order the chilli taco because it's the worst food I have ever seen, unless you like beans.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Den Helder
0.7 mi away
Wienerhof Hotel
Wienerhof Hotel
#3 of 4 in Den Helder
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Beatrix
Grand Hotel Beatrix
#1 of 1 in Huisduinen
91 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lands End
Hotel Lands End
#1 of 4 in Den Helder
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Forest Hotel
Forest Hotel
#2 of 4 in Den Helder
41 reviews
7.9 mi away
Fletcher Badhotel Callantsoog
13.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Wieringermeer
Van der Valk Hotel Wieringermeer
#1 of 1 in Wieringerwerf
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Den Helder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Den Helder

Address: Marsdiepstraat 2, 1784 AP Den Helder, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Den Helder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Den Helder
Price Range: $103 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Den Helder 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Den Helder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Den Helder The Netherlands - North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing