We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“V.FM”
Review of Hotel Den Helder

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Den Helder
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Den Helder
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a group of blokes on a cycling trip. We paid £32 per head which included breakfast and to be honest, it was worth every penny. Although the hotel is dated in style, the rooms were clean, freshly decorated and big enough for our needs. Breakfast was a self serve buffet and there was plenty to fill us up before a long ride. We were also able to get hot bar food even though some of our group arrived quite late in the evening.
One thing to be aware of is that the hotel also appeared to be a central event venue for the locals. The night after we were there, the hotel was holding a boxing dinner gala in the atrium area. As the rooms are situated around this, it would probably have been quite noisy. Worth checking any hotel website or phoning beforehand.
Lastly, a comment about the staff. They were friendly, helpful and polite while we were there. In addition, having left the hotel and cycled 30km, i checked my phone and found a message to say one of our group had left his wallet in his room. Within 40 mins of finding this out and speaking to staff, the hotel couriered the wallet to us for half the price a taxi firm were going to charge!!
A good hotel for a short break.

Room Tip: see above comments re events held in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pj1Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 154 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

Rooms were out-dated and cold, not a pleasant stay at all.
Don't order the chilli taco because it's the worst food I have ever seen, unless you like beans.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Old dated stuck in the 70's never be in a room so cold in my life, food average, but i will say the staff could not do enough for me they were very good, but i will never return...........

Room Tip: Go to the Lands End Hotel on the other side of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G3VVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Travel from Schippol by train. Change train at Schlotterdjik and then proceed to Den Helder. Be careful sometimes, the compartments are disconnected at in between stations and you may end up travelling back to where you started. Make sure u sit in the right compartment to reach your destination. The hotel is in a quiet place and in the woods. As u enter, the restaurant awaits u and then there is a bowling alley and then the main lobby of the hotel, which has got snooker tables and massage chairs. Rooms are comfortable, and peaceful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny04_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Bad smell in the room, old furniture in the room, tails and sanitary in the bathroom. Human hairs on the floor in the bathroom. I would give less than 2 stars... In the restaurant seen grey mouse running under the tables... In the bowling seen drunk people. Bad impression.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Serass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here one night. The hotel was a 15 minute walk from Den Helder train station and located in a park like area. The design of the hotel is interesting with all the rooms facing out from a courtyard around 3 floors high. The room was basic and the shower ok. Bed was very comfortable and firm and there was a balcony overlooking a park on the side we had our room. It is quite a large hotel and you have to walk through a bowling alley to get to the hotel rooms and a large courtyard with an old english double decker bus that has been made into a bar. The hotel is fine for a few nights and ideal for exploring Den Helder. Breakfast was your basic continental. Do not order the house red it was undrinkable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zapex0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Den Helder
0.7 mi away
Wienerhof Hotel
Wienerhof Hotel
#3 of 4 in Den Helder
206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest Hotel
Forest Hotel
#2 of 4 in Den Helder
43 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Beatrix
Grand Hotel Beatrix
#1 of 1 in Huisduinen
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lands End
Hotel Lands End
#1 of 4 in Den Helder
71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bosch Duin Strand
Bosch Duin Strand
#2 of 3 in Den Helder
18 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Hotel Cape Horn
Bar Hotel Cape Horn
#1 of 4 in Den Helder
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Den Helder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Den Helder

Address: Marsdiepstraat 2, 1784 AP Den Helder, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Den Helder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Den Helder
Price Range: $95 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Den Helder 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Den Helder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Den Helder The Netherlands - North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing