We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out-dated and cold” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Den Helder

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Den Helder to your Saves list
Hotel Den Helder
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marsdiepstraat 2, 1784 AP Den Helder, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Den Helder
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Out-dated and cold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Rooms were out-dated and cold, not a pleasant stay at all.
Don't order the chilli taco because it's the worst food I have ever seen, unless you like beans.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    35
    41
    19
    11
See reviews for
4
56
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Old dated stuck in the 70's never be in a room so cold in my life, food average, but i will say the staff could not do enough for me they were very good, but i will never return...........

Room Tip: Go to the Lands End Hotel on the other side of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G3VVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Den Helder hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Travel from Schippol by train. Change train at Schlotterdjik and then proceed to Den Helder. Be careful sometimes, the compartments are disconnected at in between stations and you may end up travelling back to where you started. Make sure u sit in the right compartment to reach your destination. The hotel is in a quiet place and in the woods. As u enter, the restaurant awaits u and then there is a bowling alley and then the main lobby of the hotel, which has got snooker tables and massage chairs. Rooms are comfortable, and peaceful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny04_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Bad smell in the room, old furniture in the room, tails and sanitary in the bathroom. Human hairs on the floor in the bathroom. I would give less than 2 stars... In the restaurant seen grey mouse running under the tables... In the bowling seen drunk people. Bad impression.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Serass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
648 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 743 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here one night. The hotel was a 15 minute walk from Den Helder train station and located in a park like area. The design of the hotel is interesting with all the rooms facing out from a courtyard around 3 floors high. The room was basic and the shower ok. Bed was very comfortable and firm and there was a balcony overlooking a park on the side we had our room. It is quite a large hotel and you have to walk through a bowling alley to get to the hotel rooms and a large courtyard with an old english double decker bus that has been made into a bar. The hotel is fine for a few nights and ideal for exploring Den Helder. Breakfast was your basic continental. Do not order the house red it was undrinkable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiinBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Den Helder
0.7 mi away
Wienerhof Hotel
Wienerhof Hotel
#3 of 4 in Den Helder
3.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Beatrix
Grand Hotel Beatrix
#1 of 1 in Huisduinen
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lands End
Hotel Lands End
#1 of 4 in Den Helder
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Forest Hotel
Forest Hotel
#2 of 4 in Den Helder
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
7.9 mi away
Fletcher Badhotel Callantsoog
Fletcher Badhotel Callantsoog
#2 of 3 in Callantsoog
3.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
8.5 mi away
Strandhotel de Horn
Strandhotel de Horn
#1 of 3 in Callantsoog
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Den Helder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Den Helder

Property: Hotel Den Helder
Address: Marsdiepstraat 2, 1784 AP Den Helder, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Den Helder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Den Helder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Den Helder 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Den Helder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Den Helder The Netherlands - North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing