We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“IDEAL LOCATION IN TOWN CENTRE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Forest Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Den Helder
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“IDEAL LOCATION IN TOWN CENTRE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Lovely Hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms & good food.
We were part of a group of 8 staying in The Forest Hotel for a Rotary Club visit to the Rotary Club of Den Helder.
We stayed in this Hotel 4 years ago on a previous visit to Den Helder & it was just as good as last time.
Ideally situated for bus & train travel & the ferry to Texel is not too far away either.
Hopefully we will be back again in 4 years time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hotel is nicely located very close to train and bus station - ideal for exploring Texel island (bus for ferry terminal leaves just the right time so the passengers can catch the ferry).
The entrance to hotel is a bit dowdy and stinky (also entrance to large cinema), but when you are in the hotel it is fine.
Rooms are rather basic, though clean (3 star is a right rating).
Breakfast is good and the restaurant has a very nice atmosphere.
Overall experience of the hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fragi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Hotel in the center of Den Helder, close to train station and shopping street, supermarket in 40 meters.
Renewed bathrooms, got wireless internet in my room. Breakfast was good, dinner also. Good atmosphere in hotel and bar. Will come back for sure. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far as possible from elevator :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Serass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
650 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 754 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

It has been two years since I stayed at the hotel and the room we had was fine on the top floor. It even had a jacuzzi bath Room 41 if I remember the number correctly. Had a fantastic dinner especially the Mustard soup it was excellent. There is also a art house theater next door and we went and saw a movie as it was raining outside. Very lovely theatre, comfortable chairs and you can take your drinks in and enjoy the movie as well it has an interval. The hotel is also very handy to the train station, literally a few minutes walk across the road and into the square.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiinBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
650 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 754 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed at the Forest Hotel in Den Helder. It has the advantage of being very close to the train station and located in the square. I have stayed here several times and the rooms are comfortable, mattresses not too soft, good showers and the breakfast is adequate. The best thing I liked at the hotel was the restaurant in the evening which does excellent food.

Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiinBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Den Helder
0.1 mi away
Wienerhof Hotel
Wienerhof Hotel
#2 of 4 in Den Helder
3.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Den Helder
Hotel Den Helder
#4 of 4 in Den Helder
3.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lands End
Hotel Lands End
#1 of 4 in Den Helder
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Beatrix
Grand Hotel Beatrix
#1 of 1 in Huisduinen
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Koogerend
0.5 mi away
Bar Hotel Cape Horn
Bar Hotel Cape Horn
#1 of 3 in Den Helder
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hotel

Property: Forest Hotel
Address: Julianaplein 43, 1781 HA Den Helder, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Den Helder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Den Helder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forest Hotel in the city center of Den Helder provides you a pleasant stay! In addition to pleasantly busy shopping streets, downtown Den Helder offers visitors a theater and various museums, all of which are within walking distance of the hotel. The beach, the sea, the sand dunes and the ferry to Texel are situated within a radius of 2 km from the hotel. The Forest Hotel has 25 luxury rooms, all equipped with a shower and/or bath, toilet, cable TV and a telephone. Our bar/bistro serves fine fish and meat specialties and this is an ideal place to sit back and relax in one of the comfortable Chesterfield chairs or enjoy a convivial drink at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Forest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel Den Helder, The Netherlands - North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing